We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning but lacking the magic it's worthy of...”
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning but lacking the magic it's worthy of...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've always wanted to stay at this hotel and two weeks ago my husband I had the chance to. I was so excited and was anticipating a magical experience in this stunning hotel that is so full of history but I feel like I was shut down the moment we arrived. The reception staff was arrogant, the guy who helped me completely ignored the fact that I was trying to make conversation regarding the hotel and literally cut me off in mid sentence to shoo me off to my room. He never bothered to even make eye contact and once he rang his bell the bell boy (who appeared to be 65 or older) literally came running up to carry my bags up to the room. His name was Felipe and throughout our 4 day stay he was the only staff member who actually smiled and held a conversation with us. Felipe was sincere, friendly and offered many travel tips and directions as we were driving around the city and its outskirts. The room we had was simple but very clean and the grounds were beautiful indeed; I loved walking around early in the morning to see the whole property and to take pictures. All in all if management would wise up and train their reception staff to be friendly and accommodating then this property would feel special, special enough to make guests long to return to it. Instead, it was so aggravating to see young men sitting behind a computer all day, doing nothing but clicking a mouse and then ringing their little bell so that the bell boys could come running to actually work! Thanks to that cold first impression brought upon by the young man at reception and the way the entire reception staff made us feel so invisible, I'd think twice about returning. Oaxaca is a magical city, full of deliciousness and creativity...it's a true shame that Quinta Real Oaxaca's welcoming staff lacks that comforting warmth and friendliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoyitoZava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos dia a dia para ofrecerle a nuestros huéspedes un servicio inigualable y hacer de cada estancia una experiencia inolvidable, aprovecho para comentarle que hemos tomado acciones inmediatas sobre sus comentarios para evitar que esto siga sucediendo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    143
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
115
196
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, perfect location, tons of history, it was a monastery, jail, military base and now a premium hotel.. You are walking distance from everything, and breakfast has nice live music.
Remember to go to the Jardin Ethnobotanico it's super close to the hotel!

Room Tip: Our room face outside, and street noise was present.. Ask for a room that faces the inside, near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJD-MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, trabajamos dia a dia para estar al nivel del servicio y confort de la marca Quinta Real y nos enorgullece mucho haber logrado el objetivo de hacer su estancia una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is with great sadness that I write this review as I used to be a big fan of QUINTA REAL (a friend of mine used to own it.) The QUINTA REAL OAXACA is situated in a magical place, as most Quinta Reals are. However, the management and the staff of this hotel were less than magical… actually mediocre and rude. From check-in I was disappointed at their attitude (they seemed almost happy that they couldn't find my reservation). They asked me to leave my bags and return at 15:00 because the reservations personnel do not work on Sundays and they would have to "go up to the computer and retrieve my Expedia reservation." Moreover, 15:00 is the official check-in time and they were sure they would not have any clean rooms for me or my party (I booked 4 rooms with Quinta Real Oaxaca through Expedia.) For some reason they also made sure to tell me that their rooms had levels (outside and inside rooms,) predisposing me to wonder what kind of deal I was going to get.

Anyway, we came back after 15:00 and got our rooms. As soon as we got into our rooms we detected heavy hammering coming from within the hotel. My wife went to the lobby to complain at 17:30; and the lobby staff assured her the personnel that were dismantling tents from a previous night's wedding were about to finish in 30-40 minutes. At 19:00 - an hour and a half later - they were still banging away outside our rooms. My wife went out of the room and got into an argument with the workers (kind of funny) and I was forced to call the lobby. They assured me the noise would stop immediately. At 19:30 the banging continued and I lost it with the poor guy that answered the phone (Efer, Efren, Eber or something like that) - the same person that had assured me that the hammering would stop a few minutes ago. They finally changed us to another room completely across the hotel and we were satisfied; though it would have been nice if they would have done something from the start, before I yelled at their staff.

Then we went to have dinner at the hotel. The waiters were inattentive upon our arrival: acted as if we hadn't arrived. Then we disappointed them by telling them we want a table for seven. It was 20:00 and they had already set up the tables for next day's breakfast - though the kitchen closes at 22:30 - so they had to undo ours (had to change it back to dinnerware.) The waiter was borderline rude (bad attitude.) When my sister-in-law tried to cancel a plate she had ordered, the waitered seemed very happy to tell her that the plate had already been prepared and literally ran to the kitchen to fetch it to prove her so. The whole night was a bit combative with the waiter but we had a good time non-the-less.

When we finished our dinner we proceeded to visit the "old kitchen", which was normally open for everyone to see. We saw that the door was closed and thus asked a waiter if we could still visit. The response was no, "it's closed." Fortunately, a waiter with a good attitude heard our plea and volunteered to open the "old kitchen" for us and turn on the lights (very nice gesture.)

It is a shame that this magical place in Mexico is staffed with mostly mediocre, sour personnel. If they still have to offer a service, why not do it in a nice, friendly manner? I would stay at the QUINTA REAL OAXACA again but would probably try to dine out and avoid the hotel's staff. The place is truly a gem for all to see (an old convent situated in the heart of town.) If I've deterred you to stay there due to my commentary, I still recommend that you go in to see it while in Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Though the hotel is a gem, don't expect the rooms to be so. The bathtubs are very dated and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Taitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca y lamentamos mucho los inconvenientes causados durante la misma, hemos tomado acciones inmediatas a sus comentarios y le garantizo que esto no volverá a suceder. En Quinta Real Oaxaca nuestra prioridad es el servicio y descanso de nuestros huéspedes y sobre todo hacer de cada estancia una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita en Oaxaca nos de la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones y resarcir la imagen generada de su estancia pasada.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is ideally located and to the Oaxaca city center, restaurants, the art galleries and shopping. We had a room on the first floor facing the garden. The room was the perfect size and very clean. The hotel has a number of beautiful gardens with fountains and an overall peaceful setting. Each morning, we woke up to the sound of the birds and ended the evenings with drinks at the beautiful hotel bar. Oaxaca is a beautiful city, but the hotel, and the staff made our stay extra special. We will definitely revisit Oaxaca and we will definitely stay at Quinta Real again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, para nosotros es muy importante que cada estancia sea una experiencia única y nos da mucha alegría saber que logramos el objetivo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de ser nuevamente sus anfitriones.

Con gran Placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in I knew this was gonna be a great week.the Staff is super friendly and the rooms all very clean. Grounds are kept up very nice. The location is in the middle of a noisy city but you would never know it after you walk into this oasis in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos todos los días para estar al nivel de nuestros clientes y es un gran orgullo haber cumplido las expectativas de su estancia.

Esperamos que su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de volver a ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It’s like traveling back in time. The hotel is well kept up and has an air of permanence to it. Breakfasts were enjoyable and excellent. Our dinner was quite good but the restaurant was rather empty. The pool area is quite small but was adequate for the number of people using the area. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable and great to interact with. We had free internet for one device during our stay at the hotel. The speed was good enough and we can’t complain about that. The one piece of advice I have is to get a room at the end of a hallway and to see if you can get a room with a window view to one of the interior courtyards. The hallways are tile and the sound can be loud. If the door and your window in your room both face towards hallways, you have a higher chance of having noise issues during your stay. Housekeeping was quite good. The front desk people were knowledgeable and very helpful. I’d recommend staying here. (Don’t come here expecting world class service and amenities, but do come here for the warmth and charm of a 400 year old building that is now a hotel with a caring staff.) In the morning, they have live musicians walking around during breakfast after 9:00 am.

Room Tip: Take an interior room to avoid street noises. Within the interior rooms, try a room at the end of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos todos los días para estar a la altura de las necesidad de nuestros clientes y gracias a sus comentarios que nos permiten mejorar nuestras áreas de oportunidad.

Nuestra misión es hacer de cada estancia una experiencia única en el servicio.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de ser nuevamente sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston, il
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I adored this hotel, in a former convent in central Oaxaca. The building itself is absolutely beautiful, in an old time elegant, quiet way. There are no elevators, interestingly, so one absolutely needs help with luggage! The steep stone staircase off the lobby going up to the second floor are a bit challenging and I needed to be careful using them. There are some other spiral staircases in other locations that are a bit easier to use.
Carlos, the concierge who was working when I checked in, was delightful. I felt so taken care of from the moment I walked in. I arrived around 2pm on a Sunday and my room wasn't quite ready. He gave me a code to use for free wifi and showed me to the bar where I proceeded to have my first margarita of the trip, while looking at the pool and relaxing. Shortly thereafter, he came to find me to show me to my room. I had asked for a room facing the courtyard, which were supposed to be quieter. My room was unbelievably quiet! It was a bit dark, facing an interior courtyard with a covered hallway, but the high ceilings and lovely furniture made it quite comfortable. The bathroom floor tile had some cracks and chips and occasionally a tiny piece of tile would poke my foot in the morning, which needs fixing, but the storage space in the small bathroom was adequate with the creative use of shelving.
The pool, though not particularly large, was a welcome spot at the end of a day of touring around the area, and the bar there was lovely. The restaurant would serve small eats if one wanted, and a couple afternoons I had snacks by the pool that were delightful...try the tuna toast, it's terrific!
Breakfast was very good, though occasionally even though there were hardly any guests eating when I was there around 8am, and there were a number of staff people, I felt a bit ignored re needing coffee refills. One time there was a guy who seemed like perhaps he was a businessman there, and the staff seemed quite attentive to him. For a second I wondered if it was a male/female thing, as I was there on my own, I'm not sure.
But overall, this hotel was amazing. I felt so relaxed there, the front desk staff, concierge, bar staff and afternoon restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful. If I return to Oaxaca, there is no question where I would stay again. I understand that there are some wonderful B & Bs in Oaxaca currently that have become quite popular, but for a woman staying alone, I loved having the bar and restaurant and room service options that a hotel offers.
I toured the area with a private guide for three days, and it was always a pleasure to return to my beautiful hotel...the courtyard was gorgeous, full of bougainvillea and other flowering plants and trees, and it was a very soothing, relaxing place.
BTW, not infrequently when I have traveled internationally, I'm unsatisfied with the air conditioning in hotels in warm climates. I needed to call a technician when I first arrived because my room was too warm, but once we got it set correctly, the a.c. worked fine and I was very comfortable despite some pretty warm days (high 80s, 90 degrees).

Room Tip: I liked having an indoor facing room...some of them are a bit dark, so if you like bright sunny room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Nancy,
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos dia a dia para cumplir con las expectativas de nuestros cliente.

Hemos tomado nota de todos sus comentarios y hemos tomado acciones inmediatas al respecto con la finalidad de evitar que siga sucediendo.

Nos complace mucho saber que nos sigue considerando sus anfitriones. Le invitamos a que visite nuestra pagina www.quintareal.com y conozca nuestras promociones para clientes repetitivos.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing