We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and inexpensive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rioja

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rioja
Ranked #231 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and inexpensive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at the Rioja many times and have loved it. It is very close to the Zocalo, Garibaldi, the subway and it is safe and clean. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. The staff is very pleasant and go out of their way to help you once they get to know you they warm up to you. They don't speak English, but are willing to do anything anything they can to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Este hotel es excelente, nos hemos quedado aqui varias veces y lo recomendamos para aquellos que quieren visitar el DF, esta cerca de el Zocalo, el Palacio Bellas Artes, el metro y tambien cerca de La Plaza Garibaldi.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, so you don't hear the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
25
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This straight-forward, "traditional" -[probably into its 2nd century,] ideally located central hotel had a February 2012 room rate of 320pesos for a small French-balconied double with a glimpse of the Metropolitan Cathedral two blocks away. [singles and interior, ie., no view, even less expensive] The rooms we looked in on, [two in addition to the one we stayed in] are small, with just enough room for two persons to negotiate comfortably for a short stay to take in the major sights near the Zocalo. The Rioja fronts on a major city-centre street, Cinco de Mayo, which is on the self-directed walking tours listed in the free tourist maps given out at the closest corner of the Cathedral. On previous, longer stays in Mexico City we'd stayed in much tonier hotels with larger rooms, and had we stayed a third night at the Rioja I would have started to feel the difference, I'm sure, but the location and price were ideal for our purposes this stay in D.F.; a viewing of painter Diego Rivera's Murals in three locations within walking distance-the Museo Mural Diego Rivera, the mural in Bellas Artes and the 250+ murals in the buildings of the Federal Sectretariat of Public Education.
Over the time we were there [three weekdays/two nights] we saw older tourists like ourselves, young solo backpackers and Mexican businessmen in suits walking through the lobby. The value offered by the Rioja obviously appeals to a broad spectrum of travellers. The streets quieted down after rush hour, and stayed that way until 6 in the morning when Cinco de Mayo wakes for its working day.
The woman at Rioja's front desk was wonderfully patient with my halting Spanish, and the bell-boy was able to help out with his try at English, but a better comfort level in Spanish on my part would have been helpful. Wi-fi in the lobby, a 30" flat screen in the room, and bottled water were part of the deal, and the only evident downside was that the towels appeared to have been boiled and bleached a couple of years too often!!
Three doors east towards the Zocalo is a great fresh fruit bar called Jugos Canada, where 37pesos will get you a large choice of combinations starting with 6 fresh squeezed oranges, guava, banana and honey, or if you prefer a "Vampiro" blended beets celery and carrot.. --Quiet at 8am but crowded at noon--
We had planned to visit well-thought-of Restaurant El Popular across the street, but were distracted by the large portioned fare at Restarant La Capillia [associated with Hotel Gillow
at the intersection to the west] for a lunch, then breakfast and dinner the following day.
Previous good reviews on the TA site brought the Roja to our attention...I add my voice to the chorus!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancouverite55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I would stay no where else in Mexico City. I've stayed at the Rioja many, many times. Staff is very friendly. They always remember me. Perfect location, very near the Zocalo. The price is unbelievable. Rooms clean, bathrooms sparkle. If you need a taxi for the airport, the front desk can arrange it for you. If you don't speak Spanish, I suppose you should stay elsewhere (and pay more money). Across the street is a great Mexican Restaurant, El Popular. There is a computer in the main lobby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank painai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I have stayed at the Rioja since 1993 and have LOVED it ever since. You must be a discerning customer, not frivolous, just open to a clean, inexpensive, safe room, close to the Zocolo, in the Centro Historico, and based in the prefect location to check out what Mexico City has to offer. If you are prissy, indulgent, or privileged...this is NOT the place for you. However, if you want to see Mexico as a Mexican, this place IS IT. The Hotel Staff are courteous (but do not speak English), the rooms are clean and simple, and best of all - you're within walking distance of the Templo Mayor, Zocalo, Bellas Artes, Alemeda Park, Mexican Art Museum, etc. - no better place!

If you want a US Hotel...do not stay here and go to the Zona Rosa, San Angel, Polanco, and other areas of D.F. that cater to rich clientele.

Best regards from a seasoned archaeologist with experience in Mexico over 2 decades....

Room Tip: Ask 4 a room on the street or top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karllorenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Cheap, 250pesos for single, and 290pesos for double on room with window, rooms with no windows are cheaper.

Rooms and public spaces were clean and in good condition.
Offers free wifi, but does only work in lobby. There is also one computer with internet available on the lobby, 10pesos/20mins.

Rooms with window/french balcony can be noisy during the day, but during week nights noise level is ok for sleeping. During the weekend there is an night club near, and you can hear clearly what song they are playing, even when balcony door is closed.

Staff are friendly, but they do not speak english very well

Location is great, few minutes to the Zocalo, museums, nightlife and shops.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AarniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Highly recommended, and an unbelievable deal. Very clean, seemed newly reno'd. At two blocks from the zócalo, the location can't be beat. It was quiet considering we had a small balcony that overlooked the street ( 5 de Mayo). At 350 pesos for a double, it doesn't get cheaper for a decent room in Mexico City. Beds were a little hard.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr0wlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

On my 2nd visit after 3 years, staff remembered me, I stayed for 2 weeks, room cleaned everyday, bedspread was changed twice, as a single woman, I felt absolutly safe, had wake-up call every morning, very gently. Next time I would bring my own light bulb, higher wattage needed for late night reading. Lobby has pay-internet service, Hotel owner on site, professional staff, in-room safe, airport driver arranged, came at 5am as promised. This is my forever Hotel in Mexico City. lola F.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeplessinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Canada
Hotel Canada
#218 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#138 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#134 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#126 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Azores
Hotel Azores
#188 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#65 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rioja

Property: Hotel Rioja
Address: 45 Cinco de Mayo, Mexico City 6000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Rioja Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Rioja Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing