We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis in oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Ranked #7 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little oasis in oaxaca”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We just finished our stay here and loved it! The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms very cute and comfortable and they have a lovely courtyard surrounded by greenery and flowers so you feel very removed from the city. Close to everything so we could just walk everywhere. Would stay here again for sure!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello dear costumer! We feel so happy that your experience in our hostel had been lovely. A simple things come in our courtyard to make a good energy for everyone and you made the real oasis in our place. We hope that you continue enjoying your wonderful trip in Mexico. Will be a nice pleasure have you once again. All the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
78
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Can't echo enough everyone on here saying what a beautiful little place this was. As a hostel/budget hotel, it can't get any more relaxing. Oaxaca's not exactly hardcore anyway, but to be able to escape the traffic that plies its narrow roads all day, for that tiny courtyard blooming with bougainvillea, was repeatedly a relief. We took probably the best room - a largish en-suite - which was as good as anything you would pay at least twice as much for anywhere else in Mexico. There were some real attempts at attention to detail, which lifted it well above your average double room in a hostel/chain hotel. It was February but was just the right temperature inside the room - not too hot or cold. As with other hostel-like places, you sit with others at breakfast (which was perfectly adequate), which means you have chance to share a few travellers tales. that's not to everyone's taste, but I quite like it, as it adds to the relaxed air about the place. But most outstanding was the service. The two or three day and night staff who were on while we were there were terrific; extremely helpful, with perfect English for when my partner's Spanish was not available and just discrete enough so you could get involved with them, if you needed to. My surprise was that it was not full. Why is anyone going anywhere else?

Room Tip: We had the best one. I think there is only one large double with an ensuite, but there are other goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipside1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear costumer! After reading your wonderful and lovely comment, we can't find words to say thank you for these magnificient lines about our hostel. We are so glad that you found in this place a cheery and pleasant atmosphere. Our mission of everyday is provide to our guests all the necessary to have a great time looking after the smallest details with the warm of a traditional oaxacan house. We hope to host you one more time and enjoy the colors of Oaxaca. Have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

For singles, pairs, adventurers and travelers on a budget, a little gem of a hostel sits on a lovely street in town. Five rooms with shared bath, and also a dorm-style accommodation. Charming, clean, run by a knowledgable and friendly manager/owner who lives on the grounds.Maybe the loveliest place of this type I've seen anywhere. Simply perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms face a courtyard, some bigger than others but all comfortable and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Randy! There are not words to say thank you for your delightful comment.
Any opinion is a new oportunity to look our place and try to start again with only
one ideal: I want to do my best. The most simple things are important for us.
We hope you can come back soon and enjoy more our town, food and traditions.
All the best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a beautiful beautiful beautiful place!
We were here in May of 2013, with great weather. We haven't done any Hostel stays before, so we were a little skeptical. But this place was perfect! Their intimate and cozy courtyard in the middle of all the rooms is very tastefully furnished and beautiful to sit and enjoy reading a book in the day.
The rooms were neat and clean, and the shared bathrooms were spotless. The staff was very friendly with everything and made us feel very much at home. The breakfast was nice and simple.
Will definitely recommend this gem to everyone who visits Oaxaca!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siddhant_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello Sinha Siddhant Ajai! we are so happy that almost one year after you remember us and also, we thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to leave us this lovely comment. Our everyday mission is to make our guests feel at home, making every detail a great experience. Hope you have the opportunity to come back and rediscover some beautiful moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For those looking for the service and standards of a great hotel but the intimacy and friendliness of a hostel, look no further.....than Hostal Casa del Sol.

This was my parents' first stop on their holiday in Mexico and they were enamored by the charming rooms and friendly service of the more than competent staff that work there.

The rooms are decorated in a way you rarely see in other places, with care and attention. There are books in each room, art work on the walls and touches that make it feel like a home from home (in my case, a much better one). A good breakfast is served in the lovely little open courtyard and you're free to use the kitchen as you please.

I can't recommend Casa del Sol highly enough and urge those visiting Oaxaca to stop by for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubbertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hello Dear Guests. There are not enough words to thank you for this lovely and charming comment about our hostal. As you are travelers with much experience and have stayed in many and different types of accommodations it's a real pleasure to know that you recommend us widely. We try to be different using beautiful handicrafts and traditional ceramics of Oaxaca in order for our guests really feel at a Oaxacan home. We are so glad that your stay in our small hostal was pleasant. We hope you have the chance to come back and enjoy again the colors, aromas and landscapes that Oaxaca offers you. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here for 6 or 7 nights over Thanksgiving, initially found it on trip advisor. I 100% recommend this place! The staff is super super nice, and the location is great. The rooms were all very clean, and even though everyone used the shared bathrooms they were SPOTLESS and smelled amazing (the women's bathroom did at least)!

There isn't a huge common/social area, and the wifi doesn't reach the bedrooms (at least in the dorms and Naranja room; you just come outside into the courtyard to check your email/FB etc). You probably won't spend much time in the hostel since there's so much to do in Oaxaca but just FYI your room is the only living space.

Room Tip: if you're traveling with a friend the Naranja room is a good option (2 double beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Derika Daga. First that all, thank you so much for sharing your opinion about our hostal and for recommending us on this web site. Our work is focus in the small details that gives to our guests a better and lovely stay. We are very happy that you had the opportunity to visit different charming places of this state. We hope to host yo once again. We send you our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed Hostel Casa Del Sol from November 20 till November 26, and I am glad my husband found this place! The owener and his staff was all very friendly, helpful and amazingly hospitable. They took care of us very well throughout the stay. Lupita always helped us when we tried to practice Spanish we learned at school. She always patiently waited while we take time to make a sentence to ask for coffee, toast, some help, and she corrected our Epanish as well as to encourage us to repeat the given sentences. We enojyed the onversation with our very little Espanol with her^-^. The hostel was very well maintained, and always clean. We loved the court yard of this hostel as well. It was lovely and cozy. so you could spend all day there.
The location was good, close to the meeting point with the school we went to, Amigo del sol. All the mercados are wakable distance. They serve breakfast with not only toasts and millk but lots of fruits. They had free wifi we can use, and did not have problems with connections.

Thank you Casa Del Sol for the wonderful time there with you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the private room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Miyako and Richard. We really appreciate your lovely comments; Lupita, Javier, Guillermo and Jaime loved being your hosts. It was a real pleasure helping you practice spanish, keep practicing! soon you will be excellent spanish speakers. We are so happy you had enjoy and discover the wonders of this beautiful state. Thak you for sharing with us your experiences at the end of the day. We hope you will have the opportunity to return and enjoy colors, aromas and flavors of the mole´s country once again. Thnak you so much for the small gift! Warm regards. Hostal Casa del Sol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#15 of 109 in Oaxaca
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#34 of 109 in Oaxaca
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca

Property: Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Address: Calle La Constitucion 301 | 68000, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing