We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reforma Avenue Hotel
Ranked #274 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Good price that's about it.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Well first off the whole hotel is a throwback to the 70s with 1990s technology. The bed was huge but the sheets had hairs on them and didn't even fit on the bed. The soap dispensers were hardly filled when they became empty. The drinking glasses that they put in the bathroom were not taking care of and cleaned when we used them they just left them there on the table and didn't give us clean ones. The carpet on the floor was pretty nasty and dirty. The walls were pretty thin you could hear people in the rooms next door. There was no sealant around the air conditioner unit you could see outside through the cracks and this didn't help with the noise from outside either. We had difficult time getting the room key to even open the door at times. The old TV only had three channels and they barely came in good. We were on the second floor so we were fortunate to have the WiFi single pick up. They didn't refill our shampoo or change our sheets and they wanted us to pay for the room. The front desk people had a bad attitude and bad customer service. The breakfast eating area was pretty dirty too as the clothes on the tables were never changed and you could see coffee rings and spills from previous people eating on them. The taxi driver from the hotel was really nice but it was $8 USD to go places so we ended up using the buses and red taxis for cheaper.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    24
    15
    20
See reviews for
6
13
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This hotel was recommended by the porter at the bus terminal. The price was only US $50 per night so cannot complain about that. The location is great. The rooms and hallways look as though the last update they received was in the the 1970's. You will not be impressed one bit. But... the front desk staff was friendly... the bellman was more than helpful and friendly...the free breakfast the next morning was good and the waiter was nice as well. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean... just really outdated furniture and carpeting. The shower was strong and hot. Loved that. Found a great restaurant a few blocks away with cold beer and a great menu. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Ok, i visit this hotel with my hole family, they charge us 800 pesos per night, a SUPER cheap price, we were excited because it sounded nice and we think it would be ok, we arrived there and the staff didn't even knew about our reservations, but there were rooms available anyway, so they first gave us one room and it was messy, i mean really messy, the bed weren't done, the tv was on, i mean it looked like someone just left the room, so obviously we asked for a new room, the new one was better, it was on the 5th floor.
The bed covers were super old and they looked idk dirty. the mattresses were noisy and they felt old, like they needed to be replaced anytime soon. In general the place looks super old, and its not very comfrotable, i hated to go to the bathroom, and walking around with no shoes on. My sisters and my mom were always whining about how horrible the place was, so definitely its not a hotel for delicate ladies LOL.
The good stuff is that they include hot breakfast and it is delicious, they have mexican food in it, i loved it. And another gret thing is the location, i mean it is close to the best touristic things in mexico city, for example the Angel de la Independencia its just a few blocks away, you can go walking, and the surroundings are beautiful, it is a beautiful city. So if you don't care to much about the room and the most important thing for you is the location, this is DEFINITELY the hotel for you, and the best part is that is super economic!
In conclusion i wont go back there but if im in a hurry, like i just need to be in Mexico city for 1 day, yes i would stay there again
I include several pictures of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

the price was good just for 50 us dollars a night , rooms were clean and tidy . great location , and good breakfast deals . would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

IN poor repair: the light didnt work and the guy just shrugged. They couldnt find my Expedia reservation and couldnt tell me whether they had taken a deposit. Breakfast is poor. The location is very good on Reforma. It was fairly cheap at 485 but I would have preferred to pay a bit more. The manager is pretty grumpy too

Room Tip: Dont deal through a travel company as they wont find the reservation. They asked me to go to a compu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is very clean, cheap prices (50$US a night) and you're 200 meters from reforma avenue. A short walk to the subway (1 kilometer).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller65432107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The hotel Reforma Avenue is well located, just a couple of blocks from the subway. The Zocalo is nearby as well as Bellas Artes.
The hotel is not fancy, but it will do. You have to ask for your towels (huh?). Breakfast is included. The room is reasonably clean. We felt very safe in this hotel, and that is worth a lot in our opinion.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
New York Hotel
#210 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Mallorca Hotel
#250 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#139 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Panuco
#225 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#78 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Hotel Premier
#214 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reforma Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reforma Avenue Hotel

Property: Reforma Avenue Hotel
Address: Calle Donato Guerra 24 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reforma Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Reforma Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reforma Avenue Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing