We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and charming”
Review of Hotel Anua Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Anua Oaxaca
Ranked #103 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights. Friendly staff and nice room with air conditioning. It was very reasonably priced and good location. They're using courtyard as parking, but I hardly see other guests come and go. Very quiet. Will come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2006

We went to Oaxaca with a large group during the Guelaguetza Festival--and in the heart of the protests. While we had reservations elsewhere, we cancelled several days at our other hotel to finish out the stay at Hotel Antonio. Yes, the doors do not close as well as we would have liked (they do lock). Yes, the hotel is a bit loud and we occaisionally heard our neighbors' conversations. And yes, they speak nothing but Spanish in the main lobby. But for this price, you will not find a friendlier, cleaner, better located hotel anywhere in Oaxaca.

The layout of the hotel is perfect for sitting on the roof watching the festivities below. The staff is very friendly and arranged some great tours for us.

If you are not too high maintainence, this is definately the hotel for you. I would not stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rhode Island
16
Reviewed 19 March 2006

Four of us split a room that cost about $60/night. The place was attractive and kept up well. There is a second floor terrace surrounding the lobby area that affords great views of the city and surrounding mountains, including the one topped by Monte Alban. It is almost across the street from the zocalo. Many tours are easily booked through the front desk. The staff were exceptionally helpful, even providing many services at no cost after we checked out on the last day.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
GTA
218
Reviewed 27 February 2006

Very nice if no-frills hotel located an avocado's throw from the main cathedral (zocalo) - literally. Nice, brightly painted walls, helpfull staff.

Some rooms are nicer than others, so have a look first. The rooms around the upper first courtyard are brighter and bigger, but tend to be hotter due to sun exposure. The rooms around the second, smaller upper courtyard are very nice, bit darker, still spacious, and cooler due to less light. The ground floor rooms are smallest and darkest. All rooms suffer from some noise (but not the street traffic as no rooms in this hotel face the streets) All rooms face the courtyards and the sounds of oter guest slamming doors can wake you up. Admittedly this depends on the type of guests staying at the hotel, some are more considerate than others.

The upper common patio is a nice place to sit in the evening sipping beer.

Charges were: 400 pesos for a double bed (smallish and darkish rooms), and 500 pesos for nice big rooms with 2 double beds.

The hotel restaurant served dinner at 30 pesos a person which is a good value. On the other hand you can have a dinner at the zocalo for 50 pesos.

Color tv includes some 50 channels, many of which are movie channels playing flicks in their oringinal lingos, mostly english but also french and german - this may come in handy should you suffer from moctezuma's revenge and need to stay inside.

Some complaints:
During our week-long stay we had problems with hot water. Had to call the desk to have them switch something in the water heater to activate hot water for us each time we wanted to shower. Must say they were very nice and accommodating about it. After 2 days of this game they changed water heaters alltogether, but in the process messed the plumbing so we had no water at all, but again, some pump priming on request allowed us to shower. Finally, the last two days of out stay we had no problems with water, hopefull you will encounter none either.

Rooms are clean but you may want to ask the staff to use less smelly chemicals, or vent the room after cleaning as the smell is undearable and takes a long time to vent.

One last thing: Although supposdely open 24 hours we had a bit of a setback. To get back to the airport one has to book a collectivo (van than collect travellers from hotels) that was to pick us up at 6 am at the lobby. Unfortunatelly the gate was shut and alarmed. A kid was sleeping on the couch and would not hear anything about our waiting in the lobby, so we were forced to stand outside the hotel gates in complete darkness.

All things consider, I would recommed this hotel for its excellent location (you can pop in easily any time) and nice bright decor. Price is okay for oaxaca where all hotels are way overpriced when compared to similar standards in other mexcian destinations.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Maine
111
Reviewed 30 January 2005

I rated Antonio's 'above average' beacause of it's prime location practically on the Plaza. It has been several years since I have been a guest, but Antonio's served me very well. It's atmosphere was somewhat more contemporary in a simple way, than some of the grand old hotels, and it could be rather noisy at night, due to its proximity to the plaza. My rooms were not particularly bright, nor did they have a view, but they were a pleasant refuge. I loved being so close to the city's major events and attractions without having to walk unknown streets at night. And, perhaps most importantly, it was afforable, friendly, and had that 'Mexican feel.'

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2004

This is a basic but charming hotel, with some of the best rates in Oaxaca city ($26-30). The restaurant in the courtyard was pretty good and the location quite convenient. My room was a little dark and stuffy, but it had a fan, phone, and cable tv with r/c. It was very clean and the service was quite friendly. Quite a deal!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vaquitaflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank herme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Life Hotel
Life Hotel
#55 of 110 in Oaxaca
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Catarina Hotel
Posada Catarina Hotel
#78 of 110 in Oaxaca
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#45 of 110 in Oaxaca
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#22 of 110 in Oaxaca
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mision Oaxaca
Mision Oaxaca
#48 of 110 in Oaxaca
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Bonita Hotel Boutique and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anua Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anua Oaxaca

Address: Avenida de La Independencia 601 | Corner Porfirio Diaz, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Antonio's)
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: £31 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Anua Oaxaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check it out and feel the warmth and hospitality and the comfort and tradition of Hotel Antonios 's. Nearby you can visit museums , galleries , market and many of the attractions of downtown Oaxaca City . Conoce nuestro hotel tesoro de Oaxaca del siglo XIX, que en su historia fue un Banco Minero en 1909, la fabrica de cigarros "La Superior" S.A. De Mexico en 1923 y en 1953 el hogar del desaparecido diario "Oaxaca Grafico". El edificio de adobe utiliza en su exterior de la cantera rosa, principalmente en su pequeno portal en la esquina, unico en nuestra ciudad, igual que en sus respectivas cornisas y columnas. Tambien se logra apreciar de su herreria tipo colonial. En el interior se observa el uso de la cantera verde en las columnas y arcos. Los faroles, las flores y plantas y la rugosa textura de sus paredes le dan el encanto. Con una maravillosa ubicacion; a una media cuadra del Zocalo, a 4 cuadras del mercado principal, a 3 cuadras de la Iglesia La Soledad y a 2 cuadras del corredor turistico que los lleva directamente a Santo Domingo. Esta bella casa se ha conservado y esta viva, garantizando asi el futuro para satisfaccion de los Oaxaquenos y asi mismo de quienes nos visitan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Anua Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonios Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing