We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“En Via is making a difference in rural Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fundacion En Via

Fundacion En Via
Ranked #1 of 41 Tours in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: En Via is a non-profit microfinance organization working to fight poverty around Oaxaca, and to educate travelers about the power of microfinance by connecting them with local women either through visits to their towns, or through our volunteer program teaching free English classes to women and children. On the visits, travelers meet women who are applying for micro-loans to start or expand their small businesses, from making tortillas to weaving beautiful rugs, to selling flowers in the local market. Participants hear about the women's lives and projects, and what they plan to do with their loans. At the end of the day, 100% of the fee is then used to give interest-free micro-loans to the women we visited.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“En Via is making a difference in rural Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went on two incredible tours with En Via, each time visiting 6 different, wonderful women telling about their hopes and dreams. They shared their stories of rug making, candle making, store ownership, garlic selling, owning and operating a restaurant etc. and how En Via is making a difference in their businesses and lives. If after reading some of the other detailed tripadvisor reviews .... you think this might be something you would like to participate in.....then don't miss the opportunity....just sign up and go...the tours fill up quickly as there is only one, comfortable van that goes out on the days that tours are run.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip: En Via Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited Oaxacan communities to meet women who have received interest free micro loans to develop their own business. They get support to improve their livelihood for themselves and their families, We were served lunch in the home of one of the women who is starting a restaurant. Delicious! The tour was a highlight of our trip to be able to hear from these women about the positive changes in their lives. A translator accompanies the tour. It is a must see and do!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aluckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service/Tour in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

En Via was fantastic! We travelled to several pueblos outside of Oaxaca and met one-to-one with Mexican women using their microloans to advance their businesses. One made tortillas over her home wood fire, the other had a tiny little restaurant "comedor" others were weavers, etc. The women were fascinating to encounter so close-up. Also, the En Via folks - especially Jodi - were so thorough about informing us of the whole tour, the mission of En Via, with a little regional history thrown in as well. We travelled in a very comfortable van, and had a terrific day. I can't recommend them highly enough - and the small amount of money we spent on the day was in service to empowering the women they serve.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We highly recommend this tour. Tour fees are fed directly back to the women this organization supports via micro loans. We met with 5 fascinating women in their places of business/homes. We met two weavers, two chicken farmers, a pharmacist and a restaurant owner. Our children were able to work on a loom, we had a delicious meal and we learned about life in rural Oaxaca while enjoying the fabulous scenery. We were able to purchase rugs, purses and cloths directly from the women who made them. The guides were outstanding as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank libmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful organization, wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was interested in taking this tour because it sounded to me like Fundacion En Via is doing great work in supporting women's small businesses in the rural area around Oaxaca. My expectations were far surpassed. Not only did I get to learn a lot about the wonderful work of the foundation, but it was a real privilege to enter into the homes and work places of these wonderful women, and to hear from them directly about how Fundacion En Via has supported them and encouraged their success. There's no better way to get an insider's view of life in this vibrant community.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fundacion En Via also viewed

 

Been to Fundacion En Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing