We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches”
Review of Posada Margarita

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Margarita
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed 21 August 2008

This hotel was recommended in the Lonely Planet as clean but simple. It was not clean, the bathroom had a family of cockroaches. The walls are paper thin so we also had the pleasure of listening to the people next door throw up all night, I actually felt sorry for them having to spend so much time in the bathroom. We paid $30 for a king bed with private bathroom and we felt this was not good value for money. On a positive note the location is central just be mindful that you will probably be awoken early in the morning by church bells.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Taylor_Flashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donbalazo, manager at Posada Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2009

We are very, very sorry this traveler had a negative experience in our posada.

But we hope tripadvisor readers take this review "with a grain of salt." Our walls, for example, are not "paper thin:" they are solid 10 inch thick solid brick. The entire building is brick and adobe (as is typical in historical Oaxaca).

So whereas we question the judgment of someone who can not distinguish between a paper wall and a solid brick wall, we do take our criticisms seriously. If the bathroom was not cleaned and scrubbed properly before this visitor's arrival, or if he did indeed see cockroaches (yuc!), we suggest this was an aberration.

The Posada Margarita has been serving happy travelers for over 60 years. Even if 99% of our guests leave happy, we promise to redouble our efforts to continue to improve our service and your experience at La Posada Margarita. Buen viaje!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leemontgomeryyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ofe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenconfuerza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank JUAN ROBERTO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank torirto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Federico_Cino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Bonita Hotel Boutique and Spa
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#4 of 109 in Oaxaca
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margarita

Address: Calle Labastida 115, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing