We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, few blocks from Frida's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Cuija Coyoacan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Cuija Coyoacan
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, few blocks from Frida's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the Roma neighborhood but on our way back we had a weekend in DF before flying out. We wanted to check out the Frida Khalo Museum and also to check out the weekend markets in Coyoacan. We also wanted a more relaxed DF experience for our final days. This hostel was perfect!!!!!!! It is located on a beautiful street only a few blocks from Frida Khalo's museum and the central square. The house is relaxing and beautiful. The staff was really fun and friendly and we even had pancakes for breakfast! We had a slight problem with our booking reservation so best to email to confirm, but they were able to accommodate us without a problem. I think their main service is Booking.com for booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyCarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
10
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed in this hostel for several days. This hostel felt more like home, with its unique design, beautiful garden, and warm service.
Hostel is located in the beautiful Coyoacan, close to the subway station, it was convinient and safe. I would recommend it as a perfect relaxing place in Mexico City.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aina379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here this summer. The hostal is basically a large home/compound with some guest quarters built outside of the main house. I have some positive and negative thoughts on this place. First off, the owner, (I forget her name), was very, very nice and helpful when my friend was sick. For that I would recommend her establishment. On the negative side, for me, the hostal seemed like a high school or college freshmen dorm hangout club. During the daytime everyone was zoned out on their laptops and wouldn't make eye contact. At night there was so much giggling and laughing from the young girls I thought it must of been a quinceanera sleep over party.. Lost some sleep due to that (and I stay up late). Aside from that though our private room with private bathroom/shower was very nice.
Would I stay here again? No. Would I recommend it for someone who really needed to sleep in Coyoacan? Sure. Next time I would just stay at one of the other hostels in DF (Hostel Home!) and make a day trip to this lovely neighborhood.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the private room. It's as good as a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elijah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently stayed at Hostal Cuija Coyoacan for several days. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and breakfast was provided every day. It is located in the charming Coyoacan neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights here, great location close to Frida Kahlo museum and markets ect.

Staff were extremely friendly and free breakfast was excellent.

Rooms are ok, stayed in one with private bathrooom, toilet didnt work for half the time we were there and this was normal apparently, this being our first trip to mexico we didnt get too fussed.

Internet was up and down the whole time due to road works causing black outs at night and messing everything up.

We spoke very very little spanish and just got by, no one spoke english but they were very patient with us and our lack of spanish.

Will stay again one day because the suburb is amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms with shared bathroom are slightly cheaper and the bathrooms are great but the private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandLarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I are experienced travelers, and have stayed at many hostels knowing you get what you pay for, but luckily we have never encountered such a place like this one. We were never given a key to our room since the previous guest's took it. Therefore we could not lock our doors, although the receptionist told us to lock our door & leave the window open so we could open the door by opening it threw the window. The bathroom was filthy, no one ever came in to clean our room during our 4 day visit. We spent our own time to sanitize our room since we could NOT stand to be in such filth- I.E ; MOLD, fruit flies, SPIDERS ! They never even gave us toilet paper for our use. The staff was also never available 24hrs as shown on all websites. Nor were they bilingual. My husband and I are bilingual so we assisted the receptionist to help their walk ins or even their guests to translate.

We enjoyed our time in D.F, just not at our hostel. We will NEVER return!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have stayed at Hostel Cuija on two occasions. I have found the staff to be very attentive. The place is clean and includes a modest breakfast which gives the place the feel of a bed & breakfast. This is not the typical hostel with wild parties. It's not specifically a youth hostel and they don't sell alcohol to their guests. However, if you're looking for a nice, safe, and comfortable stay in Mexico City, in Coyoacan, you can count on this place for good service. The prices are reasonable and there's really no place like it in the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magpagusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
La Casa del Tekolote
La Casa del Tekolote
#260 of 305 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
City Express Patio Universidad
#69 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Coyoacan
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#20 of 138 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#14 of 138 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#29 of 138 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Moctezuma
Casa Moctezuma
#30 of 203 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cuija Coyoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cuija Coyoacan

Property: Hostal Cuija Coyoacan
Address: Berlin #268 | Col. del Carmen Coyoacan between Guerrero and Aldama streets, Mexico City 04100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cuija Coyoacan 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Cuija Coyoacan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cuija Coyoacan Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing