We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Arnel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Arnel
Ranked #49 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Inexpensive and clean, in one of the city's oldest, and visually stunning, neighborhoods. Good place to meet interesting travelers and some long term visitors who swear by Arnel. The family run hotel an easy walk to anywhere in Centro, as well as very close to the long distance bus station- not to mention the baseball stadium. A helpful and pleasant family operates the hotel and create a casual and friendly atmosphere. An inexpensive breakfast with your fellow guests makes for a good way to share experiences and get advice. The rooms are plain but functional but the interior courtyard and rooftop terrace (as well as access to a very good chain coffee shop a few steps away) make it an easy place to stay.

Room Tip: During Oaxaca's frequent festivities a room on the street side could become noisy. In general it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cp_dukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    51
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
12
29
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

A good place for the price. Nice people, nice place with a nice big balcony lot s of trees/green the center of the hotel.
Room was nice without being great , bathroom was not very clean which is the main reason why I don t give it 5 points.
Overall, it s a good place for the price but there might be better

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Two of us rented a Casa Arnel apartment across the street and visited the hotel frequently for breakfasts at the common tables which were pleasant, tasty and well-priced, and for the lovely setting. The family is warm and helpful and we really felt at home here.

The Jalatlaco neighborhood is quiet and beautiful as well as being very conveniently located to the wonderful El Llano Park where we jogged in the mornings and enjoyed fresh 25-peso empanadas in the afternoons plus the Friday tianguis markets. At the same time, it is only about 10-minute walk to Santo Domingo, and about 15 minutes to the zocalo. We still heard firecrackers and church bells, water-delivery trucks and brass bands, but it was worth it for the great in-town location. You can join in on the twice-weekly evening dance classes in the church yard across the street, get what you need at La Cantera small grocery next door, and get lunch or dinner from surrounding eateries like the delicious Casa Arnel cafe or Biche Pobre.

We met a great assortment of mostly English-speaking guests, from university groups to retirees and backpackers in the hotel and enjoying the lovely rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmilingSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was in Lonely Planet as a budget hotel. Seeing the lobby and courtyard blew me away. It is a 2 story tropical garden. I looked at an inexpensive room with shared bath but chose a room "con bano." Many English speaking guests gather in the common areas and for breakfast. The rooftop garden patio is a pleasant spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 days/nights and took two rooms. Our room was a double upstairs plus another downstairs that our adult children shared. All rooms were clean, tidy and had all the basics. This is a good value for money hotel that is interesting and lively. Location-wise its about a 15 minute but easy walk to the centre of Oaxaca where there is a great range of shops, artisans centres, markets, bars and restaurants. However if you don't feel like the walk there are some good restaurants around the hotel. The locality is in a delightful area of colonial buildings. The owner and his team were constantly polite and helpful although at times a little rushed whenever a large crowd was checking in or turned up for breakfast. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter with a better aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I have stayed at Casa Arnel several times in the past 15 years. I never cease to be amazed at the wonderful surroundings and warm attention given by Arnel, Lilia and family. It is very well situated. The barrio Jalatlaco is precious, very colonial and peaceful. It is close to everything, but not in the midst of the noise of el centro. It is a few minutes walk to el Parque el Llano and about 15 minutes to Santo Domingo. Easy bus service to most places. Breakfasts are delicious and the family ambiente lets you mingle with other guests at the table and exchange stories and information. Prices are very reasonable and the room very comfortable. I highly recommend it for those looking for a lovely place to stay at a very comfortable price.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathroom and with shard bathrooms nearby. Prices vary accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

If you're on a budget, this is one of the nicest places you can stay, about 10min walk from town. Really pretty little hotel with lovely owners and a lot of parrots. I had a single room, it's quite basic but clean, some lovely terraces at the top with hammocks. This place comes with shared bathrooms but you can pay extra to have your own. Walking in, it's like a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaomiScott32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Camba
Hotel Camba
#43 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#91 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#36 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#14 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada de Chencho
Posada de Chencho
#74 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Arnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Arnel

Property: Hotel Casa Arnel
Address: Calle Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Arnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Arnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arnel Oaxaca
Casa Arnel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing