We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...some improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma
Ranked #112 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location...some improvements needed”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location for those looking to mingle with the locals and enjoy excellent dining experiences in Colonia Roma. It is within walking distance to many restaurants. Zona Rosa is a 25 mins walk. I even walked to Bosque de Chapultepec... but that walk was 50 mins 1 way. Breakfast was good.
I encourage the hotel to improve the shower. It seems to spray a bit outside of the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Masaronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    93
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
31
50
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

First, the location is excellent.. It's in Roma, which is active and safe. We went to the 99 down the street for dinner and it was outstanding.
Okay, rooms.. very nice, very clean... with the following exceptions. The floors have an open area which echo all the sounds, so you'll hear everything.
Don't get a room facing the street. It's active and can get noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a very nice location. The rooms are very nice, the bed are firm. The staff is also very good. The breakfast had plenty of varities of hot and cold food.
The only Issue I had with them is they booked me a half day city tour of Mexico with Mexican Highlights Esttur and that was not worth it. Due to their internal problems and fights we only had 2 hour of tour time than the 5 hour promised. But other than that the staff was very helpful. Will surely go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for room 710 it is on the higher floor and away from all the main road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was a bit worried about the location, however it was ideal!

Roma is a great neighborhood with excellent restaurants. Hotel is safe, clean, and quiet. The area is a great blend of old and New Mexico City. Never once did I feel unsafe.

Would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights recently for a little holiday in DF and it was fantastic from the moment I checked in to the moment I left. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and functional with a nice, firm bed (I love the beds in Mexico), and the restaurant had good food.

The neighbourhood is super-trendy, with lots of nice restaurants, bars & bookstores and I enjoyed wandering through the park that runs along the middle of the avenue looking at the statues and fountains and people. Col. Roma is also conveniently located and I walked easily from the Zona Rosa...even late at night. Also close to the Metrobus, which I used....I don't venture into the subway because there is simply too much to see above ground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckTravelGuyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for a few nights with my sister who was there on business. The location was good, there were restaurants and markets nearby on certain days, and the subway stop wasn't too far (maybe six blocks?). Decent area, you could flag down a cab outside no problem.

The room was fine, typical four points business hotel room with a nice big desk. Having three free water bottles in the room (replaced every day) was a huge plus for us! The bathroom setup was nice too, with the shower and toilet in one room with the sink and vanity area in the open hotel room. The shower has three dispensers built in, one for conditioner, one for shampoo and one for body wash. The night we got there it was out of conditioner; it was late so we only shampooed :( The next night it was still empty even after housekeeping had cleaned our room, so I went down to the front desk to ask for some (calling the front desk was near impossible given the language barrier- forget trying to order room service, just go down to the restaurant). Anyway, she said they had no conditioner and suggested I walk to the oxxo (like a Mexican 7-11). I wasn't pleased and she could tell, so somehow when they sent someone up to the room with the towel I had also requested, there were three small conditioner bottles sent up also.

Each floor of the hotel has a table setup outside the elevator with coffee and fruit infused water which was really pleasant, each day when we left and each night when we returned we'd try the new flavored water. The Kiwi infused water was our favorite.

The wifi signal wasn’t strong at all in our room, but there are computers in the lobby; they let you use them for free for 15 minutes and then after that you pay. They also charged me when I used the phone at the front desk to call my bank (an 1800 number). When we ate at the restaurant, I tried to charge it to my room and was told that even though I had given the clerk a credit card upon check in, there was none on file and so I would have to pay cash. I didn't argue, just accepted it paid in pesos and left. These were minor inconveniences that don't really matter to me, but I mention them as they could potentially bother some less easy going travelers.

I thought the ATM in the lobby would be really convenient, but it wouldn't allow me to withdraw any money. It kept saying my bank was declining the transaction. I called my bank, they said they weren't. Turns out I was trying to withdraw too large of an amount of pesos, and only much later in my trip, after speaking to other Americans who suggested we try smaller withdrawals, was I able to access my money. Apparently this is done to prevent fraud, although I think all it does is increase the amount of bank and atm fees I paid. I couldn't withdraw 500 pesos, but I could withdraw 100 pesos 5 times. Made no sense to me at all. The front desk was absolutely no help during this crisis.

Often times there were large groups of people in the lobby strewn about seemingly either waiting to check in or out. At one point my sister and I left our room to go down the hall for some water, and when we returned the key we had just entered with didn't let us back in. We had to go down to the lobby through the crowd in our pajamas and get a new one. I understand those types of technological glitches happen, but what got me was when we went down to the front desk, they didn't ask ANYTHING of us except our room number, and then simply made new keys. Didn't ask for ID or even the name on the reservation, we were just given keys to the room no questions asked. We got locked out again later in our trip (not sure why the keys would randomly decide to stop working), but this time we weren't inclined to go down to the lobby so we used the phone in the hallway to call the front desk. They sent someone up who had a new key; he just handed the key to us and walked away. I got the sense that if someone really wanted to get into someone else's room, they could easily request a key if only they had the room number. As far as I know that didn't happen, I'm just saying it probably could have.

Despite all of this, and mainly because one night runs less than 4,000 spg points, I would stay here again if in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are less noisy. Not all rooms have exterior windows, some rooms have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseysl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The rooms look nice. That's it. The acoustics of the building is extremely poor and so is the insulation of the rooms. I was given a room on the second floor and, even not being next to the elevator, I was really annoyed at any time by the extremely loud "pling pling" of the elevator arriving on the floor (and maybe also on the other floors). At 5 or 6 am I could perfectly hear the noise of the cutlery being handled by the waiters to set the tables for breakfast. At 11 pm I could "enjoy" the music from the lobby....in other words, rest is confined to deep night only! Maybe such a problem is not faced by customers sitting on the 7th floor, but unfortunately they offer rooms also at much lower floors. If one is really lucky he could get a room with an inner window only, overlooking the lobby! (yes the hotel has some rooms like this!)

Other than this, if you still want to go (and take a room on any of the lowers floors), the staff speaks english and is helpful, the breakfast is just ok, the location is fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierluigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manherdz, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Pierluigi B;

I am sorry that you had the problem of noise in your room, as you mention we have a dome in the lobby that makes noise can be heard a little harder and also you were on a lower floor, we are improving the issue of lifting not hear that annoying bell and try to do everything possible to solve this problem, for now I can only offer a sincere apology and on your next stay if I may I offer an upgrade to jr suite where noise is much lower and the view of the city is very nice, please please contact me and I will give much pleasure to serve you personally,

Greetings and I am at your service.

Manuel Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#78 of 310 in Mexico City
272 reviews
Roma
Hotel MX Roma
Hotel MX Roma
#126 of 310 in Mexico City
10 reviews
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#182 of 310 in Mexico City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#114 of 310 in Mexico City
32 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
137 reviews
Roma
Nima Local House Hotel
Nima Local House Hotel
#41 of 310 in Mexico City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma
Address: Avenida Alvaro Obregon 38, Mexico City 06700, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Xi Ciudad de Mexico Roma)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mexico City
Mexico City Quality Inn
Four Points By Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing