We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice staff & location”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 154 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Super nice staff & location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Four of us recently stayed in one of the apartments next door to the hotel as it was a similar price to getting 2 rooms. The apartment has a large fully equipped kitchen that we didn't use but may be useful for a longer stay. Huge couch & dining table. Bedrooms had block out curtains and it was very quiet in the building which equalled excellent sleeping conditions.

The staff are truly delightful and can't do enough to help you. They'll arm you with a map and lots of great recommendations while offering you complimentary beverages at communal happy hour. It's in a lovely part of town with plenty of eating and drinking options within walking distance.
You really won't believe you're actually in a mega city staying
here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacking40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
518
128
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this place, after arriving from a very long journey it felt so tranquil! Amazing courtyard for happy hour, lovely staff and beautiful breakfasts. In a lovely area, with lots of nice restaurants near by. Very clean and nice decor. I would come back for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After years of referring friends, family and colleagues to my old neighbors at the Red Tree House, I finally had an excuse to be a guest for four nights myself, since I moved out of Mexico City recently. Although I was familiar with the staff, service, amenities, etc. it was a real treat to experience everything first hand. Extremely comfortable rooms, not very spacious but you have a entire house to enjoy. I don't know of any other hotel or B&B any where that provides such a full service experience, not just breakfast, but complimentary happy hour, wifi, computer/printer, umbrellas, etc., never charging for any extras. Breakfasts are amazing, and great coffee! The best part is the genuine hospitality by the entire staff, Jorge, Craig, Ernesto, Victor, Alex, etc., everyone will go out of their way to ensure a perfect and comfortable stay. Interesting guests from around the world, as well as lots of locals that also stop by to hang out. Most guests are tourists here on vacation, but it's also a great place to stay for business while in Mexico City, due to the central location, but more importantly it's so much easier to disconnect from work at the end of the day, allowing yourself time to enjoy your visit and relax. Great neighborhood, great location, and very safe! The Red Tree House is a treasure. The only drawback is too many people are discovering this place, and advance reservations are usually required.

Room Tip: All rooms are personally and uniquely designed, small but very comfortable. The benefit is you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We travelled to Mexico City recently to attend a Conference which was to be hosted at a high rise hotel in a different part of the city near the UNAM (University). We arrived 4 days in advance to explore the city on our own, and by chance found The Red Tree House on the internet....The glowing reviews are well deserved, this B&B definitely made our stay extra special...We felt genuinely welcome: loved the spectacularly delicious Mexican breakfasts, the Happy Hour where we met very interesting people, and the whole feel and look of the place...Very tastefully decorated and located in a great area from which it is very easy to explore this very interesting city.
What a contrast it was to have to move to our "fancy" hotel...No comparison to The Red Tree House.. We will be back and many thanks to all our hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carhernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is fourth time I have stayed here, and always love it. Rooms are small but lovely, the house itself is fantastic, and the staff is unrivaled. So kind, helpful, and generous. The location is excellent, and while there is no gym, the Qi facility is nearby, and is great. Couldn't ask for better value, location, or comfort. Food in the morning is fantastic.

My only, and very minor, complaint: please, why not try offering whole grain bread in the morning?

Other than that, you are perfect! Don't ever change. I will always try this place first when staying in Mexico City. Reserve early, however, as this place always fills up fast.

Love you guys!

Room Tip: Each room is entirely distinct. All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This warm, inviting guesthouse will become like your second home when in Mexico City. From the gorgeous design and the inviting courtyard where you meet other interesting guests from around the world, this is a very special place set in the heart of the charming, vibrant Zona Condesa neighborhood. Having stayed here over the years, the Red Tree House has grown from just a few rooms to now encompassing a neighboring building, yet all done in the same professional design and style that one would expect from much more expensive lodgings.

Homemade morning breakfast was always something incredible and a great way to socialize with other travelers before a day of sightseeing or just spending a lazy day at one of the neighborhood cafes.

Best thing about this hotel are the owner's personal touches, their fantastic attentive staff and the fact that you really feel you are truly seeing Mexico City from an insider perspective, being right in the action of a lively neighborhood, not in some highrise hotel in the tourist zone. There are evenings of wine and making new friends as this place attracts a certain type of traveler; those who appreciate art, conversation and most importantly the cultural aspects of Mexico and it's incredible capitol city. I cannot image staying anywhere else while in D.F.

Room Tip: The original "tree house room" is a cozy yet unique space with its own terrace. If you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice surprise after a 14 hour flight. I liked everything about this place especially because of the warm and friendly people. Not only the staff but the clientele are all on the same note and this makes it one of the best stays I have had anywhere in recent memory. Perfect for business, exploration or even romance. This point of reference makes it a must for exploring this amazing inner city full of restaurants, galleries and parks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,326 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
766 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 309 in Mexico City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#57 of 309 in Mexico City
166 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 309 in Mexico City
2,649 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#39 of 309 in Mexico City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing