We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just Oustanding !!! Wunderbar !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #128 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just Oustanding !!! Wunderbar !!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

just Oustanding !!! Best Place ever!!!! Food: Marvelous !!! Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Rooms pleasant, staff very friendly and helpfull. Leisure/Spa facilities top class, can see why it won an award. Excellent breakfast served in the mornings, bistro open all day and a choice of restaurants in the evening. The only negative is the location as it sits high at the back of St Helier, however they do run a mini bus down to the town centre at regular intervals Monday-Friday. Car parking on site usually not a problem. Believe it's very popular with families end of July, into August and September with kids club/creche on offer plus a variety of entertainment for the adults. Great deals available off-peak.

Room Tip: Go there !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    19
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
34
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here for one night in July 2012, as our preferred hotel was unavailable - and regretted even that. We arrived quite early, and the hotel was good enough to accommodate us, which we appreciated (and discovered later was likely due to the fact that the hotel was essentially empty - no surprise given our experience) - but the positive initial experience ended there.

We had paid extra for a room with the much-vaunted view of Chapultepec Park - but as some other reviewers have noted, there isn't one - just the trees across the busy (and ugly) Avenida de los Constituyentes. In addition, the traffic noise in our room was noticible and bothersome. The room did have some old world style charm, with the hardwood floors, etc., but this was offset by the sub-standard state of repair and cleanliness (the bathroom in particular), and the bizarre large window between the bathroom and the bedroom (off-putting for anyone who appreciates some privacy in the bathroom). The rooftop restaurant (which we were also looking forward to, hoping that at least it might have a view - it did not) was closed for renovations (which we gather from other comments here have been going on for some time, and based on inquiries with the staff, would for some time yet).

Worst of all was the service, particularly in the restaurant, and as other reviewers have noted, with taxi service (which as others have also noted, is essential given the poor location).

In the restaurant, the wait staff were gruff and unprofessional - I was told abruptly that we would have to pay our bill because 'we had no credit' (at the time I assumed that the front desk had pre-charged our room, and not left an open account - but checking later discovered this was not the case). When my travelling companion complained that the coffee was too weak, the Maitre D' apologized and suggested he would remedy it immmediately with fresh coffee - which was no better, and on presentation of the bill, we were charged for both, and had to request to have the first removed from the bill.

Worse still, my credit card was compromised with fraudulent charges appearing the day after only having used it at this hotel - I can't help but suspect the unpleasant wait staff who insisted we pay our bill on the spot.

We also encountered the same issue others have noted with taxi service - despite specifically requesting a radio taxi to avoid exhorbitant hotel taxi rates, the taxi that showed up from a nearby stand attempted to charge us rates that were at least triple the standard rates using a hotel rate chart instead of the taxi meter. The front desk staff blamed the taxi driver, but the taxi driver and the doorman confirmed that the hotel had an arrangement with that taxi stand to charge those rates.

All-in-all, this is the classic case of a hotel billing itself as five stars when in fact the service is anything but - in addition, it is old, tired, dark, in a poor state of repair, and poorly located. With many, far better options nearby on the Paseo de la Reforma - hotels that actually DO have city views, good, convenient locations, excellent service and even better rates - there is absolutely no good reason to stay here. We moved on to the Embassy Suites Reforma for the rest of our one-week stay, and were glad to do so - a far better choice.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here (and we strongly suggest you seek better options on the nearby Pase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JotaTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro A, General Manager at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
I hope you could accept my most sincere apologies for this inconvenient experience, as I truly understand your frustration and disappointment,so unnecesary and unexpected.
Should you decide to give us another opportunity and stay at the Green Park in the future, I have no doubts that our improvement will be noticeble and you will enjoy your stay with us just the way is it´s intended; filled with pleasant, relaxing moments, accompanied by flawless service.
Sincerely.
Alejandro Alonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for people who prefer a smaller, friendlier property. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for me throughout my five day stay - they booked a private architectural tour with a professor of architecture, arranged restaurant reservations and ensured that my favorite newspapers were available in the afternoon.

I was here mostly for vacation and could not have asked for a better overall experience. My one reservation is that the street out front is very busy, so you will hear noise and feel vibrations from the traffic. If you're sensitive to this, ask for one of the interior facing rooms. I very much enjoyed the view from my room, which had a small balcony.

I tried the restaurant for room service, and it was quite good. Breakfasts were a real treat.

With the one caveat about street noise, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Embarcadero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Green Park Hotel

My wife and I came to visit some friends in La Condesa area late September and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Our inside room (#1007) was spacious and very quiet. The facilities were much better than expected, bordering on luxurious. The wood flooring was a little squeaky and that was a little distracting but not a real issue. The free WiFi is very nice. We found the Kingsize bed on the hard side of what we're used to.

We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious every time. Service was great since we were usually the only ones in the dining room. The waffles appeared to be frozen and reheated in the toaster but tasty nonetheless. We didn’t have dinner there as we always dined with our friends elsewhere.

The hotel is close to many of the sights in Chapoltapec Park but you need a taxi to get to them. The bell staff are helpful but be sure you confirm your destination with the driver before you leave. We had a situation where our driver misunderstood our destination as explained by the bell staff. This was a language barrier on our part.

We used the Turibus for our sightseeing. You can get it at the Oratorio Nacional.

Next time I go to Mexico City, this is where I will come and stay!

Muchas Gracias Green Park Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrtcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were eager to try their highly advertised "high tea" service one rainy afternoon. The people at the front desk had no idea of what we were talking about, so we headed to their "the view" restaurant on the third floor, where we were greeted by a surprised and disdained waiter who also did not know what we were asking about (we are fluent in spanish).
Finally, came the maitre´d , who told us that we needed a 24 hour prior reservation for the high tea service. To which we replied that there is no mention of this requirement in their nicely done colorful flyer. We asked if we could still have tea and biscuits and they led us to our table. We were the only customers they had in their big dining room. By the way, the only "view" you get is of the gates of the beautiful chapultepec forest. We expected a great cup of tea for the price (about 10 usd each), it turned out the waiter who serves the tea has NO idea of the right temp. tea must be served, and we ended up with 2 tasteless cups of very expensive tea. The tarte tatin we tried was ok, not excellent, for the price of about 10 usd.
On the bright side, the hotel looks spotless and it is in a great quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro A, Manager at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Sorry about the tea service.
I will personally invite you for tea next time you come back.
Remember to ask for Alejandro Alonso.
Best regards.
Alejandro Alonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Pros: Is located in front of Chapultepec (the biggest park in Mexico City) so it has a great view, rooms have a very comfortable bed and luxurious bath, food is very good (specially breakfast), it has a nice terrace at the 6th floor.

Cons: Sorry...didn´t find any

Rates from 120-300 usd

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patristain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel for three nights: first two nights, then went to Morelia, came back and spent a third. Really high quality hotel, loved the service. Had no trouble exchanging money at the front desk, leaving bags behind during our trip to Morelia, getting taxis, getting clothes pressed. I have stayed in many hotels in the states, and this was right up there with the best. It would be an excellent business traveller's hotel, and I think that is it's primary clientele.

The negative, which is relatively minor, is the location. We thought being adjacent to Chaputepec Park would be a plus, but Constituyentes is a MAJOR road. Crossing it and walking along it to get to an entrance to the park is not exactly a pleasant stroll. (If you want to walk into the neighborhood of the hotel, don't go onto Constituyentes, but walk through the parking lot of the Park Villa Hotel, directly behind Green Park Hotel, and onto General Gomez Pedraza.)

Also, for restaurants, we headed to nearby Condesa several times. To get to Condesa you have to walk through San Miguel de Chapultepec, the neighborhood to the east of this hotel (sleepy and charming by day, but a bit dark by night), then across a pedestrian bridge to cross Diagonal Patriotismo, and then onto Av. Michoacan in Condesa. I never felt unsafe, but I grew up in New York City. If you want easy access to Condesa, stay in Condesa. (Of course, you could also take a $3 taxi ride...)

Other than that, this hotel is great. They're building a pool on the roof, probably ready sometime this summer. We would definitely stay again.

Oh, and the concierge, Alejandro, is truly the nicest man in the world. He has two rescue lions (yes, African lions) in the courtyard of the Park Villa Hotel. Ask to see them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DVM_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Park Villa
#196 of 310 in Mexico City
44 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#44 of 310 in Mexico City
309 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#55 of 310 in Mexico City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Busue a Boutique Experience Hotel
Suites Contempo
#80 of 310 in Mexico City
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Costituyentes No 99 | Col San Miguel Chapultepec, Mexico City 11850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#54 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing