We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious appertizer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Ranked #7 of 4,170 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Condesa
san diego
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“delicious appertizer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We went for lunch, I loved the meal but our appertizer was great. A tuna tatar!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonitadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    217
    54
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

The best restaurant in town. Their seafood is outstanding...
Try the tostadas de atun, they are insane. Not the cheapest, but very well priced.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank G7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great seafood, reservations a must always crowded,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuna Al Pastor? Ambrosia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is the best seafood restaurant in Mexico City. It's open for lunch only. Make it the main meal of your day. Have the roasted king fish, and start out with the grilled ahi tuna and tuna al pastor tostaditas. Yes, tuna al pastor. Fantastic!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melaquelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“more than lived up to my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I'd been wanting to try Contramar for the past 3 years on trips to Mexico City, but schedules never permitted. (It's only open til 6:30 p.m., so lunch or a very early dinner are the only real options.) Finally I had my chance and Contramar did not disappoint. The white wine selection was great, and the food divine. Four of us shared the sashimi and scallop ceviche, -- which would have been plenty for lunch. Special for the month of April was "dorado," not sure how it translates, but it was cooked and sauced to perfection. As its name suggests, it is a seafood restaurant, so don't bother with it, if you don't love fish. The ambiance is nice -- quite busy, not a romantic spot at all, but very attractive. I would go back in a minute; wish I could go there every week.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joan1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing