We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #154 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My home in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently went to Mexico City on a one week trip and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco. I was very pleased with this small hotel very close and withing walking distance to the center of this huge city. The room was very comfortable and clean. I was very happy with having lots of towels and bottle water in my room. I was also very pleased that I had WiFi which nis very important to me since I had my iPhone on airplane mode while in Mexico. I definitely recommend this hotel for the price. Did I also mention that they have a very good and inexpensive restaurant with a great breakfast buffet. I also would like to praise the bell man "Adrian" who helped me with what ever information I needed in regards to any information about getting around Mexico City and information on going out and exploring the city, He was very helpful and personable asset to the staff at the Hotel Monaco. Thanks Adrian for your help. Even though this is a small hotel in my view I found this place to be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Absolute_Cuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
24
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hotel Monaco is clean, quiet, good lobby, dark wood paneling, kind of old-style 1950's. Four stories of a brick building facing a scruffy park with cathedral. Rooms are small but OK. Easy walk to Alameda Central, and beyond to the Zocalo. Hidalgo metro stop. Good 99 peso breakfast buffet; lots of businessmen eating there. About $58 US per room for two people. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

but in the room 303 is haunted because have a ghost he open the key if water and turn on and move my cel phone and was sleeping next to me... scary. muy bueno aunque el cuarto no tan elegante como por fuera asustan me toco el 303 y un fantasma prendio mi celo y le molvio abrio la llave d agua y senti q dormia enseguida d mi espantoso ....i went last week.becareful with the ghosts. aaaa warning in the 3rd floor internet doesnt work...en el piso 3 noi funciona intenet parq subir fotos a facebook. dont foruet the thip for the guy of the elevator.den propinas al personal.

Room Tip: 303 have a ghostttttttt reallyyyyy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Good hotel very close to Hidalgo metro station. and Alameda Park. By metro you can easely reach Zocalo, Gaudalupe, Coyoacan, Chapultepec and other "must see" places in Mexico CIty.
He've been given a room with interior window but after the first night we asked the receptionist to change it and receive a bigger room with street view. Good WiFi connection.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I thought this hotel was overall quite good. The room was very comfortable and clean, there were free toiletries and free bottled water each day. There was a flat screen television, and free wifi, although it did not work in the room, only in the lobby. There was a free computer in the lobby, which was handy.

The neighborhood is rather sketchy, although it's only a few blocks walk to the Alameda Park and museums. The sidewalks are full of vendors and are very uneven and difficult to maneuver. At night I think the area, and the park across the street, would be dodgy. I was only there one night and had dinner in the hotel, so I was not out at night.

The hotel's restaurant was good, with many selections and good prices. There's a Metrobus across the street and a subway stop only a few blocks away.

The street is very busy and pretty noisy, although the room had fairly soundproofed windows. I asked for a fan, as with the windows closed it was pretty stuffy and warm, but they told me I'd have to pay 700 pesos (!!) for a deluxe room to get a fan, so of course I chose not to.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing Guerrero Street. It is extremely busy and noisy, and if you keep the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
New York Hotel
#206 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#65 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Hotel Astor
#84 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#138 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Corinto Hotel
#262 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hotel Faja de Oro
#143 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Property: Monaco Hotel
Address: Eje Vial Eje 1 Poniente (Avenida Guerrero) 12 | Federal District, Mexico City 06350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing