We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish all hotels were this friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wish all hotels were this friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in I knew this was gonna be a great week.the Staff is super friendly and the rooms all very clean. Grounds are kept up very nice. The location is in the middle of a noisy city but you would never know it after you walk into this oasis in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos todos los días para estar al nivel de nuestros clientes y es un gran orgullo haber cumplido las expectativas de su estancia.

Esperamos que su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de volver a ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    138
    67
    30
    13
See reviews for
106
188
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

It’s like traveling back in time. The hotel is well kept up and has an air of permanence to it. Breakfasts were enjoyable and excellent. Our dinner was quite good but the restaurant was rather empty. The pool area is quite small but was adequate for the number of people using the area. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable and great to interact with. We had free internet for one device during our stay at the hotel. The speed was good enough and we can’t complain about that. The one piece of advice I have is to get a room at the end of a hallway and to see if you can get a room with a window view to one of the interior courtyards. The hallways are tile and the sound can be loud. If the door and your window in your room both face towards hallways, you have a higher chance of having noise issues during your stay. Housekeeping was quite good. The front desk people were knowledgeable and very helpful. I’d recommend staying here. (Don’t come here expecting world class service and amenities, but do come here for the warmth and charm of a 400 year old building that is now a hotel with a caring staff.) In the morning, they have live musicians walking around during breakfast after 9:00 am.

Room Tip: Take an interior room to avoid street noises. Within the interior rooms, try a room at the end of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos todos los días para estar a la altura de las necesidad de nuestros clientes y gracias a sus comentarios que nos permiten mejorar nuestras áreas de oportunidad.

Nuestra misión es hacer de cada estancia una experiencia única en el servicio.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de ser nuevamente sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston, il
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I adored this hotel, in a former convent in central Oaxaca. The building itself is absolutely beautiful, in an old time elegant, quiet way. There are no elevators, interestingly, so one absolutely needs help with luggage! The steep stone staircase off the lobby going up to the second floor are a bit challenging and I needed to be careful using them. There are some other spiral staircases in other locations that are a bit easier to use.
Carlos, the concierge who was working when I checked in, was delightful. I felt so taken care of from the moment I walked in. I arrived around 2pm on a Sunday and my room wasn't quite ready. He gave me a code to use for free wifi and showed me to the bar where I proceeded to have my first margarita of the trip, while looking at the pool and relaxing. Shortly thereafter, he came to find me to show me to my room. I had asked for a room facing the courtyard, which were supposed to be quieter. My room was unbelievably quiet! It was a bit dark, facing an interior courtyard with a covered hallway, but the high ceilings and lovely furniture made it quite comfortable. The bathroom floor tile had some cracks and chips and occasionally a tiny piece of tile would poke my foot in the morning, which needs fixing, but the storage space in the small bathroom was adequate with the creative use of shelving.
The pool, though not particularly large, was a welcome spot at the end of a day of touring around the area, and the bar there was lovely. The restaurant would serve small eats if one wanted, and a couple afternoons I had snacks by the pool that were delightful...try the tuna toast, it's terrific!
Breakfast was very good, though occasionally even though there were hardly any guests eating when I was there around 8am, and there were a number of staff people, I felt a bit ignored re needing coffee refills. One time there was a guy who seemed like perhaps he was a businessman there, and the staff seemed quite attentive to him. For a second I wondered if it was a male/female thing, as I was there on my own, I'm not sure.
But overall, this hotel was amazing. I felt so relaxed there, the front desk staff, concierge, bar staff and afternoon restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful. If I return to Oaxaca, there is no question where I would stay again. I understand that there are some wonderful B & Bs in Oaxaca currently that have become quite popular, but for a woman staying alone, I loved having the bar and restaurant and room service options that a hotel offers.
I toured the area with a private guide for three days, and it was always a pleasure to return to my beautiful hotel...the courtyard was gorgeous, full of bougainvillea and other flowering plants and trees, and it was a very soothing, relaxing place.
BTW, not infrequently when I have traveled internationally, I'm unsatisfied with the air conditioning in hotels in warm climates. I needed to call a technician when I first arrived because my room was too warm, but once we got it set correctly, the a.c. worked fine and I was very comfortable despite some pretty warm days (high 80s, 90 degrees).

Room Tip: I liked having an indoor facing room...some of them are a bit dark, so if you like bright sunny room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Nancy,
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos dia a dia para cumplir con las expectativas de nuestros cliente.

Hemos tomado nota de todos sus comentarios y hemos tomado acciones inmediatas al respecto con la finalidad de evitar que siga sucediendo.

Nos complace mucho saber que nos sigue considerando sus anfitriones. Le invitamos a que visite nuestra pagina www.quintareal.com y conozca nuestras promociones para clientes repetitivos.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Quinta Real is like going through a nice, mysterious, surprising novel, with a wonderful cuisine, great service (specially by the maids and bellboys) and old stylish fashion rooms, I slept like a baby!

Room Tip: Despite I was in a first level room with view to the street, thanks to the noise-less windows and bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlaguguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, dia a dia trabajamos por hacer de cada estancia.... una experiencia única y nos da mucho orgullo saber que logramos el objetivo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca contemos con su preferencia y nos permita ser nuevamente sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and I was a bit hesitant as other travelers mentioned noise issues but we were not effected although our room faced the busy plaza street side. The pool is lovely , a nice respite on a hot Oaxaca afternoon and it does get hot! The breakfast area is heavenly, almost feels like one has stepped back into another century. Great location , the room could have been a bit larger but all in all, a more than satisfactory experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phytowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca y estamos muy orgullosos de haber logrado del objetivo de su estancia.

Aprovecho para compartir con ustedes que dia a dia trabajamos en los estándares de servicio para estar a la altura de las necesidades de nuestros clientes.

El hotel tiene 480 años de historia aproximadamente y seguimos manteniendo esa historia y al mismo tiempo la prioridad de hacer una estancia experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones en este espectacular hotel .... Quinta Real Oaxaca.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quita Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was an absolutely stunning hotel. Excellent service and assistance from the staff. We stayed in a large room with a large bathroom - overlooking the fantastic pool area. The rate was a little higher than we would normally spend, but was well worth the "treat". Bar service by the pool was fantastic, security everywhere, tours booked from the front desk, free & strong wifi available.

The grounds and history of the building is amazing and worth hearing about.

The location is perfect - a few blocks from the Zocolo and close to other bars and restaurants in side streets.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, y nos da mucho placer saber que logramos el objetivo de su estancia y convertir su viaje en una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here. Reasonable room constrained by size of old cells presumably. Clearly a historic building as evidenced by the tour groups wondering around the ground floor.
Restaurant good and willing to accommodate our early departure with a good breakfast on our last day.
Room a little stuffy as aircon not the best and windows are sealed shut. Pool area very picturesque and quiet.
Located just one block away from the pedestrian street and within easy walk of the main square, cathedral and museum.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, le comentamos que dia a dia trabajamos para estar a la altura de nuestros clientes y hacer que cada estancia sea memorable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos considere sus anfitriones nuevamente.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#8 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing