We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
Ranked #38 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The NH Centro Historico is located right in the centre of Mexico City, about 100 metres from the zocalo. Our room was not huge, but big enough, and with modern facilities. It was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was an adequate size with all of the required facilities.

Our room was 426, which is as far from the lifts as it is possible to get, so we didn't have any people passing in the corridor outside; however, the room seemed to be adjacent to some sort of plant equipment, such as an air-conditioner, because there was a constant vibration from the wall behind the beds; this was not a problem for us, but some light sleepers may find it annoying. Despite being right in the centre of the city, there wasn't much traffic in the street outside, so it was quite peaceful overall.

One thing to note is that the shower is over the bath, and it is necessary to use a footstool to climb up and over the edge of the bath - not a problem for us, but some might find it tricky.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast, It is light and airy, and a decent buffet selection is available. Breakfast is nominally available from 7.00, but I'd recommend not going before 7.30 if you can: staff are still setting up at 7.00, so queues form for cutlery, plates, milk, etc., and the waiter is almost run off his feet. This is made worse if a large group is leaving early, because they are generally in the restaurant before 7.00 and can clear the buffet almost as fast as the food is laid out!

There are lots of shops and restaurants in the area around the hotel, and the cathedral, presidential palace, etc,, are a few hundred metres away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services
My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    356
    124
    38
    16
See reviews for
140
343
81
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrisonburg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here by accident after missing a connection and it turned out great. We made it to the day of the dead celebrations and this hotel was very central. Room was very comfortable and updated . Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good the next morning. Very happy with our stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank usatraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room. I am very happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel's location is perfect,especially, if you are visiting for the first time. Step out and explore.

The rooms are very modern, but small. Also the beds could be a bit more comfortable.

Unfortunately, I had a very bad incident that left me questioning the hotel's integrity. I had forgotten the IPad in the room when we checked out. I called some hours later, but got informed that no IPad had been found in that very room.

The hotel also told me that I should have kept the IPad in the safe. I understand that, but fact is that it was in the room when we left and some hours later it had "disappeared". In a 4 star hotel that should not happen. In addition, I have not been given any solution to the problem. NH should definitely revise their procedures on how forgotten objects are handled.

I believe that you should be able to confy into a hotel's service. In my case, this was absolutely not given with NH Centro Historico.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Le agradecemos los comentarios que nos hace llegar y nos gustaría poderlo contactar directamente para darle la mejor respuesta al inconveniente suscitado en su última estancia, ponemos a sus ordenes el siguiente correo electrónico guestservice.nhmexico@nh-hoteles.com.mx nuevamente le agradecemos sus comentarios.

NH Centro Historico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights at the beginning of July 2013. The location couldn't have been better (it's a few mins walk from Zocalo as others have pointed out) and it was great value for money. However, the thing that stood out for me about this hotel were the super friendly and helpful staff.
Great breakfast buffet too, by the way. And very useful to have free wifi!
Room service didn't work so well for us but we may just have been unlucky.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room. I am very happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel over Labor Day 2013. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. Good location, free breakfast, free wi-fi, and right in the middle of Centro Historico. I was happy with the room, I just think the bed could be a little more comfortable. The only thing I was unhappy with was a $45 charge to check in early (1pm) when check-in time is at 3pm. I just don't understand why they have to nickle and dime the guest like that when the room is ready. The guy at the from desk told me they had rooms ready it's just company policy to charge extra for anyone checking in before 3pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Histórico hotel in Mexico City,
I tell you that the charge for early check in exist, but I will train our staff to make correct decisions.
I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
Antonio Sánchez.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

That Hotel is a real 4 Star Standard and we did liked our 2 Nights there pretty much. A very pleasant NH In Mexico City. Top friendly Service at the Reception and at the Breakfast Service. The employess did speak good english and was very customerfriendly. Interiour was nice decorated and we felt very cosy there. We can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyers2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.
I assure you that we will work hard on the training of our staff in English language.
My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

First of all....the good....or may I say great.
Location: Next to the Zocalo and short walk to the Metro with a handy 7-11 and Starbucks just around the corner.
Staff: More than friendly and attentive...Olivia Villegas and front desk personnel....superb....everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome.
Room and Housecleaning: No complaints.....comfortable, clean, and more than adequate.
Suggestions: Coffee and bottled water should be complimentary as is usually standard elsewhere. There was no alarm clock in the room and when asked, none could be provided. Wake up service functioned, but a clock would have been welcome. Biggest concern was that the front desk could not be reached with the room phone. They acknowledged this, yet it is a serious consideration in a necessity or emergency.
All in all it was an excellent stay and I will stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear J Paul:

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 310 in Mexico City
445 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Mexico City Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Property: NH Mexico City Centro Historico
Address: Calle Palma 42 | Downtown, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#41 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Mexico City Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Centro Historico is located in the heart of Mexico City, only a few steps away from the Zocalo (Main Square), the magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral, and the National Library. The hotel offers an ideal starting point to visit the majority of historic buildings and monuments in this capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Mexico City Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Nh Centro Historico Mexico City
NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing