We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice atmosphere and wonderful view. ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de las Sirenas

La Casa de las Sirenas
Ranked #135 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Beautiful location on the roof terrace overlooking Catedral Metropolitana, and next to Templo Mayor. Great food and fresh salads. "
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere and wonderful view. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The place is really special thanks to its roof location and the view on the zocalo and cathedral. I really enjoyed the ants eggs( a delicacy) and the sea food. The guacamole was not the best though.
I recommend the place.

Helpful?
Thank Flocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great View, Poor food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We came into the upstairs terrace with a fantastic view of the Cathedral. But, unfortunately the service was very slow and the food was bad. When the waiter saw that we hardly ate our food, he should asked what the problem was. He didn't. We paid our very high bill and left. We won't be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nici H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

During our trip to Mexico City, we were looking for a unique place to celebrate our young daughter's birthday. It was the first time we'd ever visited La Casa de las Sirenas, and we were extremely pleased with our choice. The food, the service, and the decor were all top notch, and the view of the Cathedral and Templo Mayor from the rooftop was amazing. Also, the chef was extremely personable, visiting our table frequently to ensure that our daughter's birthday experience was a memorable and enjoyable one. I would not hesitate to recommend La Casa de las Sirenas to anyone looking for a great combination of cuisine, atmosphere, and service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maestro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, high prices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having lived in Mexico City for the last 10 years I hadn`t had the chance to visit this place before. I had been told this one is a classic in downtown so I had to give it a try.
Pros:
- Excellent location: in the heart of the city, with a great terrace view of the metropolitan cathedral and Templo Mayor ruins.
- Good ambience: nice colonial building, well decorated.
Cons:
- Expensive: for mexican standards this is an expensive restaurant.
- Parking: since it is located on a closed street there is no access for cars.
- Safety: I wouldn´t recommend it for a late time dinner since the area at night might get not so nice.

About the food I would grade it as average: very good entrees and soups (we had cazuela de tuetanos, cilantro and tortilla soups which were delicious) and just ok main courses (sea basss with mushrooms and shrimp and shrimp tacos).

Overall a good experience but wouldn´t come back again unless I had guests and wanted them to get a nice view of this part of town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank guidillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
555 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Roof top retaurant with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location is excellent. The view of the Cathedral and the ruins of the Templo Major was great. The Margaritas were tasty but weak. I had the Tamarind and my sister had the Limon. My brother had the Mango, The food was excellent. On our first visit, I had the filet in mustard sauce. My brother had the beef tips and my sister had the taco appetizer. We liked the soups. We shared the flan for desert. The service was good.
On our second visit, we started with the stuffed chile appetizer which was excellent. We then all had soups. The shrimp soup in tomato broth was the best. This time the service was poor. We were then surprised when the waiter suggested a 15% tip. Overall, we would return here, if we were in the area,

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa de las Sirenas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Casa de las Sirenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing