We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Voice Singing the Accolades”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 147 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Voice Singing the Accolades”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

So I've hesitated writing a review for TRTH -- and thought about giving the place a one-star rating because, well, I'm selfish and don't want to make reservations a year in advance just to get back there. It's for real -- excellent customer service -- warm and inviting. Craig and his staff spend time and have genuine interest in all guests and share insights and recommendations to enhance your visit to Mexico City. They know how to run an inn with superb breakfasts and friendly chats with wine in the early evening. Because the main house was full, we stayed at La Rama del Arbol -- the smaller place across the street -- and discovered to our delight that it suited our personalities much better. We had two rooms on the top floor with large adjoining terraces. It was great to have private terraces for reading or drinks/snacks after a long day touring in Mexico City. While it's not as classy or beautifully decorated as the main house, we'd stay there again because it's quieter and more private. But like I said, we hope you don't stay at TRTH -- we'd rather have the place all to ourselves!

Room Tip: For a more quiet and private stay, ask about La Rama del Arbol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
511
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Red Tree House is wonderful. Our flights were delayed out of LA so we didn't end up arriving in Mexico City until after midnight. But Victor and the driver were there to pick us up (five hours later than originally arranged) and it was the best thing that had happened to us all day! They were so generous and hospitable. The hotel is lovely, and our room was gorgeous. They booked us a restaurant for lunch and we felt comfortable asking them about anything. We would recommend the Red Tree House to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Red Tree is the only place I stay in Mexico City. Immediately when I walk in I feel like I'm back home. The staff is wonderful, and extremely attentive. Breakfast is fantastic. They have happy hour every night where you can meet other guests. I love the decor. and to top it off, the location is super.

I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This property is in a very good neighborhood. There are lots of reasonably priced fine dining options. The hotel is excellent and quiet. I would go again. The breakfast and service were fantastic. Stayed there June 2012. The menu won't go back that far.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in the Red Tree and it stands out as being one of, if not the best, hotel/ bed and breakfast experiences if our life. Jorge and Craig are delightful, welcoming and helpful hosts and the staff, including Martin, Victor, Ernesto and all the others whose names we cannot remember could not have been sweeter or more accommodating. Breakfast was delicious with fruit, pastries and a hot Mexican dish which changed daily. They easily accommodated our vegetarian requests. One of the great pleasures was meeting some of the other guests at happy hour in the evening where wine, beer or coffee was plentifully supplied. Restaurant recommendations were spot on and the staff really went out of their way to make sure we knew about the best places to visit and how to get there.
Red Tree is in a lovely area of Condesa, near restaurants, cafés, shops and the metro and taxis are nearby too. The room was large and comfortable and there was Internet as well as a computer and printer for guests' use.
No wonder this place is always busy and will be our recommendation for anyone staying in Mexico City.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seashel1982
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My friend and I just got back from a four night stay at Red Tree House. What can I say? I miss it already. Red Tree really feels like a home away from home. Ernesto and the crew looked after us so well. The vibe there is so happy, friendly and warm. Not only is it in the perfect location in Condesa, but the room is lovely and cozy, there is great water pressure and hot water in the bathroom and breakfast is incredible too! Great coffee, amazing churros, fruit and a Mexican specialty is served daily. We also got offered wine in the afternoon for happy hour! I honestly can't wait to return. Everyone there made my stay in that incredible city so so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing can describe better this place than the word: home. They receive you with a smile and care about every detail during your stay.
The rooms have everything you may need and no less than a five star hotel. The breakfast has much variety and is delicious. Great value for money!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
711 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#46 of 305 in Mexico City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,353 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
630 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing