We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit overrated”
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bit overrated”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pros are it's location, nicer than average bedding, pool and air conditioning. The reception and staff are a bit impersonal. One of the English speaking bellboys who we tipped well became outright lazy and uninterested in fetching one of our bags he forgot from our car because it was already parked around the block. We were initially given a smallish room with a tiny window opening out to almost nothing. On asking we were given a much larger and nicer room with a large window looking out on the pool. Which looks nice and blue from upstairs but our kids were disappointed that the water was not very clean. We stayed for 4 days. Only on the day we left we noticed some teens braving the dirt floating around in an otherwise nice pool. The A/C was surprisingly pretty good. Room was really quiet, no noises at all. But the shower, which we had to run for a bit on the 1st day to let the muddy water become clear enough for use, and the sink in the bathroom, did not drain well despite completely removing the stops as a last resort. The coffee maker almost blew out the circuits but it was quickly replaced with a working unit. The hotel restaurant is fancy and pricey for quite average food. Thankfully we weren't around much in the hotel, but exploring the town. The facility is quite huge for a boutique hotel of this sort. Converted from a convent, it is also quite nicely maintained. However, in spite of a $200+ USD per night price, they still try to nickel and dime you with Wi-Fi charges and the coffee pouches for the in-room coffee maker the 2nd day onwards, and such. Also, they only offer expensive valet parking, paid for separately. There were quite a few other hotels we'd seen on Tripadvisor and Expedia, right around this one for much less. We've stayed in many nice boutique hotels in the historic centers of several Mexican towns, that offered free parking, wi-fi, and some even included breakfast. So this one in comparison does not provide enough for what they charge. So why did we book this one? Because this is the only one with A/C and a pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, trabajamos dia a dia en para lograr que cada una de las estancias de nuestros clientes sea una experiencia inolvidable.

Hemos tomado acciones al respecto de sus comentarios en todas las áreas para evitar que esto siga sucediendo a nuestros clientes.

Esperamos que su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    143
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
114
196
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Quinta Real is perfect in every way. Located in a fairly quiet section of the historic area, it's a short walk to all sorts of great sites, eats and adventure. The rooms are wonderful and the bed is the most comfortable in which I've slept in years. Hotel staff is very accommodating, the grounds are impeccable and the entire property is beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a room off the main street if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados en su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, trabajamos dia a dia para estar al nivel de las expectativas de nuestros clientes y estamos muy orgullosos de haber cumplido con nuestro objetivo, el haber hecho de su estancia una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel in a lovely area of Oaxaca. Beautiful airy rooms, with all you need. Very comfy bed. Great court yards with amazing swimming pool, very tranquil. Nice friendly staff, would come back and stay again. Ask for a room over looking the pool.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca nuestro objetivo principal es hacer de cada estancia de nuestros huéspedes una experiencia inolvidable y nos da mucho gusto haber logrado el objetivo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've always wanted to stay at this hotel and two weeks ago my husband I had the chance to. I was so excited and was anticipating a magical experience in this stunning hotel that is so full of history but I feel like I was shut down the moment we arrived. The reception staff was arrogant, the guy who helped me completely ignored the fact that I was trying to make conversation regarding the hotel and literally cut me off in mid sentence to shoo me off to my room. He never bothered to even make eye contact and once he rang his bell the bell boy (who appeared to be 65 or older) literally came running up to carry my bags up to the room. His name was Felipe and throughout our 4 day stay he was the only staff member who actually smiled and held a conversation with us. Felipe was sincere, friendly and offered many travel tips and directions as we were driving around the city and its outskirts. The room we had was simple but very clean and the grounds were beautiful indeed; I loved walking around early in the morning to see the whole property and to take pictures. All in all if management would wise up and train their reception staff to be friendly and accommodating then this property would feel special, special enough to make guests long to return to it. Instead, it was so aggravating to see young men sitting behind a computer all day, doing nothing but clicking a mouse and then ringing their little bell so that the bell boys could come running to actually work! Thanks to that cold first impression brought upon by the young man at reception and the way the entire reception staff made us feel so invisible, I'd think twice about returning. Oaxaca is a magical city, full of deliciousness and creativity...it's a true shame that Quinta Real Oaxaca's welcoming staff lacks that comforting warmth and friendliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoyitoZava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia, en Quinta Real Oaxaca trabajamos dia a dia para ofrecerle a nuestros huéspedes un servicio inigualable y hacer de cada estancia una experiencia inolvidable, aprovecho para comentarle que hemos tomado acciones inmediatas sobre sus comentarios para evitar que esto siga sucediendo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita por Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, perfect location, tons of history, it was a monastery, jail, military base and now a premium hotel.. You are walking distance from everything, and breakfast has nice live music.
Remember to go to the Jardin Ethnobotanico it's super close to the hotel!

Room Tip: Our room face outside, and street noise was present.. Ask for a room that faces the inside, near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJD-MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, trabajamos dia a dia para estar al nivel del servicio y confort de la marca Quinta Real y nos enorgullece mucho haber logrado el objetivo de hacer su estancia una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde nuevamente la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is with great sadness that I write this review as I used to be a big fan of QUINTA REAL (a friend of mine used to own it.) The QUINTA REAL OAXACA is situated in a magical place, as most Quinta Reals are. However, the management and the staff of this hotel were less than magical… actually mediocre and rude. From check-in I was disappointed at their attitude (they seemed almost happy that they couldn't find my reservation). They asked me to leave my bags and return at 15:00 because the reservations personnel do not work on Sundays and they would have to "go up to the computer and retrieve my Expedia reservation." Moreover, 15:00 is the official check-in time and they were sure they would not have any clean rooms for me or my party (I booked 4 rooms with Quinta Real Oaxaca through Expedia.) For some reason they also made sure to tell me that their rooms had levels (outside and inside rooms,) predisposing me to wonder what kind of deal I was going to get.

Anyway, we came back after 15:00 and got our rooms. As soon as we got into our rooms we detected heavy hammering coming from within the hotel. My wife went to the lobby to complain at 17:30; and the lobby staff assured her the personnel that were dismantling tents from a previous night's wedding were about to finish in 30-40 minutes. At 19:00 - an hour and a half later - they were still banging away outside our rooms. My wife went out of the room and got into an argument with the workers (kind of funny) and I was forced to call the lobby. They assured me the noise would stop immediately. At 19:30 the banging continued and I lost it with the poor guy that answered the phone (Efer, Efren, Eber or something like that) - the same person that had assured me that the hammering would stop a few minutes ago. They finally changed us to another room completely across the hotel and we were satisfied; though it would have been nice if they would have done something from the start, before I yelled at their staff.

Then we went to have dinner at the hotel. The waiters were inattentive upon our arrival: acted as if we hadn't arrived. Then we disappointed them by telling them we want a table for seven. It was 20:00 and they had already set up the tables for next day's breakfast - though the kitchen closes at 22:30 - so they had to undo ours (had to change it back to dinnerware.) The waiter was borderline rude (bad attitude.) When my sister-in-law tried to cancel a plate she had ordered, the waitered seemed very happy to tell her that the plate had already been prepared and literally ran to the kitchen to fetch it to prove her so. The whole night was a bit combative with the waiter but we had a good time non-the-less.

When we finished our dinner we proceeded to visit the "old kitchen", which was normally open for everyone to see. We saw that the door was closed and thus asked a waiter if we could still visit. The response was no, "it's closed." Fortunately, a waiter with a good attitude heard our plea and volunteered to open the "old kitchen" for us and turn on the lights (very nice gesture.)

It is a shame that this magical place in Mexico is staffed with mostly mediocre, sour personnel. If they still have to offer a service, why not do it in a nice, friendly manner? I would stay at the QUINTA REAL OAXACA again but would probably try to dine out and avoid the hotel's staff. The place is truly a gem for all to see (an old convent situated in the heart of town.) If I've deterred you to stay there due to my commentary, I still recommend that you go in to see it while in Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Though the hotel is a gem, don't expect the rooms to be so. The bathtubs are very dated and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Taitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca y lamentamos mucho los inconvenientes causados durante la misma, hemos tomado acciones inmediatas a sus comentarios y le garantizo que esto no volverá a suceder. En Quinta Real Oaxaca nuestra prioridad es el servicio y descanso de nuestros huéspedes y sobre todo hacer de cada estancia una experiencia inolvidable.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita en Oaxaca nos de la oportunidad de ser sus anfitriones y resarcir la imagen generada de su estancia pasada.

Con gran placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is ideally located and to the Oaxaca city center, restaurants, the art galleries and shopping. We had a room on the first floor facing the garden. The room was the perfect size and very clean. The hotel has a number of beautiful gardens with fountains and an overall peaceful setting. Each morning, we woke up to the sound of the birds and ended the evenings with drinks at the beautiful hotel bar. Oaxaca is a beautiful city, but the hotel, and the staff made our stay extra special. We will definitely revisit Oaxaca and we will definitely stay at Quinta Real again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QROaxacaI, Director General at Quinta Real Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos muchos sus comentarios derivados de su estancia en Quinta Real Oaxaca, para nosotros es muy importante que cada estancia sea una experiencia única y nos da mucha alegría saber que logramos el objetivo.

Esperamos que en su próxima visita a Oaxaca nos brinde la oportunidad de ser nuevamente sus anfitriones.

Con gran Placer.

Irma Diaz
Director General
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing