We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, friendly”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 160 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Red Tree House is one of the best B&B's we have ever experienced. The personal service is absolutely phenomenal, the inn tasteful, the food outstanding, the rooms comfortable and first class. Wonderful experience...it will be our "go-to" place in Mexico City in the future....highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casaransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for The Red Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This 17 room B&B, centrally located in the Condesa District of beautiful Mexico City is perfectly managed by its owner/designers, Craig & Jorge. Their genial bi-lingual staff couldn't be more accommodating, the lavish breakfast buffet more colorful and tasty. The rooms are beautifully designed, the bathrooms elegant and efficient. Met savvy travelers from England, Australia, Canada and the USA at the daily Happy Hour and everyone raved about how lucky they felt for having 'discovered' The Red Tree House. Caution: it's well-earned popularity is becoming the stuff of legend, so book early as you can.

Room Tip: If you have problems with steps, ask for a room off the garden/patio.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRobertNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a lovely b&b in the beautiful Condesa district. Our room was colourful and clean, I loved the decor within The Red Tree House. Breakfast was delicious with a mixture of fruit, pastries and a home made hot Mexican specialty. The garden on the property is tranquil and perfect to relax in after a long day in Mexico City.

The generous hosts offer happy hour each night, usually pouring large glasses of Chilean wine for guests on the outside table, a great way to start conversation with the other lovely guests and make new friends.

A strength of the hotel are of course the staff who helped with bookings and provided endless travel suggestions. They became instant friends. Victor and Ernesto are both characters who really do make your stay.

Colonial Condesa is a very pretty area with an array of restaurants and bars which are all within close walking distance. I was very glad to have chosen this location rather than staying in Centro Historical. The area is much safer and has a far more relaxed and inviting.

I will be back. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just come back to earth from an amazing adventure to Mexico. We stayed at the Red TreeHouse with our two sons at both the start and end of our holiday. All was perfect. From the warm welcome, every time you walk through the door, the serene, lush courtyard, comfortable rooms, delicious mexican breakfast. This was all topped by fantastic personal service.Brilliant location, safe, beautiful, heaps of great food, coffee shops ans parks to wonder about. We totally love this place and unreservedly recommend this b&b. Thank you Viktor, Ricardo, Ernesto, Craig and all the team that make RTH a fantastic place to stay.....oh and Abril.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynchm0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a small guest house in an excellent Mexico City neighborhood called Condesa. Lush, tropical plants and trees line the nearby streets, there are numerous parks, squares with fountains -- just beautiful, and not at all what I expected to find in Mexico City.

We spent five nights in “The Branch,” which is a separate house just across the street from the main house. Our room was beautiful, and from our third floor terrace all we could see was trees, with a few buildings peeking between the branches. We were welcome to venture over to the main house each evening, but our terrace was such a relaxing spot to rest after a long day touring the city that we just couldn’t push ourselves to move, until about 10 or 11, which is dinnertime in Mexico City.

There are tons of restaurants in the area when you are ready for dinner, from French, to Argentinian, to high-end Mexican to whole-in-the-wall taquerias. The restaurants we tried were all excellent. There’s a subway stop about 6 blocks away if you feel like going further afield. The neighborhood felt perfectly safe, even when we walked back very late.

Every morning we wandered over to the main house, and were served breakfast, a different one each day. All were excellent.

But the best thing was the hosts. Ernesto, Victor, Martin, Rodrigo, Alex, all went above and beyond to help us out, to make us feel comfortable, to make sure we knew where we were going, to arrange massages at the local spa and dinners in the neighborhood. I had read the other reviews and was afraid that the hospitality would be a bit cloying, which has been the case at some other places I have stayed. But these guys really know how to be hospitable, yet discreet at the same time. This is a rare and wonderful combination.

I can’t recommend this place strongly enough – absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are up a couple flights of stairs. Mexico City is 7,000 feet up, so request a roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I kicked off a month in Mexico by staying here for 3 nights. It was terrific! I cannot praise the staff (and owners) enough. They were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They were knowledgeable about both the Condesa neighborhood and Mexico City. Our room was beautiful as well as very comfortable and the gorgeous patio was an inviting place to sit and read, or to socialize with the other guests during the complimentary cocktail hour. The breakfasts were amazing and so delicious! It was a wonderful kickoff for our trip. I highly recommend this special B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mllevitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This very attractive little B&B located in the "Condesa" neighborhood was an amazing discovery recommended by friends for a recent planned trip to Mexico City. The very charming, attentive and hospitable staff, the very sleek and modern decor accented with artistic lighting and fresh flowers boasting local color and history, the comfortable rooms with modern bath touches (with plenty of hot water and water pressure)went above and beyond any expectations. Every aspect of the "inn" was delightful including the gorgeous patio which borders the two levels of rooms and serves as a perfect gathering area with friends and guests while sipping complimentary drinks or enjoying the delicious house made breakfasts. If you're not sure where to "land" in Mexico City The Red Tree House is a beautiful destination in a quiet neighborhood with the most dedicated staff I've seen in a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,371 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#30 of 312 in Mexico City
335 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#57 of 312 in Mexico City
169 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: £70 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing