We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our lunch. Would return again.”
Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
Ranked #26 of 468 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch. Would return again.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the whole fried red snapper. We also shared a large shrimp cocktail. Delicious. Service was prompt and attentive. Nice courtyard patio for dinning. Reasonable prices for the town. Seemed very popular with the locals and visitors alike. Would return if in the area.
Cheers and happy eats.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot; good food.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Situated on the Llano near some official buildings, this is a popular spot with locals and tourists. There is a great garden to refresh yourself after walking around. The food is pretty good, focussing on seafood. The drinks and appetizers are spicy so be sure to let them know if you want it less spicy. The seafood is excellent and waiters are lively. But the quality does not extend to its smaller sister restaurant. Too bad!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreaAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in Oaxaca!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is one of the flat-out best restaurants in Oaxaca. The quality of the fish and seafood is consistently impeccable. I have been eating there for years and have never been disappointed. Standout dishes are the whole red snapper al horno, or anything with shrimp. The location across from Juarez Park is lovely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllenRutchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good quality seafood, not that well prepared”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

gorgeous garden setting, good service. Unfortunately everything came out in little chewy bits. I would go back but order things that are tasty when rendered into little bits and fried. It is not easy to cook squid (calamari) so that it is not chewy. They did not manage to do so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Failed to live up to local recommendation”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Local friends said this is a good seafood place. The sister restaurant is a bit out of town. This one is across from a park. We found it expensive for what we had. Several of their dishes were a big disappointment. Just a bit on the expensive side for an affordable eatery. Allegedly famed for its seafood we were disappointed and will not go back. Their ceviche the day of our visit was insipid, no variety, just small chunks of a tasteless fish of some kind, minimal other ingredients, no shellfish nor shrimp. Not good at all! The next day my companion just bought this again and it was good! Why? My pulpo al mojo de aho was generous and good. Her shrimp plate was dry, over cooked. The flesh stuck so firmly to the shell it was difficult to remove. Not tasty at all! With two beers the 488 pesos was too much. Atmosphere is nice, decor nice, food was disappointing except the pulpo. I'm continuing to look elsewhere, and will not return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimTheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing