We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat”
Review of Pujol

Pujol
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,520 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A special treat”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The thing about Mexico is that all the food is amazing! The cheapest taco from a market can be delicious so it is hard to improve on that. We have eaten in lots of places in al different price ranges and Pujol is good value for that type of experience. The food was enjoyable and the design stylish as expected. However, it didn't blow me away enough to be a five star review. The mole dish wasn't as nice as the mole I'd had from a street vendor it was just better presented! However, for a special treat while in Mexico City it's worth a visit. It certainly brings to light that Mexico is a city of extremes - from Pujol fine dining to street food and markets.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    276
    147
    51
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find in Mexico City!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have a healthy skepticism about fine dining restaurants, especially in a place like Mexico where you would expect the best food to be in the humblest of locations. But Pujol proved me wrong! The food was inventive, surprising and tasty. The service was charming and pleasant - we had a great time indeed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeEverywhereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuauhtémoc, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Originality ≠ Taste”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The combination and use of ingredients is really breathtaking, this will absolutely blow your mind, BUT, the taste was not as how the dishes' description sound like. If you are only looking for originality this is quite an experience for you; the service is impeccable but then maybe if the taste had more weight when qualifying for the top 50 restaurants, I think Pujol doesn't deserve to be in the 17th place (and so the prices might be reconsidered). Then, Enrique Olvera arrived and just as my experience with Martha Chapa's "Dulce Patria" restaurant, he didn't even say hi to anyone, not even a smile or a gratitude gesture to any of us inside, even he's aware that being there means we are consuming and paying for this restaurant to exist. A little humbleness has never hurt anyone! Even some other restarants' chefs with less fame, if they're around or passes by your table, they ask you how's your dinner going so far... I guess sometimes fame corrupts and gives you the perfect pinch of arrogance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exciting experience!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A wonderful experience. Ten courses, perfectly served as a tasting menu. Food, while very good, was not over the top as was expected at what is claimed to be one of the world's best restaurants. Lovely selection of wines at top prices. Overall, not quite up to what I hoped for, but a lovely experience none the less.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasting menu - Overrated”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I didn't like it so much. nice experience, excelent service, several dishes but I'm not big fan of author cuisine

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManoloMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing