We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant for traditional Mexican food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Bajio

El Bajio
Ranked #33 of 4,170 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Polanco
Description: At El Bajío we try to make art and culture being noticed and enjoyed by eating the magnificence of traditional Mexican cuisine. We provide a space in which the most diverse dishes of the traditional Mexican cuisine coexist, starting with the delicacies of Carmen "Titita’s" homeland of Veracruz such as the anise gorditas, the filet of fish Veracruz-style and the papantecos tamales, as well as typical dishes of northern Mexico, including the pride of the house: carnitas Michoacán-style, as well as other delicacies from Yucatán, Puebla and Oaxaca, to mention a few others.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for traditional Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We ate their 3 times within our 6 day trip, it was so good. Great carnitas, mole, and amazing service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    210
    67
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The worst and most expensive food I have got during a weeklong trip to Mexico. Food was very bland, we ordered lamb barbacoa and duck leg in mole sauce and were served three minutes afterwards - apparently it was pre-cooked and reheated. The lamb did not taste like lamb and duck did not taste like duck - both meats had the same unrecognizable bland taste of a bad chain restaurant food. What a disappointment! Don't ever go there if you consider yourself a foodie.

Later on on this trip we had lamb barbacoa at a market stall in Tlacolula - what a difference! Four times taste at one quarter of the price.

Service was OK, although I did not like the manner in which our young waiter was aggressively soliciting tips.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wavemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Delicious food, the kind of place you can have many unforgettable meals at, each different. Also very comfortable for a solo woman traveller. Cosy, attentive without being overbearing. And amazing food from so many regions in Mexico. Very delicious, pleasing to the eyes and comfortable to be in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place is great. The last place I wanted to eat at while visiting Mexico for the first time was a chain, but after a very lengthy trip to Mexico City, I only had the strength to eat at El Bajio, located off the lobby of the Sheraton Santa Fe.

I am extremely happy that I made this decision. Despite being a small chain of restaurants in Mexico City, the food was quite good. There is nothing pretentious or elevated at this restaurant. El Bajio serves perfectly executed traditional Mexican cuisine.

The menu tells you what to order... their famous barbacoa, arrachera and carnitas. Even the dessert (not traditional Mexican) and coffee was quite good.

The atmosphere is nothing special. It is not well-decorated nor is it poorly decorated. Everything just fine.

As with the atmosphere, the service is nothing spectacular nor is there anything wrong with it. It's just not a high-end restaurant.

Go to El Bajio for no-risk, excellently executed traditional Mexican food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crheimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Mexican food, great for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our first and best dinner in Mexico City. We were staying in Zona Roas and were looking for a good restaurant nearby. We had a little trouble finding this place, the worked out it's actually in a massive shopping mall. That worried us a little but it looked ok so we decided to try it anyway.

We're so glad we did. As we'd just landed in Mexico we didn't know a lot about the local food - and hadn't had much practice speaking Spanish yet - but the waiter was patient and recommended some dishes for us. All of them were delicious.

He also suggested we drink our beer as cheladas - with fresh lemon juice, salt and ice. We were amazed by how good that was, especially with the darker Indio beer. Chelada became our drink of choice for the rest of our trip.

This place might be tough if you don't speak any spanish at all, but it's worth the effort if you're happy to struggle through with a basic vocab.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bajio also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Bajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing