We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in Oaxaca. Thought this would be another hotel in the hokiday inn chain. But NO. Amazing. Breakfast was rich and very substantial every morning.

Irving the bell boy is someone you want to talk to. Hes very savy of the places to see and visit. Carlos the manager can give you more insight on restaurants.

Pool are is quite good and hotel is walking distance from city center. Would return in no time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    119
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
102
126
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our whole family, Mom, Dad, 2 adult children, and mother in law stayed here for a week and found this hotel to be great in every way. Beds were very comfortable and we had excellent service. It's close to everything and was a great place to stay for our Day of the Dead week. The cost was perfect. The pool was small and not very deep but just fine for the one day my husband spent there.......the water was heated and it had three chaise lounges. There is no restaurant but the breakfast service was excellent and it is close to many really good places to eat.

Room Tip: Our room (145) was like an apartment......it had a kitchen (not equiped) and a living room, two tvs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WABillieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent place to stay in Oaxaca, located just a block away from the city center where all the action is in Oaxaca. Good choice of restaurants and landmarks in the area. The hotel is really nice, staff is very friendly, breakfast is above other holiday inn hotels. The rooms are very spacious and great to sleep (no noises, dark enough and good beds). The only thing I regret is that they don´t carry feather down pillows, so I had to sleep without pillow. If you don´t like tick pillows better bring your own. Would love if the TV had more variety of channels...Would stay again without a question.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVILLASAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We (husband and young child) have used this hotel on a number of occasions and, despite issues in the past trying to book direct (see previous review), I would still thoroughly recommend it for safety, cleanliness and comfort.

There is a tourism desk in the reception area just outside the breakfast room, which we found very helpful. We were able to book a Chevrolet Suburban (9 seater) for the day for a very good price to go and visit relatives out of town.

Unfortunately there is no room service and no lunch or dinner in the hotel, but you can have pizza delivered or you can go to the very nice Italian restaurant next door, order what you like and they will bring it up to your room with plates, cutlery, the lot! There were not many other options we could find at the time for those days when you just didn't feel like going out to dinner, but perhaps this is something the hotel can look into a little further for its guests. The only option they suggest is pizza - we found out about the Italian simply because we went and asked.

How could it be improved?

* Reception staff were a little indifferent. Not unfriendly I hasten to add - they are pleasant when greeted, but if they just went the extra mile to be warm and friendly, or perhaps checked to see if a guest is a regular or not and give them a "Welcome back!" when they arrive, it would make the whole experience less clinical.

*We have also noticed that reception staff have fairly basic knowledge of where to get things in Oaxaca itself. We asked where to buy soya milk - they didn't know (and didn't try to find out for us). Incidentally, we found it in a nearby pharmacy. We asked where we could buy Spanish language children's books and they told us one bookshop (now closed) which is the most expensive one in town - about 30-40% more than the one everyone else typically uses - Proveedora Escolar (corner of Independencia and Reforma.)

What a difference it would make to guest experience if they just took the time to make a little directory of questons and answers as they come up and take an interest in helping guests solve their problems.

* Heating the pool would make it so much more inviting and the hotel itself much more attractive. We have never mustered up the courage to really swim in it as it is always just that bit too cold.

* More options for breakfast rather than day after day, year after year the same tired old scrambled egg, scrambled egg with chorizo, chilaquiles, bacon, black bean (paste) and 3 types of fruit (melon, watermelon and papaya - often not quite ripe and a little tasteless) along with a few cereals and very disappointing coffee (considering the amazing coffee that you can get in Oaxaca.) It would be so nice if they had a kitchen for you to be able to order an omelette, but the food is brought in every day. I do think that with a little imagination and variation, the breakfast buffet could be vastly improved. Saying this, it is absolutely fine for a couple of days - it's from day 3 that you really start to get sick of it!

Overal: While I think there are few things the hotel could do to go the extra mile and make this a really excellent destination, I would still definitely recommend this hotel over many other options in Oaxaca. Yes, it is a business hotel, so you don't get the character and Mexican feel of other properties, but you do get comfortable beds, clean rooms with facilities that work, tap water you don't have to worry about, aircon and a good wireless internet connection.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year as a fill in between other stays. It is very clean, very well located, and has a good, American style, buffet breakfast with a Mexican twist to the food included. Did not use the pool but it was very clean. Did not visit the exercise room. I am very familiar with the neighborhood in which it is located so knew that safety would not be an issue. Conzatti Park is just 1/2 block away; very typical Oaxqueño with people of all ages just sitting to chat, studying, rehearsing a play, etc. One of the best food carts in the world is on the southeast corner with delicious tortas = sandwiches fresh made while you wait for about $2.50US or a little more if more meats, etc. included. Several very good local restaurants in the area. The huge Parque Llano is just three blocks away with a tianguis most Fridays. The Sto. Domingo church is about 10-15 minute walk; the Zócalo about 20/25 minutes -- very safe walks in the daytime; I would take a taxi at night. Several churches in the area as well a many Spanish language schools. Enjoy Oaxaca!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WyomingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is located at some few blocks from every direction, where all the action is happening. One of our worries about going to Oaxaca, Mexico has to do with security in the area. I was intrigued that I couldn't read anything about it. Well I have to say that we felt totally saved around downtown and going to the different activities that the area has to offer. I was told that toward the South Downtown, after (Zocalo) you may faced some petty crimes, but I personally walked all over without seeing or experiencing any incidents. I found the people very informative and kind. We love all the little stores where you can get things done in a personal way, cheaper that you can imagine. There are good restaurants, lots of museums, markets and bakeries. We were in haven discovering the treasures that the area has to offer. The people at the hotel were very helpful in guiding us in our requests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel, by myself on a trip to Oaxaca. This hotel is immaculately clean and the staff is beyond friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is expansive and a typical Mexican full breakfast that was extremely delicious.

The pool is pristine and beautiful, and the zocalo across the street is clean and safe to walk around at night even for a single lady.

I would return again and again to this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel offers currency exchange and accepts US Dollars or Pesos for Payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rae46219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#4 of 109 in Oaxaca
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca

Property: Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Address: Calle Diaz Quintas 115, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#3 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca is conveniently located in the Historical Center of the city just a short walk from promenade which leads to the town square (zócalo). The beauty of this award winning hotel is complemented with an art gallery of original oil paintings from the most renowned Oaxacan artists. All our rooms and suites feature remote-controlled air conditioning, hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, telephone with two lines and data port. Express Breakfast (American Breakfast Buffet), business center, heated outdoor swimming pool, indoor parking on premise and special events hall with capacity for up to 170 persons are additional facilities and services offered by the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca represents a style of service and hospitality that is traditional to the State of Oaxaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing