We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 172 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 4 nite stay at The Red Tree House and although it does not need any more accolades, I want to share our experience which validates all the other excellent reviews. The hotel is lovely, in a great , safe location with amenities you would find in a 5 star hotel but here you are paying 2 star prices! Jorge and Craig are wonderful hosts. It was our friends 40th anniversary and they insisted we use the dining room table for our party and took out silverware and their best dishes for the celebration not allowing use to use plastic forks and take out cartons...several guests joined in and it was great fun. They went the extra mile on everything...we asked about buying stamps for 2 postcards and they just mailed them for us at no charge. Their recommendations for drivers, guides and restaurants were right on and given freely...we never felt we were asking too much from them. I'm happy to say they are adding 8 more rooms so when we return we will be able to stay again at The Red Tree House.
Connie in Long Beach

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2009

Staying at the Red Tree House is like staying at the home of your favorite friends. Craig and Jorge are great hosts-charming, warm, generous and involved. They interact with all their guests effortlessly and are really interested in everyone. The decor is beautiful, breakfasts are great, but the overwhelming feeling one is left with is that you've been with goood friends! Their dog, Avril, adds to this warm, welcoming feeling. To her credit, all the guests vie over her and compete for her attention. She is just as loving as her owners. One of the three couples in our group had to stay at another B&B as the red tree house was full, but they were treated like guests and invited to join our wine get togethers with us and the other guests! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooklyngirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Red Tree House in the middle of February. It was fantastic; romantic, ultra-clean, comfortable, roomy, great breakfast, location, and tons of thoughtful amenities, and it shows. We loved the neighborhood, and were thrilled with Mexico City as a destination. It was our first time in Mexico City, although we are experienced travellers in other areas of Mexico. This trip, we were on our way home from time spent in Oaxaca and Michoacan. At the Red Tree house, they really care about the quality of your stay, and it really shows. The common areas are quite attractive and comfortable and the wireless internet is terrific as well (we used Skype with our laptop to make $.02/minute calls back home, the few times that it was necessary). Being greeted when you come home after a full day of sightseeing with a warm fire, lots of flowing red wine, and a caring staff, was really terrific. The hosts and the entire staff are there to help make your stay more enjoyable, with great recommendations, phone calls, and lots of attention. I am vegetarian, and was greeted with a great breakfast every morning, and I never had to remind them to leave out the meat....Again, by talking so much about the service, I don't mean to overshadow the quality of the rooms, bathrooms, location, etc. The other guests were also interesting, friendly, and our interactions with them added to our overall enjoyment. The Red Tree house is roomy enough to enjoy the space and tranquility that it offers, but also warm and friendly. This place is a gem, and we can't wait to return. feel free to email me with any questions - I am a picky New Yorker, well past my backpacking days in fleatrap hotels, with high standards, but I always favor small, local hotels, inns and b&b's over the bigger places. Last word of advice - this place is very hard to book a room in, because of its well deserved popularity, so if you can get a space, grab it. My bet is that you will greatly enjoy your stay....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigmetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We spent just one night here on our recent trip to Mexico City but it was an absolutely fantastic time. We teased Craig and Jorge that we would give them their first 4 star tripadvisor rating but by the end we just couldn't bear to do it. Even all these raves don't express just how generous & fun & friendly they are, and how comfortable their guest house is. They create a warm and welcoming atmosphere from the moment you arrive & even beyond - though we moved to another location they still welcomed us back for some relaxed chatting by the piano anytime we wanted! And the breakfasts were the BEST - fresh squeezed OJ, sensational pastries, on a lush back patio with flowers. highly, highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I just returned and loved it. Wonderful neighborhood and hosts. I'm pretty well traveled and can honestly say this is the most enjoyable place I've ever stayed. Fantastic location, hosts, guests. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoDori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The Red Tree House is an oasis in one of Mexico City's nicest neighborhoods. Currently under expansion, the facility bills itself as a B&B. True, it serves only breakfast but, within a few short blocks are several good places to dine. The "owners/managers are Jorge and Eric ... two of the most pleasant people you might find anywhere. They are both helpful and caring. The rooms vary in size/price range. My wife and I stayed in the Tree House and found it a bit "snug" for 2 but, perfectly adequate for our purposes. Some of the other spaces were huge. There is a resident "puppy" ... Abril ... who is a sweetheart. She seems to love sleeping with the guests staying the the Oaxaca room - we were envious of the folks who had the joy of Abril at night. We strongly suggest that you consider The Red Tree House if your travels take you to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VermontFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

For a couple who now feel too old to stay in hostels, but not wanting to stay in faceless multi-story hotels, TRH was perfect. It was very professional, but still very homely. The communal areas provided the opportunity to meet and chat to other travellers, which we really enjoyed.

We stayed in Selva which was one of the cheaper rooms but it still had a lovely view of the beautiful garden. The room itself was spacious, beautifully decorated and expertly cleaned every day.

There was a delicious breakfast (included in the price) waiting for us each morning, and the service we got from everyone was first rate.

We were also delighted with he location. Being in the heart of Condesa we were spoilt for choice with restaurants, but still close enough to all the major attractions.

If I go back to Mexico City again I would definately book in there once more.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evilestherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#46 of 312 in Mexico City
74 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#28 of 312 in Mexico City
366 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#5 of 172 in Mexico City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing