We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet elegance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Pilares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Pilares Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice, and on both occasions I have been impressed with its understated grandeur. The staff are absolutely wonderful; they accommodated not only a late night arrival, but also a return when a hurricane changed my beach vacation to a weekend in the city. It was never a problem getting the car in and out of the hotel's private parking lot, and the little bottle of mezcal on the bed (worm and all) was a nice touch, too. My only negative comment is that the hot tub doesn't heat up a whole lot, as the water from the pool can flow freely in. But the service provided by those who work there and the surroundings of the place more than make up for a tepid soak. The rooms are a good size, with elegant furnishings and an overarching style that hints at royal, gives a nod to colonial, and makes one feel simultaneously comfortable and lucky to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G-Thing44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Los Pilares during the Day of the Dead festivities in November, 2013. The hotel was the perfect choice: great location; lovely room with 5 star amenities; charming public areas, especially the rooftop restaurant; and a great staff. I am especially grateful to Gus (who speaks flawless English) and to Roque who went out of their way to make my stay a memorable one. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and kind. I look forward to going to Oaxaca soon and will absolutely stay at Los Pilares again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jelcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and teenage daughter stayed at Los Pilares for a week over Christmas vacation and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is laid out such that all rooms surround an enclosed garden area with flowering plants and trees.
The furnishings in the bedrooms and open areas are high end and very comfortable and the rooftop restaurant is a little oasis serving a delicious moderately priced breakfast in a beautiful and relaxing environment.
I really cannot say enough good things about the staff who all went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Gustavo our waiter was very generous with his time in providing tips on Oaxaca as well as some history of the city - in perfect English if necessary.
The hotel is located about 5-10 minute walk from the bus station (ADO) where you can either take tours or grab a taxi/collectivo to surrounding tourist attractions. A 15 minute walk (or 20 peso taxi ride) will take you to Santo Domingo where there are great restaurants, shops and the church. A 25 peso taxi ride (less than 3 dollars) will get you to the zocalo.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you are planning a trip to Oaxaca and looking for a nice centrally located hotel Los Pilares is just the ticket. It ‘s a small well-maintained Spanish colonial style hotel with all the amenities. All rooms face an open courtyard but are well protected from the tropical afternoon rains if you visit as I did during August. The staff was excellent and a high point of my trip. They were kind and ever helpful whether I was booking a tour or just trying to find my way to Santo Domingo Square. The hotel is located and within walking distance of great restaurants and most of the major attractions. You will find a swimming small pool, hot tub, a full service bar and a café with great food. I would recommend it and stay there again myself!

Room Tip: It's within walking distance to the Instituto Cultural Oaxaca(a fine institution) where I was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara Earl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is situated in very well maintained colonial-style building. Situated not in the center but in walking distance to all main attractions. Roof top dinning area and small swimming pool. Room was clean and comfortable. English is in most cases chalenge for local people to communicate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking is a plus. We enjoied staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakhar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I would think twice about staying here. The people are quite rude (passive aggressive) and the pictures are very different from reality. There are better places in Oaxaca - don't settle for this one. Be careful of what they say and what they charge. If you have to stay, use cash so you know exactly what you are paying.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasonb3351560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel is cute, quite and nicely decorated. The bathroom is very clean, cosy and well equiped. And this is it! I spent there only one night but I was charged for two! Why? Because of early checking in. We wouldn't check in earlier if we were informed about extra costs so finally we felt cheated. Just after checking out we wanted to leave our luggages and go to the city centre but we were informed that it's not possible unless we pay for the next night! Finally they accepted to keep our backpacks for free..!. Moreover, the hotel is relatively far from centre so next time we will certainly find another place to stay.
P.S. The staff speaks very bad English and food could be better (especially for the price you pay).
Bad impression remains...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#6 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Pilares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Pilares Hotel

Property: Los Pilares Hotel
Address: Curtidurias 721-A | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Pilares Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Los Pilares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing