We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Excellent Stay”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 170 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This was our second stay at the Red Tree House (our first was in May). We brought two friends with us who had never been to DF. We stayed our first night at the W Hotel since the Red Tree House was booked up. Our friends agreed that the Red Tree House was a great place to stay. They loved the staff, the quiet location in Condesa and the homey feel of the place. Due to a combination of exhaustion and poor weather, we hung out more in the public spaces, meeting more people and interacting more with Jorge, Victor and Ernesto. We stayed in the Penthouse once again...still love it and wouldn't hesitate to stay here next time in DF.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

This was our first stop on our first trip to Mexico. It's hard to imagine that there could have been a better choice. We chose this place based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed at all.

Welcoming staff, comfortable living room, dining room and garden (shared spaces) and a very comfy room. We stayed in the Oaxaca Suite. The seating area is separated by a heavy curtain from the sleeping area. This made the room even more comfy because it allowed my partner to sleep in while I had my coffee. There is no coffeemaker in the room, but the staff who cook the excellent breakfasts were always up before me, and always had coffee ready when I was.

When we visit Mexico City again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayleePaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Great location. Great hotel. And an even greater staff. Honestly, I can't think of a single negative thing to say about The Red Tree House. We spent four nights in the Lafayette Suite and had a spectacular visit. The neighborhood is perfect, the Hotel and rooms are a delight, and in all my travels I've never met a friendlier and more helpful staff. A BIG THANK YOU to Ernesto, Tessy, Victor, Gaby, Alberto, Memo and the lovely breakfast and housekeeping staff. Oh, and of course, Abril, the beautiful four-legger who runs the place. I can't imagine finding a more delightful acomodation in D.F. Stay here and nowhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I were blown away by our 3 night stay at The Red Tree House. We could not have asked for more. The staff, particularly Jorge y Ernesto, are superb--meeting us at the door when we first arrived, constantly checking to see if we needed anything, and serving the most delicious breakfast each morning. Our bed felt like a cloud (immensely more comfortable than our own bed at home), and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The main house is a utopian paradise, complete with design furniture, vases of fresh flowers, and unlimited internet access. Each morning we awoke to fresh coffee, fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal and a warm entree (enchilada, quesadilla, etc). This was our first visit to Mexico City, and we will most definitely be back....and staying at The Red Tree House.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

how lovely can somewhere be? gorgeous friendly b&b in condesa. most comfy bed I slept in in Mexico, lovely hosts and relaxed, social vibe. good breakfast too. won't stay anywhere else when I return!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Came with my daughter over Easter vacation. Could not believe what
a charming place with all the comforts of home. The plus was Abril
their charming dog. Like a visitor,from w.Los Angeles, we took Abril for
a nice walk one evening. Went to the park and to the market. Often came
up to our room while we stayed.
We will come back when we can. Daughter is now busy at UCLA in first
year of internship.
Jorge and Abril stood at the curb as we left in our taxi for the airport.

Thank you Jorge and staff for your warm hospitality.
Will not forget you Abril!!!

Kristine and Michelle Shuff

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyvacation73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at The Red Tree House on our way back from Puerto Escondido. We picked The Red Tree House as an alternative to staying in El Centro due mostly to reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and it was a great decision.

We were greeted by a young woman who was very friendly, and we were shown our wonderful room. Our room was on the ground floor, and had a lot of privacy due to thick curtains and vegetation around the courtyard. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in while visiting Mexico. The sheets were of good quality. The bathroom made efficient use out of the small space with a decent shower, and quality toilet paper (more important than you'd think).

After resting for a few minutes, and cleaning up we ventured around the neighbourhood. What a wonderful location with lots of boutique shops, restaurants, and bars. We returned to the hotel once again where both Tessy and the young woman were working at the desk. On our way back out to a restaurant we were given umbrellas as it had started to rain, and given directions, plus an excellent recommendation to El Diaz restaurant. It's a chain, but not a large chain, that specializes in Argentinean food at affordable prices. Having an "inside" tip from a local really helps when in a new neighbourhood.

We returned, watched a bit of TV, and then had a wonderful sleep. Once we awoke and made our way to the dining room we had a delicious omelet, fresh fruit, bread, juice, and coffee. At checkout, the manager, Ernesto made sure our stay was excellent, and called us a driver to bring us to the airport at a very affordable rate.

All in all, I can't wait to go back to this hotel, and experience the guest services and explore the neighbourhood even further.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
214 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#49 of 312 in Mexico City
74 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#28 of 312 in Mexico City
366 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#5 of 170 in Mexico City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing