We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanilla chocolate swirl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico
Ranked #72 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are like me, as a kid you mined the chocolate out of the vanilla-chocolate swirl ice cream, because let's face it, vanilla is a non-flavour.

Such is the case with the Crowne Plaza. There are rich veins of chocolate such as helpful concierge staff, good location (especially if you need the WTC), a very quick ride to MEX, welcoming lobby, and a decent rate. Then, there are some non-flavour things like the room carpeting, abysmal wireless speeds, reception desk that rings and rings, small gym, and a breakfast buffet that focuses too much on scope and too little on quality.

Dorothy was hired since my last visit and I think I like her! She is an automated system on the in room PC that does what many newly-constructed hotels have automated - drapes, wake up calls, AC, etc. She helps save power, too, which I like. However, the retrofit must have been tremendously expensive and perhaps the money could have gone into other upgrades. Like the carpet.

One last thing; the checkout clerk asked me to fill in a satisfaction survey *in front of him*. Anyone with a Gr 11 or better behavioural psychology course knows that this awkward situation will yield skewed results. The back office is probably rejoicing in outstanding reviews time and again. They should discontinue this practice and rely of more detached feedback, such as my wonderful reviews.

Room Tip: There are three floors of club rooms, always nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Gerente at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Michael F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we appreciate your wonderful comments about our concierge staff and hotel location.
We are sorry about the issues you encountered, it is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, please accept our sincere aplogies.
You can be sure that your feedback provides our hotel valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future; Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit
Kind Regards
Miguel Angel Ruiz
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Next level accomodations with elegant rooms, restaurants, lobby and service second to none. Excelent choice for the new traveler. I was very misguided in terms of Mexico but this hotel has some of the best this humble country has to offer. Will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weyoun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Gerente at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear weyoun2,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your wonderful comments regarding your recent experience with us.
We really appreciate your opinion about our rooms, restaurants, lobby and our service you can be sure it will be shared with our entire staff.
Thank you for your stay and we hope you be interesting to discover more from Mexico .
Best Regards and Viva Puerto Rico!
Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Ruiz
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

When I was there, I had such a good time. The receptionist was friendly and the room was huge. Also the breakfast is almost a lunch, loads of kind of foods and fruits. The location was nice, next to turibus stop, great mall nearby, and next do Beline Restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear JJorgeH13,

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay; It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staffs efforts and take the time to let us know.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, and we lok forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Best Regards

Miguel Angel Ruiz
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel it is very well located, just one block to WTC, people are really friendly and gave me an excellente service. I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay close WTC.
The only little inconvenience that I Found it was an mistake on the cleaning room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear MarcoLF,

We would like to thank you for take your time to write your opinion regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.
We are sorry for the mistake on the cleaning room and again thank you for your kind comment about our hotel staff and location; Wee look forward to your return visit
Sincerely,

Miguel Angel Ruiz
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It has a good location near the World Trade Center. My room was in the 6th floor and there was a 24 hr noisy air conditioning equipment in the first floor down my room. Service and staff ok. Breakfast was ok too, but the food in the restaurants was not so good. The internet in my room never worked although I called twice about it.

Room Tip: my room was in the 6th floor. there was a 24 hr noisy air conditioning equipment in the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear enjoyPeru,

Thank your sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am truly sorry that you experienced noise issues form the air conditioning system. Additionally, I apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the food served in the restaurant and the inconvenience caused by our ineternet service.

Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. we are hoping that you give us the pleasure of hosting your next stay in Mexico City.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located a block or so from the World Trade Center Building. It is close to a fairly new and modern shopping mall. Nice lobby area with a bar and a couple of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and he rooms were clean. Needs better lighting in the bedrooms, particularly by the beds. If you like to read in bed, which I do, the lighting is not good.
The TV channels could be better as the only English speaking channels other than the news channels are old reruns. The internet service is slow and drops you quite often.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHEREE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear SHEREE T,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
I am glad to inform that we are going to change the lights in room with a better rank and we are installing better acces point in each corridor.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Hotels and we look forward to your return visit
Sincerely,

Miguel Angel Ruiz
Rooms Division Manager
CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL DE MEXICO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This 5-star Hotel is located near downtown Mexico city, just 200 feet of WTC building. Also very close are Northern-Mexican-style restaurants, international restaurants, theatres, cinemas and many of stuff that this never-sleeping city might offer to visitors.

Room Tip: Use the jaccuzzi and watch TV or TV movies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CESAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Mr. Cesar A,

Thank you for your recent correspondence; We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico.
Thank you for your kind comment about our location and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Sincerely,

Miguel Angel Ruiz
Gerente División Cuartos

CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL DE MEXICO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Mexico Reforma
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
998 reviews
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Viaduct
#31 of 312 in Mexico City
633 reviews
Hotel Novit
#16 of 312 in Mexico City
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico

Address: Calle Dakota 95 | Col. Napoles, Del. Benito Juarez, Mexico City 03810, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#65 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £76 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to all public, you do not need to be a guest to enjoy Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico® delight in its restaurants, relax in the SPA, achieve success in our Business Center with private rooms and if you need even more ... make the event that you always wanted in our beautiful rooms where month after month the best corporate, social events, congresses and fairs are held in the southern area of ​​the CDMX. All our rooms include servibar and coffee maker, water, juice, tea, beer and complimentary wine in the suites. 3 telephone lines, 42 "screen and DVD, sofa or table for two, hydromassage bath and shower, jacuzzi in suites, electronic safe, PC workstation and WiFi at all times, ironing set, set of amenities and emergency cord. Services: Jr. Suites, Master Suites, Presidential Suite, Meeting Rooms, Banquets, Private Parking, Fitness Center and Business Center 24 hrs, 3 VIP Floors (Viewponit), SPA, 2 Restaurants & 2 Bars, Room Service, Concierge, Laundry, Wi-Fi, and more services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mexico City
Crowne Plaza Hotel De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing