We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but limited choices”
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 468 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good but limited choices”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Gourmet dishes but quite limited menu. The flavored soda water was terrible. Decent service. Wasn't crowded. Excellent cocktails. Was a surreal location surrounded by 30 foot walls and a funky retracting roof.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience at Los Danzantes. In order to give a proper follow up to your commentaries we would ask of you to explain a little bit more about the flavored soda incident. Please feel free to write to rpoaxaca@losdanzantes.com We hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    343
    96
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off the Charts”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the kind of place you could only wish were in your home town. Not in NY, Chicago, LA, or SF would find this quality, creativity and out right execution at this price. And not just for Mexican food - this is for ANY cuisine. Go, explore the menu, eat the things that sound to weird to be true. Enjoy the mezcal via cocktails or neat. Los Danzantes is a must to any global best eats list...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments, we are truly amazed and thankful for all your insights about your visit to Los Danzantes. It fills us with pride to realize we gave you such a nice experience, and hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best dessert in town.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Food is consistently good, and the chocolate cascade is our absolute favorite dessert. The duck dishes are especially intriguing, as is the raw tuna. Service and ambiance are both excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmb9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosDanzantesOax, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments, it fill us with pride to realize you had such a nice experience at Los Danzantes. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oaxaca Gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

One of the most unique dining experiences ever! If being a foodie is what drew you into Oaxaca in the first place, then Los Danzantes is a must on your bucket list. Not only is the ambiance absolutely breathtaking and unique, but the cocktails and the food are also very divine. We ordered several items from the menu including a mixed green salad, breaded shrimp with coconut chutney which would have been the group favorite, the filet beef and the ribeye. If you have to choose between the meats- filet for sure. Everything tastes very unique, fresh, and full of flavors. Do NOT leave without sampling the dessert - the waterfall chocolate cake and the apple pie are to die for. Definitely a great pick and impeccable service as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NazA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosDanzantesOax, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments, it fills us with pride to realize you had such a great experience at Los Danzantes. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Oaxaca, so you can continue to enjoy our local food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice retreat”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went there for lunch. It is situated in a secluded internal patio, with modern decor. Food was fine but not memorable, so the place doesn't outstand in Oaxaca, where eating is always an exquisite experience, and food has tons of personality. Visited one night for a glass of wine and the place looks even better. Service was good, price fair and the menu has non-regional options, which can be very helpful in case you need a break from all the 'mole' you've been having.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t_southbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosDanzantesOax, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments, we are glad you enjoyed de ambience and appreciate our menu selection; in order to improve, we kindly ask for your further input in your comment, what dishes of our menu did you try? (to make sure to make them memorable! We truly aim for memorable each time) please feel free to write to rpoaxaca@losdanzantes.com and comment further. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing