We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of El Califa

El Califa
Ranked #40 of 4,441 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Condesa
Fountain Valley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent ambience, great local food, good service and a must visit when visiting Mexico City. Good price for the awesome food that is served.

Helpful?
Thank Marcio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    193
    70
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good and Inexpensive”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you like Mexican food Taqueria El Califa is the place to visit. Food comes fast to the table and it is a good sample of the creativity of the Mexican food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gasparSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Authentic Mexican food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our flight was delayed and we arrived into Mexico City after 11:30pm and were worried we wouldn't find anywhere to grab a bite to eat but El Califa was recommended to us. We tried various things on the menu and everything was delicious. We absolutely loved the fresh mango juice and the guacamole. We ate there another two times before we left Mexico. Its definately worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SOPA is great”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I ordered "Sopa de carne"(Beef soup) It was really nice for hangover. Then I ordered Nopale(Cactus). Hotel staff which I stayed suggested me there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yajiumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fast Mexican delivered with style and a buzz”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loved this, tacos and more to your table, almost as quickly as you order them, minimalist styling, mixed crowd, clean with tasty well presented food, very busy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwystand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Califa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing