We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place for one night”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florida
Ranked #14 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for one night”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Hostal Florida for one night in May 2013. Good location near historical centre - but dodgy after dark with everything closed and prostitutes across the road! No air-con and no nets over the windows - extremely hot and fan not sufficient. Good wifi connection, shower only hot in the morning. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This budget hotel is very well run, clean comfortable and reasonably central only five blocks from the historic centre. It has a nice terrace, great little cafeteria next door for breakfast. It has new owners who are currently revamping the rooms. They are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and I had a comfortable and clean stay at Hotel Florida, the people were friendly and the hotel was only a few blocks away from the main square. I recommend it to everyone who goes to Oaxaca City to give this Hotel a try... you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_enjoy_relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

When my friend and I arrived in Oaxaca we asked a taxi driver to take us to a cheap-mid-range hotel, but he took us to a really expensive place ( about 85 US dollars per room ), the room was ok, the service clinical so we thought we could do better, so the next day we had a look at a few places in the same area, we found a really nice place called the Hotel Florida for approximately half the price.

For some reason the reception seems strange - its narrow, a straight line, with a raindoor however dont let that put you off, the rooms are spotless ( two ultra friendly maids clean the apartments on a daily basis). The beds are solid comfy and well made. Good cupboard space, spare blankets, free bottled water in each room and other nice touches, like the keys keyring list all the facilities of the hotel ( ok I thought that was handy ;) TV in most rooms and had a few English speaking channels, which after 3 weeks of speaking nothing but Spanish was a tonic. Your valuables are SAFE there, the two maids clean the rooms together, and are angels, the only way into the building is though the front door, which always, always has someone there during the day and is solid as a rock at night.

The reception desk staff are friendly and speak good English ( especially the owner who insists you call her Blanca :) , any questions we asked she didnt know e.g. "where is the salsa clubs", she went out of her way to find out for us. Intelligent and charming, she proudly showed us around the hotel, lots of new, clean rooms, and a roof top area with a nightime view in which she is in the process of adding a little bar which should really show it off.

I should also mention the cafe next door, which we only found out a little later contains a) everything you need for your trip from toothpaste/shampoo to bandaids, and b) has a cheap and easy to find internet cafe! So important when uploading photos and saves a lot of time looking around! :)

Laundry service was available ( just drop the old clothes at reception ), cheap and returned to you in perfect condition, neatly folded.

Its a snap to get to the centre: walk out the door, take a right and keep walking along Aldama until you intersect with Bustamente, take a left and walk along Bustamente until you reach the centre its a few blocks away from there. If you get lost, find JP Garcia, 20 Novemebre or Diaz and follow it south until you reach Aldama street. Simple.

One thing to note: the hotel looks locked after midnight, you need to ring the door bell to get in ;)

I guess you can tell we really liked the place, as we did, it hit all the right buttons for us, mid-range price, clean, safe, central and a very very friendly welcome. Its not an American hotel, with swimming pool/jacussi etc but its not American prices either. After a few bad hotels in Mexico, it was great to find a place like this. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.8 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Ignacio Aldama 417 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing