We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of La Teca Restaurant

La Teca Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 468 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional food from the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, all made when you order, all delicious. A garden area available when it's not too chilly or rainy. Wonderful art, and great service.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

La teca was recommended to us by a Chef so we took notice, it´s istmo food wich is a little different from traditional Oaxacan food. The tasting menu was great, as a suggestion make reservations and ask for a table in the patio. If mosquitoes bother you maybe some repellent. Have the address when you take a taxi as ours didn´t know where it was and was really thinking in a different place. I would recommend the tasting menu. If you like Mezcal their house mezcal was pretty good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moisesgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very cozy setting”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Disclaimer: I was invited to La Teca by a friend of the owner so I can't say our experience was "typical" but I truly don't think they went and cooked anything just for us. Some of the food we had takes hours to cook so I am quite sure we were served the same food anyone else would have been. Also, I read a few of the comments on here. Yes this IS a house reborn as a restaurant but I see that as part of the charm of the place not a detractor. There are two separate dining areas. What would be typically called the "restaurant" is small with maybe three or four tables. This area used to be the driveway/garage and it has been completely converted into a cozy dining spot. Adjoining this is a larger patio available only by reservation for slightly larger groups. This is where we ate.

Also, while La Teca is in the Capital City of Oaxaca, their food style is from the Isthmus area so it is slightly different but every bit as tasty.

There were six of us and we went the "sampler" route. Rather than each ordering a main entrée we opted for sharing all the dishes by taking small portions of each. We got to try "garnachas" (very much like miniature sopes), sweet and savory tamales, "estofado" (very slowly braised, fork-tender beef), short ribs, and several other delicious dishes. All the food was good to excellent. The service was very good with the wait staff removing our individual plates at any time we were about to switch from one dish that would clash with another.

Because we were with friends of the owner I can neither discount nor confirm the critical comments from a few dissatisfied people on here about the bill or such but I can say that the food is excellent and very much worth trying. Yes, it is out of the main downtown area so take a cab (about $10 split however many ways are in your party) and enjoy the fact this used to be a house and it is now a charming food establishment. If you are worried about being overcharged or misinterpreted then by all means discuss this beforehand with the service staff, but, isn't that true for most places in Mexico?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLCNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“buenisimo!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Superb and very different istmo cuisine. Try the sampling menu relaxing pleasant patio good service . A must if you like Oaxaca food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajero161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasting menu and friendly service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We just had this tasting menu, and it was wonderful. I wish we had gone on our first day to familiarize ourselves with a variety of foods. I saw some bad reviews from last year, but they must have been taken into account by the restaurant because I had a very different experience. The courtyard is beautiful and small, and the waiter was really nice and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We took a cab to this lovely spot. Luckily I had read the reviews and knew that there was more to the restaurant than the small room with tables when we arrived. We had made reservations and were ushered into their lovely backyard. We chose to have the Mexican sampler menu and were absolutely delighted with the meal. Each course was a delight and it was the best meal we had during our four days in Oaxaca.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alphatravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Teca Restaurant also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to La Teca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing