We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location .”
Review of Hotel Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aitana
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

What a pleasant surprise was our stay at Aitana , this is the first hotel in Oaxaca that I will be happy to go back to . Normally they are a combination of overpriced , noisy , average service , cold and poorly decorated rooms and mediocre breakfasts .
The Aitana ticks the boxes for me , especially good is a good location only 4 blocks from the centre , quiet , pleasant service . I will certainly go back .
A good honest three star hotel.

Room Tip: Always in Oaxaca avoid street front , this hotel has all the rooms to the back so you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is just approx. 4 blocks from the Zocola situated on a quiet street. All the rooms open to the court yard so the street noise is minimized. We stayed in rm 208, it has a king size bed and is a good size room with a bath and shower combination. The water never got hot, we needed to let it run for awhile to just get it warm. The temp. in Oaxaca when we were there was around 35 so we didn't mind the show so much. The bed is hard like all beds in Mexico but included breakfast made up for it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, day staff spoke broken english but the other staff spoke no english. No air conditioning but the ceiling fan worked great to keep the temp. in the room nice.

Room Tip: we were in 208- king bed, it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Recently stayed here for one week and would definitely go again. Mario, as someone posted, is very helpful. When I got sick, the entire staff was attentive to my needs. They even arranged for a local store, The Magic Hand, to come up to the hotel and ship my luggage home for a very reasonable price. There are huge fans now installed in the rooms; they are as strong as an airplane propeller, and the rooms at the back are very quiet. Lovely atmosphere. I, too, missed the flight from Mexico City due to delays, a very common thing, and I wasn't charged for that first night.

Room Tip: stay at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scattinisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We'll never be able to give an opinion on the quality of the Aitana. Planning to attend a conference in Oaxaca, we made a reservation for two single rooms for two nights. Unfortunately our conference date was changed and we had to cancel the first night. The second night was to remain as originally scheduled - two single rooms. (This change was made three days in advance)
At three pm on the day of our arrival, a phone call was made to our home asking if we still planned to stay at the hotel. My wife answered yes, and that we were already at the airport about to board the plane to Oaxaca.
The hotel clerk then advised her that there was only single room available and insisted that she has made an error when the reservation was made. Although the original response from the hotel was "so sorry, it's your problem", at my wife's insistence the hotel found us rooms in another very nice hotel. We appreciate their efforts but fell that someone more important must have come along who needed our rooms. We are quite disappointed with the Aitana's irresponsibility.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamBipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAITANA, Gerente at Hotel Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Mr. Gardea;

First of all I want to apologize for the mistake we had to cancel your reservation for one of you´re rooms, Actually your wife called me the day September 3rd at one in the afternoon to tell me that she wanted to cancel one night of your stay personally I take the phone call and she told me "I have a reservation that my husband's name because it is only one night in Oaxaca" she never mentioned that there were two rooms thta she wanted to cancel one night of the two rooms,if she have told me I would noticed that was a reservation of two rooms.
But then when you came into the hotel Aitana the front desk person told you after he apologizes for this incovenent he sent to another hotel www.casadelasfloreshotel.com even though this hotel has a higher rate I talked to the manager of this hotel to charge you the same rate we had agreed with Aitana hotel.

Again I really an apology for this inconvenience but it is not right the way qualify us as we both had the blame in this matter and you did not stay at the hotel Aitana.

Also for hotel Aitana all guest are important and never cancel one reservation to allows other inn.

Sincerly

Mario Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is about six blocks from the zocalo. Ask for a room in the back because the rooms in the front are very noisy from the vehicles on the street. They have delicious breakfasts! All the hotel staff are friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in May & really enjoyed my stay. The only negative would be that the room was very hot & leaving the window open meant that people walking by could see in.
The location is great, can walk everywhere. The staff were really helpful & friendly. The breakfast was good & varied & the wi-fi a bonus.
Would stay here again if I went to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We could not have been happier in the hotel we chose for our stay in Oaxaca. My partner and I were traveling in Mexico toward the end of December 2011 and wanted to see for the first time Oaxaca. We loved the city and the surrounding area, and the people at Hotel Aitana were largely responsible for our happy stay. The hotel is well located in relationship to the historic parts of the city. For example, the hotel is within easy walking distance to the Zocalo, museums, and the numerous churches. The restaurants in the city are superb, giving us a good familiarity with the various mole sauces so well known in the area. Hotel Aitana is located on a busy street, but the design of the hotel in inwardly directed, providing very peaceful and quiet accommodations inside. The rooms are large and the bathroom is modern. The complimentary breakfasts served each morning were very large and always varied. The servers are very attentive and a joy to greet each morning. We did not know until it was too late that they actually serve dinners at the hotel, but we were able to buy wine by the bottle from the restaurant for our afternoon sipping. The weather when we were there was perfect every day, which made the Hotel's open air dining room a real pleasure during the day. The roof top garden is a perfect place to have a glass of wine (or two) and enjoy the great views over the city. We were very grateful to the hotel staff for guiding us in setting up tours of the area. I would recommend Hotel Aitana very highly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which was very good. I think all of their rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#23 of 109 in Oaxaca
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aitana

Address: Calle Manuel Sabino Crespo 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aitana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitana Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing