We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casona Del Llano
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a very good location”
Reviewed 18 January 2010

If you don't mind being several blocks from the heart of Oaxaca — the Zocalo — this hotel is ideal. We had a large room with comfortable beds, just off a nice courtyard in which we were greeted on arrival by the voices of dozens of birds. Free parking, a good restaurant and directly across from El Llano park make this hotel an excellent choice. And the room rate was just over $53 US. The lobby and restaurant are in an older part of the building than the rooms, and the design and decor is very attractive.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
9
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2009

A friend and I came to Oaxaca to visit my daughter,who is in Mexico for a entended time period,we had heard good things about La Casona from a friend who has stayed there for 20 yrs when he visits Oaxaca ,so we took his advice and were not disappointed,our stay could not have been better,we loved the people and the town !

  • Liked — The location and the ambience
  • Disliked — The beds were a little hard for my old bones! But not too bad!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacathGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2008

A very nice hotel within a historical house. Very nicely kept and clean the staf is courteus and is across form a nice park frquented by locals. It is within walking distance to the zocalo.

  • Liked — The location and loks of the old house
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pod_Kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I was put up at the Hotel Casona Del Llano during a one month stay with a study group of US professors. The rate card said 880 pesos, but I think they were charging about half that for extended stays. This hotel just got wireless internet, so bring your laptop.

The food is first-rate and reasonable. A plate of chiiquilles, a new dish for me, tortillas with green sauce and chicken is under 60 pesos or $6 US. The Sopa Azteca is also very good. It is a treat to drink coffee and watch the day start in the park across the street from the vantage point of the hotel's patio. People from Oaxaca fill the restaurant on weekend afternoons, it is not high-end cuisine, but the locals like it.

From the front the Casona Del Llano looks like a mansion, inside the courtyard lack some of the ambiance of other colonial style hotels in Oaxaca, but the bedrooms are larger than average. Towels are super and the service from houseskeepers, the front desk and the waitstaff is outstanding.

There is a guard at the gate all night, and this neighborhood seems a lot quieter than the zocolo. I recommend it, call ahead and see if they will give you a good rate.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2002

I have been to Oaxaca 10 times and love the city. My favorite place to stay is La Casona del Llano. There is an excellent restaurant, a beautiful courtyard and garden in the middle of the rooms, and a courteous staff.

One day I saw them clean my room. You would have a hard time finding a place here in the US cleaned as thoroughly as they do! It is a simple hotel, but beautiful at the same time.

It is across from Juarez park, a few blocks from the Zocalo. It is a little quieter than being near the square

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2002

I have been staying at this small (28 room) hotel for 10 years .. it is a 15 minute walk from the central zocolo, located on busy park Benito Juarez. It is a large old house (mansion) with more rooms in back in building built more recently. It has guarded parking, a small garden with lots of birds waking up and goping to sleep every night. The staff is exceptional, the hotel quiet, and clean to a fault. The lack CNN in english is reason I don't give this hotel a big 3 stars ..

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#32 of 109 in Oaxaca
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Conzatti
Hotel Casa Conzatti
#38 of 109 in Oaxaca
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Casa de Adobe
La Casa de Adobe
#44 of 109 in Oaxaca
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#98 of 109 in Oaxaca
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#56 of 109 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona Del Llano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona Del Llano

Property: La Casona Del Llano
Address: Avenida Juarez 701, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casona Del Llano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your La Casona Del Llano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Del Llano Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing