We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Thank you everyone at the red tree house for a great visit to Mexico city. The people, accomodation, food, wine, helpful suggestions and art made our stay interesting and fun. Hope to see you all again in December.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
505
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just back from a two night stay in Mexico City. The Red Tree House is a small B&B that is totally charming, with a wonderful staff, beautiful garden and colorful and contemporary design. I have stayed in Polanco in the past but this is a wonderful spot from which to explore the city and to be able to walk to great restaurants in the neighborhood.

They had a great breakfast each morning. As a solo traveler, my favorite part of my stay was talking to the other guests over breakfast or a drink in the garden patio. They were from Australian, US and Switzerland. Some on business but most just exploring the great sights of Mexico City.

Make sure to add it to your list of places to stay. But you have to book way in advance as it does fill up!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Balcon room with one queen bed as a solo traveler overlooking the garden. There are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at The Red Tree House, and it's immediately apparent why people are so loyal to it. The breakfast is great, the house is charming, and the hosts are outrageously generous and friendly. The staff, which consists of a few gentlemen and a small army of debonair young guys, will bend over backwards to help you with whatever you need. Are you going to the subway? Here's a metro ticket. Sitting in the backyard? Let me bring you a beer. They are really the best hosts I've ever met in a b&b, by miles. The rooms are basic and small, at least the Balcony room was, but it's very easy to spend your hotel time in the backyard or the living room. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

So much has been written regarding the charms of the Red Tree house and all posituve reviews cannot be disputed. It is truly the ideal place to stay in Mexico City. Everything was truly perfect about this B & B including accomodations, staff, location, and breakfasts. I would highly recommend Red Tree house to anyone and my husband and I hope to return to this lovely place once again. Georgiana and Ted Erie, Penna

Room Tip: The annex where we stayed is also quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiana747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We just got back from spending three nights at this B&B. We loved it! The B&B is located in a wonderful & safe community in the city. It is clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The hosts are so enjoyable and go out of their way to make you comfortable! We loved the happy hour they have every night as it is a chance to meet people from all over the world. The breakfast was different each day and delicious!! The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy! We plan on visiting Mexico City again and will absolutely come back to The Red Tree House!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My fourth stay at the Red Tree House and this time stayed in La Rama across the street. It was a very nice, quiet stay but you are of course welcome to have breakfast and enjoy the happy hour at the main building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Make your reservations as soon as you think you want to go to Mexico City. We were the envy of other tourists because we "got in". Be sure to spend time with the hosts and staff, they are exceptionally helpful and concerned about their visitors.. They will make you feel just like family.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#48 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#50 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing