We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hit & run place”
Review of El Califa

El Califa
Ranked #39 of 4,315 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Condesa
Mexico City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good hit & run place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Always had very good tacos here! Might be a bit difficult to park if you done want to leave your car with the valet parking but the food if well worth the trip! Highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MPHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    192
    69
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have been a regular customer for more than 16 years! The place keeps growing and getting better. Great service, excellent food quality and great atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gbrlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Try the fried cheese!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We tried this little place at the recommendation of our hotel and enjoyed it very much. Service was great and food was good. It's a simple place, but fast, reasonable and good. Whatever you do - be sure to try the fried cheese! Like an incredibly thin crepe. So good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtondcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over hyped. Its the safe choice for tacos.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I got pointed here by many different folks. We tried it and - it wasn't that spectacular. Yes, you have a variety of taco options, but compared to other, more simple places, the flavors aren't there. Yes, it is a restaurant, and yes, perhaps the hygiene is better. But I had much better tacos at Cueva de Leon in the same neighborhood and it was much cheaper.

However - I did like how you were served an avocado in simple quarter slices, so you can add it yourself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karnitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great tacos and not bad desserts”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

After eating here twice, we love the service, the tacos, and the surprisingly good postres. It struck me that this the place to go if you want street-taco goodness, with the quality of a restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Califa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing