We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Plaza Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Madrid
Ranked #260 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

My wife is from Puebla, a smaller version of Mexico City, and I am from San Diego, CA. It seems I was more knowledgeable than her ( hence this is my forst time in the city ) and I told her we should be cautios with the eye gouging prices. This hotel is 699 or pesos 58 U.S dollars, all taxes, fees, surcharges, commissions included. Thats not counting the 200 pesos or18 dollars taxi ride from the airport, plus the 2 dollar tip for the taxi driver, nor the bell boys tips, if anything he is the one most in need. The only positive was the breakfast buffet was FREE and has a value of 99 pesos or 7-8 Dollars per person therefore bringing your hotel stay down to your low 40's.

Check out time is 1:00 p.m. Tonight we are staying to a hotel a few hundred feet called Hotel Corintiano. It says it 35 dollars per night and looks much cleaner.

Overall review....only stay here if you really must or for emergencies.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerttyui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
6
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Worst Hotel ever. Bad service, Dirty and dilapidated. Bedsheets look like they never get changed. Everything falls apart and or doesn't work. Bathooms are literally dirty. If you think of staying here its best to sleep in the airport or bus depot. You can find a better cleaner hotel in El Centro Historico for much less. Would not recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont listen to taxi drivers they get paid to suggest these type of hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel is very clean, the staff is very polite and helpful, but the rooms are a bit 'dated.' I would compare them to Super 8 Motels in the US. It is very close (<2 blocks) to public transportation and one of the main streets in DF, Reforma. If you're looking for budget accomodations in the heart of downtown, this is the place. The two-double-bed room rate was 279 pesos (approx. $22.00 US).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotoArtGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UPCOUNTRY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

The hotel is absolutely terrible - It pays airport and bus station taxis to con you into staying there even if you have accomodations elsewhere .The lobby looks perfectly fine - but once you pay for the room you find out the place is in absolute shambles - nothing works in the rooms - they are old dilapidated and very gross - DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! There is an excellent hotel less than a block away - Hotel Regente - It is absolutely first class and actually costs less if you book on the internet - $ 57 USD

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Disliked — The service and the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SUPERICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.1 mi away
Corinto Hotel
Corinto Hotel
#262 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#85 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#216 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#208 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manalba
Hotel Manalba
#158 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mallorca Hotel
Mallorca Hotel
#250 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madrid

Property: Plaza Madrid
Address: Calle Madrid 15, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaza Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madrid Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing