We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and good food”
Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #89 of 484 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: US$14 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and good food”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We enjoyed a table on the rooftop one evening and it was quite a charming location. Food delivery is a little slow because it has to come up from the first floor, but that was actually nice as sometimes around Oaxaca when they are not too busy everything comes right away. The staff was attentive, and we had a change of pace from Mexican food and ordered pastas. They were good but this isn't Italy and the sauces were not quite rich or flavorable enough for our taste.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good pizza but expensive”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We had dinner at Mezzaluna and decided to sit on the upstairs terrace. The view was great but every time they bought the food it was only warm. This was fine for the lentil salad but didnt work for the calamari or the pizza. The pizza was ok but it needs to be served straight from the oven. In addition to this the meal was one of the most expensive we have had in Mexico.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SO good!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Every time I visit Oaxaca this is one of my first stops (then 2 or 3 times afterwards). The pizza is killer and the BEST Bolognese (done the proper Northern Italian style) to be found in the southern hemisphere.
Also try the garlic spaghetti with whole roasted cloves of garlic ... it kinda sucks that I have to go all the way to Oaxaca for real Italian food done right as it is done in Italy! Definitely NOT American Italian.
BRAVO !!!!

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jake-106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and great wine selection.”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Mezzaluna makes a fantastic thin crust pizza. I particularly enjoyed the Della Casa.
At the centre of the restaurant is a stunning wood fire oven in which the pizza is cooked. Also, the restaurant offers an awesome rooftop patio with heatlamps for the evening. It offers lovely and rare views of the city. Staff are professional and the service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smithmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good pizza and wine selection”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The ambiance of this conveniently located restaurant is very pleasant and the aroma of garlic and wood fire permeates the location.

I chose the bicolor pizza (half margarita / half with gorgonzola). The crust and sauce were great. I was a bit disappointed with the small amount of cheese; however, that makes it a bit healthier and authentic. I would definetely return and try a different pizza.

For being a touristy restaurant, I found the prices to be very fair. $95 MXN for a small (about 10 inches) pizza.

The free appetizer is phenomenal... A spicy bruchetta with tasty bread and a small plate of sauteed Mexican squash and carrots (this is something I would order if it were offered!)

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank slaes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezzaluna also viewed

 

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing