We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, great meat”

Cambalache Insurgentes
Reserve with OpenTable
Cambalache Insurgentes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 4,520 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great meat”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The atmosphere is very nice, the service on the high of the restaurant. We have chosen meat and it was really good and the price not excessive for the place. The wine card has a lot of good proposals for a good price for value. We certainly will go back to experience the great meat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    102
    26
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meal, fabulous service, memorable Irish Coffee!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We visited this restaurant on our recent holiday to Cancun. The meal and service are first class, Alfonso, our waiter, was extremely helpful, advising on the menu and very attentive. The steaks were done exactly to order and the sizes of the meals were very good. We ordered the Irish Coffees which were made by Alfonso, at our table, all in all we would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and would go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 112EMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambient and great kitchen!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is all about the perfect service and the right style.
The building is beautiful, and from the entrance you receive a worm welcome from the staff.

The restaurant is a mastermind to restaurant lovers.

The menu is a combination if Mexican food and Argentinian.
And if you a meat person, so you will feel in heaven.

I recommend to start with the wonderful empanadas ed a first course, and later on as a main course, don't thing twice and ask for the 400gr steak.
The cuts if the meat are well prepared and fresh.

The service, as I mention before is wonderful, and it's very professional and kind.

The prices are basically higher then the competitors, and for a good dinner for 2 with wine you will pay around 180$ USD.
As regular in Mexico, try to leave a good tip, more then 12%.

Enjoy .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sagivamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A nice place with good food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Argentinean restaurant was quite nice, with very large portions. My colleague had the Salad Cambalache and loved it, while I had the roasted chicken - excellent flavor. Not as inexpensive as other restaurants, but food and service were great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Prime Choice”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been to Cambalache several times over the past few years and it is always an excellent choice. It is quite simply "steak house perfect" in a country where there is no shortage of great steak houses. Every steak is cooked just as ordered and the service is excellent. In addition they have several very fresh fish selections. This time is was a great tuna steak and a grilled whole huachinango (red snapper). Wonderful. Cambalache has been doing business since 1986 and they now have six locations in Mexico City, Toluca and Cancun. I do suggest reservations since this location is popular with business folks and people attending conventions. Yes they have a menu in English. Wine has become popular in Mexico over the past ten or so years and they do have a very good wine list. It is limited in selections from the US but that is typical throughout Mexico. Excellent choices are available from Spain and South America. Buen Provecho!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoWineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambalache Insurgentes also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cambalache Insurgentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing