We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mexico City Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Maria Condesa(Mexico City)
US$183
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
US$156
NH Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$257
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Mexico Reforma(Mexico City)
US$111
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Emporio Reforma(Mexico City)
US$90
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Casa Gonzalez(Mexico City)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$527
US$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ritz Mexico(Mexico City)
US$84
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
154
185
59
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
185
59
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roombed dormyogurttop bunkgreat locationcentral locationsecurity guardhot waterreception staff arelaundry servicecommon areas aresmall balconythe main squarefree breakfastclean roomsevery morningmetro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

From the moment I stepped into the beautiful, open lobby, I was impressed with this place. I had been staying at Mundo Joven around the corner, and this place was just a world apart. Quiet, peaceful, elegant.
The first floor has a nice common room with several computers. There is also a kitchen with the only oven I've ever seen in a hostel. Every morning, breakfast includes scrambled eggs, which alone makes it worth the extra 10 or 20 pesos you pay per night to stay here.
The bathrooms are immaculate, and the shower water was hot with ample pressure. You are given plush towels that are far better than anything I bring with me.
The dorms were clean with crisp sheets and fluffy pillows.
This place definitely qualifies as a boutique hostel!

Room Tip: There are two buildings that make up this hostel. I recommend the building on the East side of the street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldIsAPlayground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

This is a really solid hostel that is very professionally run. There are 2 buildings, across the street from each other, and I stayed in secondary building for 2 nights. The hostel is beautiful inside, and the place is kept really clean. But if you are visiting Mexico City I would strongly recommend that you NOT stay in Centro, or near the Zocalo. Stay in Condesa. Or one of the other cool neighborhoods. Seriously. But if you want to stay in Centro this is a great option.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RidinDirti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel back in 2010, and still remember it as one of the prettiest hostels I've ever stayed at. Pretty, colourful murals on the walls, lush plants inside, plenty clean though furnishings were older. This hostel had tons of character. The hostel was 2 blocks north of the Zocala, the center square of the city, with the cathedral, city hall, archaeological dig of an ancient Aztec temple, and subway station. The neighbourhood was kept safe all day by plentiful heavily-armed guards, which can be either very disturbing or very reassuring, depending on perspective.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Firstly understand there are two buildings on opposite side of the streets, one which has been recently renovated and as such feels much cleaner and has a much better lounge area.

I stayed in both the old and new building. I had a twin private room with shared bathroom in both.

Initially we were in the new building ( number 11) the room was clean and had generous lockers however was in the middle of the hall with one window (no blind) that looked into the passage way. The lights in the passage do not turn off at night so the room was never dark and hard to get to sleep. In addition the windows did not shut completely so in the early hours of the morning drunk guests could be heard banging around the building. After no sleep for two nights the staff were very accommodating and moved us into the old building into a street facing room, and at a reduced rate. The room was spacious with double beds and a little balcony from which you can see the zocalo. It was excellent. I really must also commend the staff on their hospitality which was also excellent.

The breakfast is included and was more than sufficient. There is always water and hot water available as well which is great.

Some of the rooms are pretty much boxes some with no windows, but given the price and hospitality you cannot complain! And it is an excellent location literally steps away from the zocalo/historical center.

If you can get a street facing room, the ones in the new building are fantastic for the price.

Good, basic and cheap accommodation in a great area! And accommodating staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kali100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed in the Mexico City Hostel Suites across from the original hostel in a double ensuite room. Room was spacious, simple and clean with 2 double beds and a large bathroom. Very clean and quiet atmosphere with lovely decorations. More like a hotel than a hostel. Too bad there was no electricity in our room when we stayed or any hot water, nor any laundry service. When they told us this when we checked in, I thought it would be fixed within a day, but they had no idea when. They told us we could take hot baths at the shared bathrooms across the street. Very basic breakfast with scrambled eggs, melon, bread, Tang and coffee. Not even a toaster. We left our 2nd morning to go to the Hostel Cathedral which isn't nearly as nice or spacious but is inly a 1 minute walk away. Wish we could've stayed but no electricity, wifi or hot water is unacceptable. The friendly guy at the front desk gave us 10% off for our troubles without us even asking though. If you stay here, call and make sure the electricity, wifi and hot water is available. It wasn't when we left on 1/6/13.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelegutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews