We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation In a Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Mexico City
Ranked #22 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I hit Platinum with SPG's program last year due to a recent demand to be in Mexico City. I have stayed at 4 of Starwood's 5 hotels in the area (St. Regis still outside my price range/needs). I find Le Meridien to be the best by far because of the value.

The location is superb being right on Reforma but far enough removed to be able to get around protests or other traffic related events if needed. There are plenty of good restaurants to eat at close by. It's very close to Ciudadela (large local crafts market).

The rooms are suites so you have a bedroom a part from a small work room which makes having business meetings a lot easier. The internet is fast and reliable (a must!). The views aren't the greatest because of the building design but I am either outside working or on my computer working so it's not an issue for me.

The staff is very friendly and attentive to guest's needs.

I plan on staying here for the 100+ days I'll be here in Mexico City this year. No need to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience whilst staying at Le Méridien Mexico City. We sincerely appreciate your patronage, particularly when planning on to stay with us for such a very long stay. We are very proud to know that you have found our staff, services, facilities and value to be suitable for your long stay needs and will certainly be committed to provide you with the best service during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts and for allowing Le Méridien Mexico City to be your “home away from home” whilst in Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We just concluded our four night stay at the LeMeridian, and our experience was truly outstanding. Whatever construction was mentioned in the earlier reviews is complete, and the place looks fabulous. The staff, including the front desk, Quirino (who I think is the Manager), our housekeeper, and the maitre d' and waiters who served us breakfast each morning, were consistently gracious and friendly. The hotel also arranged for us to have a private driver and tour guide to the Pyramids, who were excellent and a much better option and value than taking a tour bus. I also want to mention that we are a gay couple, and that everyone we encountered made us feel completely welcome. Top scores in every category to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so proud to learn about your quite positive experience and moreover, to hear about the great work our team did making you feel right at home. We will definitely pass on your words to them, particularly to Quirino, our housekeeper and our Food and Beverage team. They all will be very grateful for your recognition. It is great to hear you had the opportunity to take the tour to the Pyramids, UNESCO World Heritage, as this is a completely remarkable experience. We are very excited about our renovation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future and invite you to explore more of our new Le Méridien Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It was a great choice. It was close to places we wanted to see. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accessible. We decided to attend the New Year's dinner and Arturo was a fantastic host. He made sure every guest was taken care of. The desk staff and Javier were also very helpful as well. I would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

We appreciate your kind review. It is our pleasure to know that you chose us to celebrate such special occasion and that you were not disappointed. We will pass on your words to Arturo at our C’est la Vie Restaurant, Javier our bellman, and all our front desk staff who will be very glad to know they made you feel well assisted. Thank you for commending our new Le Méridien Mexico City. We are very glad to learn that we will be the hotel of your choice for your next trip and look forward to welcome you back again with our same hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful and we enjoyed a very nice meal in the restaurant even though we had arrived just before their closing time. Our waiter could not have been more attentive and helped us to choose our dishes The lovely lady at reception spent considerable time sorting out a tour problem for us as we do not speak Spanish and were having trouble communicating. The location was good for us and we felt safe walking around the area in the daytime, although we did not go out in the evening as we had booked a dinner excursion and they picked us up direct from the hotel.. We only stayed 2 nights at the hotel but would have liked to stay longer if we had the time. We enjoyed our stay in Mexico City and can definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny62Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such kind words regarding our staff, you can rest assured that we will share your comments among with them who will be really glad to learn that they left such a favorable experience. It is great to hear that you took advantage of our location, right on Paseo de la Reforma and enjoyed walking around the area. We appreciate you commended our hotel and will be pleased to welcome you back for a longer stay in Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Le Méridien the weekend before Christmas (2012). We're Starwood Preferred Guest members who go to Mexico City regularly, so when a new SPG property appears in town, we like to check it out. We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and had were a bit trepidatious about the stay, since reviews indicated that there was a lot of confusion among the staff. I am happy to report that we had a wonderful stay, and while we ran into a few issues, they were swiftly resolved to our satisfaction.

For example, in the guest services folio, there was a card for one free espresso or cappuccino per person, per stay at the lobby bar. When we tried to take advantage of this, we were told that the machine at the bar was unhooked because of renovation, and would not be available for about an hour. We were told that we could wait or redeem the coupon downstairs at the restaurant bar, but upon showing them the card downstairs, we were told that we could only redeem it upstairs. When we explained why we were instructed to come there, they decided that was okay. It probably helped that the bartender came down right at that time for something he needed upstairs and confirmed that he had told us this. Then they argued that we needed two cards (one card per person) for the two of us, but there was only one card in the folio, and it said that we were entitled to one coffee per person in the room. We gave them the card so they could read that, but they didn't for some reason. It seemed like they were only going to give us one for a minute or so, but eventually they decided it was okay to give us two.

Ideally, the staff downstairs in the restaurant would be notified in advance of customers coming down to make use of these coupons, and the rules of the offer explained to those employees. It isn't right for customers to have to inform the staff of changes in procedures that arise because of temporary issues at the hotel, like the ongoing renovation in this hotel. However, when that becomes necessary, it is good if the staff err on the side of the client. Heaping aggravation on top of inconvenience just makes customers angry, and leads to bad reviews. At Le Méridien, we found that a mere explanation to the staff was all that it took.

Like previous reviewers, we experienced confusion about breakfast being included in our rate. The first day, we had no problem with this being recognized. On the second day, we were given a bill that charged us for it. When we told the waiter that it was supposed to be included in the rate, he immediately fixed that for us, and the restaurant manager even apologized to us and said that it was their mistake.

As for the restaurant, I would like to give that a special commendation. It serves French fare, and usually that cuisine is not very vegetarian friendly. Nonetheless, we had multiple meatless dishes from which to choose, and everything was executed exquisitely. Often, when hotel restaurants have vegetarian dishes, they're relatively commonplace and boring. The ones at C'est La Vie were pretty interesting. The service was attentive and professional, too.

At one point, we needed the concierge service in trying to locate a place to buy medical flashcards, and while he did not know exactly where such an odd item might be procured, he came up with some excellent suggestions for where we might look in the nearby area.

We had a few technical problems with the room, but each time we called to report it, someone from maintenance showed up very quickly to fix it.

As for SPG benefits (we're gold), we were given a room upgrade, since a room was available, and although the welcome amenities were not discussed, a look at our bill confirmed that we received free Internet access.

All in all, we had a great experience at the Le Méridien. We ran into fewer problems than expected, and the staff was quick to set things right. They still need to improve communication between the different departments of the hotel, so that the staff is informing the staff in advance of unusual situations instead of the guests having to do so after the fact. However, it does seem that management has listened to the complaints and suggestions of the customers, and have indeed used the feedback to improve their service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamcrispydammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience in Le Méridien Mexico City. Your comments about the confusion with the complimentary cup of Illy coffee per person and the breakfast buffet will make us work to improve the process of redeeming these benefits in both of our hotel outlets. I can assure you that our staff is constantly training to meet the brand standards in order to fulfill our well - traveled guests' expectations. Although there were some confusions, it is stimulating to know that our team's genuine service was able to excel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, giving us the opportunity to deliver a totally new Le Méridien sophisticated experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is in the middle of changing from the Hilton brand to the Meridien one. (It would have been nice if someone had told us as it led to some serious taxi confusion on arrival). During our stay the main foyer was midway through the conversion. This meant lots of noise, dust etc all over the focal point of the hotel. It doesn't really matter but for the prices being paid you would expect more.

That said the room itself was a lovely suite which we had booked when it was Hilton and I suspect at a better price than it will be soon.

The manager's freebie drinks from 6-8 was a good touch and the location is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aerodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken on providing us with your feedback. It is great to hear that you were delighted with the spaciousness and comfort of our two bedroom suites. On the other hand, we sincerely regret for the lack of communication when not being informed about our rebranding at the moment your booking was confirmed. We truly apologize for the inconveniences caused and will absolutely investigate this issue further. Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated, this allow us to focus on our areas for improvement and provide our guests with the best service. We will be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future with our same hospitality and provide you with our new and distinctive Le Meridien experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We recently visited Mexico City and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and were very happy about it. The hotel had recently changed hands and the lobby was being renovated during the time we were there. However, we found the service to be excellent and all the staff very friendly and very very helpful (from the front desk staff to the lobby staff to the restaurant staff and the bartenders). Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

We booked our trip when the hotel was still operated by Hilton so upon arrival, they honor the breakfast buffet as well as the Manager's Happy Hour which was very nice of them. I am not sure if the le Meridien is continuing this tradition (but I hope they will as we will return to this fascinating city for many more visits in the future and would love to stay at this hotel everytime).

The hotel is centrally located on the Paseo de la Reforma and all the museums are within 1 hour walking distance (depending on how fast you can walk). The suite we stayed in is fairly big and very well equipped. The shower can be very hot so be careful not to get burned. I do not think the tap knob in the shower works very well :-)

The same with the jacuzzi - it was a bit too hot at 40 degrees C, I think 30 - 35 degrees is probably better. The swimming pool is adequate for a hotel. They are a great way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryTequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMexicoCity, General Manager at Le Meridien Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback. Our team will be really pleased to hear that they left such an extraordinary impression on you. At all times, they do their utmost to genuinely make each and every of our guests feel welcome. Thank you for your comments regarding the shower in your suite and the jacuzzi in our pool area. They have been forwarded to our Chief Engineer for his immediate attention and we sincerely appreciate your feedback which is always very valuable for our improvements. We will be delighted to welcome you and your family again at our new and distinctive Le Merdien Mexico City for your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
2,054 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Mexico City
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
975 reviews
Barcelo Mexico Reforma
#30 of 312 in Mexico City
975 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Mexico City

Address: Av. Paseo de la Reforma No. 69 | Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £86 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the timeless Paseo de la Reforma, Le Méridien Mexico City is located in a district that exemplifies the city’s juxtaposition. Renowned museums and other cultural attractions contrast with numerous businesses and financial resources.The hotel facilitates pleasurable stays with such features as sightseeing tours, a fitness center, indoor pool, and a variety of dining experiences for every occasion and every taste. Three smart function spaces can accommodate up to 100 guests.Our 160 suites are illuminating environments for business and leisure; some afford outstanding skyline views. Separate living and bedroom spaces ensure privacy and the ability to host small gatherings. Marble bathrooms offer exclusive brand amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mexico City - Reforma Hotel Mexico City
Embassy Suites Reforma
Mexico City Embassy Suites
Le Meridien Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing