We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marques del Valle
Ranked #64 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel is located on the zocalo, and could not be more convenient. We had rooms which looked out onto the zocalo and consequently were a bit noisy until around 8.30 each night, as there was always some entertainment going on, dancing, singing, band, pageants and so on. We stayed for 5 nights, and really wished we could have stayed longer. Earplugs do help, if you are worried about noise, but honestly most of our party did not bother.
The rooms were well kept by the friendly staff, we had a lot of assistance from all the staff, for one reason or another, including the housekeeping staff (heroic in the face of severe Montezuma's ), restaurant staff (very nice breakfasts) and reception.
The hotel has free wifi, which came in handy to google treatments for the afore-mentioned Montezumas.
The rooms are quite large with aircon, updated bathrooms, and the usual amenities. The hotel provides filtered water dispensors in the corridor. There are pleasant internal courtyards with seating and tables.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We lucked up on this gem of a grand old hotel. Having never been to Oaxaca City we knew nothing of the actual layout of things and were eager to find an affordable place with a good location. This hotel it is. All the amenities of a first rate hotel in the center of the city. The staff are exceptional in their attention to your every need. We arrived by early morning bus and were dead tired after traveling over the mountains all night. The hotel had our room ready at 6:30 am - something unheard of in a European hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is exceptional. The locale is right in the heart of everything and within walking distance to the major museums and local attractions. As in any tropical summer location it rained in the evenings. The hotel staff afforded us umbrellas against the rain which we promptly returned upon arriving back from a night out. On the day of our departure my travel companion called down for an iron. Not only did a bellman bring an iron but an ironing board as well. We found nothing wanting in this hotel. If you book a room not yet renovated you will save considerably. We could not see any difference in room quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RIO4RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralitos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Just returned from a few days in Oaxaca. Stayed at the Marques Del Valle. this is the third time in the past two years I've stayed at this hotel. It's a local hotel that is literally in the Zocolo.

Notice I did not say next to the Zocolo. The hotel entrace is from the square, this means that what ever is happening in the square (theres alway something) is going to be a part of your expierence here. One day last week it ws local politicians screaming at the top of ther lungs into a sound system which should have been retired a decade ago. Not fun. But later there was a talent show and a big band.Very Nice. This is likely the difference in the various reviews of the facility.

The staff is good and helpful and the restaurant is really very good. Depending on whats going on around the hotel and your desire to be literally in the center of whatever it is this can be a good economical local hotel. It is not quiet.

The sqaure (Zicolo is interesting) Young people doing what they do, sidewalk cafes / restaurants, music and vendors everywhere.

Oaxaca has great shopping, Outstanding ruins, Excellent dinning, Fine museums and friendly inhabitants. There are a number of good hotel with in walking distance Casa Real, Casa Antingua and others.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Marques del Valle ... we love it since it overlooks the zocalo. Since we started staying here almost 10 years ago, the rooms have been revamped and are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms have been greatly improved... nice lighting, stone/tile showers, hair dryers, etc. Our room was spotless during our entire stay (5 nights). The restaurant has been upgraded as well ... excellent meals and drinks, great view of the zocalo, and professional service. We will stay there the next time we return to lovely Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ringopisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I booked this hotel by walking in and talking to the woman at the desk. I wanted a room for 2 nights starting the next day. They had two rooms available, I was quoted a price and shown the rooms. The rate quoted was LOWER than the posted rate because the rooms were vacant. When I checked out, the hotel charged the posted rate and would not honor the rate that had been quoted 2 days earlier. I should have gotten it in writing. Still, I feel cheated.

Nevertheless, the location of the hotel is unbeatable as it is right on the Zocalo and close to everything. The rooms are clean and adequate although not luxurious. I was quite pleased with my stay until I checked out.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — they did not honor the quoted price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank veggiefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

The hotel is lovely and right on the zocalo, which makes for a great location, but perhaps not the most quiet one (if you have rooms facing the zocalo). The breakfast is quite pricey (about $15 per person) but absolutely delicious (especially the local dishes!). Clean, tastefully decorated, and air conditioned room. Only complaint: the location and the structure of the doors which does not keep out the sound well, so the hotel was somewhat noisy (said by a very light sleeper). I do not recommend the tours offered by the travel agency below -- they are extremely touristy and somewhat tacky.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CH-made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2004

top marks from almost everybody who rated this hotel ? too shocking.
the location is great right on the zocalo. it could be a problem at times because of the noise but that doesn't bother me. otherwise the hotel is very average and nothing to rave about. we paid over $100 a night only because all other hotels were already fully booked. stayed 2 nights and moved to a different afterwards. this definitely is not a top hotel in oaxaca as the previous reviews might suggest.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Osito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantera Real
Hotel Cantera Real
#67 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#18 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques del Valle

Property: Hotel Marques del Valle
Address: Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marques del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marques del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques Del Valle Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing