We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have spent 2 days of our honeymoon staying in casa angel in a double room. It was very clean and comfortable, we have enjoyed meeting other travelers on the terasse during night and drinking mezcals or beers. As well in common areas you can watch movies and make dinners together. It was 10 min walk from zocalo.
As well since our bus was at 20:00 ti San Cristobal de las casas there was no problem keeping stuff there till departure, so we could visit Monte Alban and enjoy the Oaxaca market where you can eat like a king.
For sure our next time in Oaxaca we will stay here:D

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Matea_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are backpacking around Mexico and the US the moment and have stayed at a huge array of hostels, but this one has automatically gone to the top of my charts!

More like a boutique hotel than a hostel, everything is spotlessly clean and well-maintained and the overall feel is sleek and modern but with a respect for the city's heritage - loved the original floor tiles!

We had a private ensuite and it was better than lots of hotels I've stayed in - clean, modern, spacious and comfy. The bathroom was something else - bliss after a couple of months on the road with loads of room, hot water and a gorgeous sink. And live plants!

Overall vibe was really friendly with lots of people to chat to and some great tours out of the city where we got to know more guests. This applies to staff too - they were all lovely and knowledgeable and spoke perfect English.

Location is fantastic, short walk from everything but still quiet at night.

Loved our stay and would return and recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Casa Angel is clean, comfortable, friendly, and reasonably priced. Theres a really nice common area with a kitchen and tv (with netflix!) and lots of resources for things to do in Oaxaca. Theres also a really nice roof area with a greenhouse garden and view. Im in a 3 person room and its nothing too special but were not fussy people and the environment more than makes up for it.

If youre looking for a place that will serve as a hub for exploring the city, interested in meeting other travellers, and you dont need a very fancy room, this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaWiiiiiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just stayed for one night but will definitely come back to this place. The rooms are clean and also are the bathrooms. They have a wonderful decorated roof terrace. The breakfast was included and it was so good. The two elder ladies working there arrange egg dishes if you want and the coffee was strong enough to wake me up early in the morning. The receptionists are all really friendly. They have a luggage room and offer taxi transfers to the bus station or airports. Situated directly in the center of Oaxaca, not far from anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tortugero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Facilities were all well maintained, and staff were friendly and helpful, they know a lot about goings on in the area and are happy to share their knowledge. You can buy booze on the premises as well which is always handy (although slightly more expensive than buying your own and pooling your resources). The hostel was quite quiet when I was there - perhaps it's a quieter place in general. Didn't stop me from meeting some good people and having a good time, or lessen the positive experience. The staff are lenient on noise as long as you aren't bothering anyone. All round good'un but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I arrived at the hostel at 6:30am after getting a night bus and was told that I couldn’t check in until 8pm. This was a bit annoying as all I wanted to do was sleep but they let me use the computers until then, which was nice. I stayed in the large dorm, which was fine because there where only 2 others staying in there at the time, but I can imagine if it was full it would be a bit manic. The beds were clean and comfy, although you did have to make your own bed. The terrace is really nice but you are only allowed up there until 11pm because of the noise- fair enough I guess, but I was up there with 3 other people having a quiet drink and I thought it was a bit unnecessary for them to move us to the downstairs communal area, which was nowhere near as nice to hang out. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers the perfect temperature. Oh and the breakfast is brilliant!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Great place to unwind. Guys that work here are friendly, socialable, and dont rule with an iron fist, like some.

Amazing roof terrace to chill out on.

Rooms are good. Each bed has a reading lamp, so nice to lay n not wake everyone up with the room light.

Bathroom shower is only 0800-1000 and 2000-2200 but that isnt a huge deal.

Breakfast is brilliant, eggs made to order, bread, juice, cereal.

Id recommend anyone to stat here

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1ck_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 108 in Oaxaca
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#6 of 108 in Oaxaca
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#1 of 118 in Oaxaca
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angel Youth Hostel

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 610 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing capsule-style beds in Mexico. Book a Deluxe 6 Bed Dorm and try them out! Casa Angel is a restored downtown house, creating a stylish backpackers hostel 3 blocks from world-famous Santo Domingo Church, and close to Oaxaca City's main attractions. All within Oaxaca's Downtown Area, a World Heritage City since 1987. We offer inexpensive and stylish accommodations for our guests in shared and private rooms. Casa Angel also has a rooftop terrace (BBQs every week!), a common area with a TV, DVD's and Netflix, a full kitchen, free computers and Wi-Fi, lockers, and a delicious free COOKED breakfast every morning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Angel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing