We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Gardens

Thai Gardens
Ranked #420 of 4,173 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$310 - US$500
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Polanco
Cross street: Masaryk
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazingly bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Amazingly bad service, slow and careless. Food sounds exotic but not always tastes right. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank adragonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    20
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This place has great food and atmosphere..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

If you like asian food, this is the place to go. Easy to get to and valet parking available.

Helpful?
Thank PRINCIPALMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“NO NEED TO GO ALL THE WAY TO BANGKOK TO GET ROBBED!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

For many years now, this restaurant chain has attempted (it now seems it has been all in vain) to position as a top reference in Thai food in this country. Having visited after many years one can witness the deterioration as a post-modern touch of fake worned-out authenticity. Prices are as heavenly high as I remember, but without justification as food resembles at best, that being served on any average Thai in N.Y. or SFO. but with portions that resemble that hideous nouvelle-cuisine trend...
Service was not memorable and was not rude as some of the previous reviews claim (maybe restaurant owners are checking clients´reviews once in a while, putting some of this advice to work!)
Hopefully they will pay more attention as it smells closing down all the way to Bangkok!
If you are and untravelled newly rich Mexican and you are debating wether to pay them a visit , go baby go!
If you are foreigner with a previous exposure to solid well-priced Thai cuisine, AVOID!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JManuelGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,027 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“Food OK but horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The food ranged from just OK to good.
I was appalled about the service though, and maybe that's why the food tasted bitter!
I told the waitress upfront it was my son's birthday and if they had a candle, they could put it on whatever desert he would chose.
1 - they placed us in a very remote corner so good bye nice atmosphere and decoration, we could not see it and they could not see us therefore they forgot about us for a long time. I had to wave as if I was drowning to get attended.
2 - I ask for water, they don't ask me what kind they disappear and bring me 1 small bottle of flat water. We were 4 and usually order sparkling as well
3 - son orders his desert, they bring another desert on top - not ordered, with a candle, and promptly charge us for the extra desert
4 - they charged us for service an amount of their choice - higher than the norm - something that doesn't happen if you are less than 6 usually
5 - we ask for a factura (very common in Mexico), they say they'll send it by email (becoming common), it's been 2 weeks - never received.

I love thai food but that was just too much. I'll take my cook book next time!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good ambience, good service, fantastic food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This was my second visit, this time with the family. Very good ambience, good service, fantastic food. We had some spring rolls, a chicken salad that was very spicy, sweat and sour pork, chicken curry green. Service was very good. Pricewise very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ApiciusHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Gardens also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thai Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing