We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Don Mario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Don Mario
Ranked #16 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty comfortable”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This guest house is in a great location, it's in a quiet and safe area, but easily walkable to the zocalo, great restaurants and bars. The staff are all super friendly and helpful, particular Thomas. He even helped me load my Telcel sim since I didn't speak a lot of spanish. The staff will help you book tours as well to all the major sites in the area. The rooms are simple, but what you would expect for the price. We had a room with a private bathroom on the rooftop and our only issues was that we had a slightly older bathroom and sometimes the water stopped working and our toilet broke a few times in the week due to a faulty handle/flusher. The room would get quite hot as well as we got a lot of sun during the day. The staff were super apologetic though and fixed it whenever it was an issue. Breakfasts were included for us and they were simple, but delicious, and included lots of bread, fruit, juice and as much coffee as you need.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rooftop can get a lot of sun and be quite warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
24
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had a room on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard with a shared bath. Although I requested a single room, I was given a room with 3 beds for the price of a single room. The room was plenty large, had a ceiling fan, and earplugs kept the late night noise out. The shared bathroom was large but it took a bit to get the hot water to reach it. There were no papertowels or handtowels available for use after just washing your hands though. The location was excellent with a market out the door to the left, and a great restaurant out the door to the right on the next corner. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and provided a good orietation to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place was recommended by friends in the non-profit world in Oaxaca. Excellent location: close to the zocalo but far enough away for it to be quieter. Norma and her staff are very friendly and helpful. She offers a personal, caring touch. Rooms are small and simple, as you would expect for the price. But they were fine for me and our group. The rooms with the balconies are especially nice. I think it would be hard to find a better deal in downtown Oaxaca for the quality and the price. And Norma makes it feel a bit like a host family experience, which is a real plus.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place has a lovely rooftop balcony and courtyard looking east over the city, and the blackboard welcoming guests by name and country is a nice touch (it certainly helped us to get talking to people at breakfast). A lot of thought has gone into the decor too.

On the downside, we found the rooms very warm even with the fan on full blast all night. The ceilings and doorways were very low and anyone over 5'10" will find their feet hanging over the end of the bed. The breakfasts were also smaller than anywhere else we stayed in Mexico and despite my partner making sure that the booking was for two people, the initial price quoted had been crossed out and increased by MX$100 when we both returned.

Perhaps the worst aspect was the fact that we could not secure the room - the window (room 8, on the top floor) could be opened from outside and it was very easy to lean in and open the door from the inside. We only stayed two nights, arriving late one afternoon and leaving very early in the morning, so perhaps check this with the helpful staff when you ask about a room.

Room Tip: Generally the rooms are quiet but if it rains, the noise on the corrugated aluminium roof on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed only one night, as my boyfriend (1,90m) was not able to stand upright in the room. Even I kept hitting my head in the bathroom. Plus, you couldn´t really close the window. The bed was very small and squeaky, and it was hard to even turn in the room. The location seemed fine though and the court sure is lovely. Breakfast wasn´t served as it was a Sunday

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiundPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed at Posada Don Mario as a fallback option, but ended up loving the place and staff. The posada has a small courtyard as its main public space and where the complementary breakfast is served. There are wonderful balconies on the second and third floors. The WiFi worked only on the first and second floors, but the view of the old part of the city from the third floor balcony was amazing. See photo. The rooms were well kept and very clean. Also, the staff were very helpful and arranged a guided trip to Monte Alban and a cooking class in the afternoon. The main downside is that the posada was a little far from the Zocalo, but it was just a 20 minute walk. The best part is that the Mercado Sanchez Pasculas was right around the corner where I are breakfast and grabbed tamals for snacking later in the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Very cute, lots of character, nice courtyard area, pretty views from the terrace.
Unfortunately, despite emailing back and forth with the owner about questions, when I arrived they didn’t seem to have enough information. They couldn’t find my reservation at first (a panicked moment for me during high season) and then said they couldn’t do laundry (despite the fact that I had emailed with them about it earlier in the week). They sent me to a place that was closed on Sundays, and with the help of the locals, I found another place where I could do it myself.

My boyfriend and I told them we were leaving early and asked where should we leave the key. They told us the room. When we got up early, we discovered NONE of the water was on. So much for a morning shower. The toilets were gross when not flushed). Also, when leaving, they neglected to mention we’d need our key to unlock the gate to leave.

The beginning and the end were not happy elements. I would not stay here again due to those frustrations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheriefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#91 of 113 in Oaxaca
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#36 of 113 in Oaxaca
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Mario

Property: Posada Don Mario
Address: Calle Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Mario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Mario, an ideal place to stay, is the house where the famous Oaxaca painter Rufino Tamayo was born in. The service at the Posada as well as its availability and price make it your best option for somewhere to stay. Situated in Carmen Alto, it is the only completely colonial area of the Historical Center of the City of Oaxaca.From the rooftop of the Posada Don Mario you can enjoy a wonderful view of the places mentioned above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Don Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing