We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oaxaca Real Oaxaca Mexico”
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oaxaca Real
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel that gives you the real feeling of a fine traditional hotel. We left the way more expensive sleek and modern Holiday inn to stay here. The Oaxaca Real has their own restaurant that is also open to the public. It has wonderful authentic Oaxacan comida. You can ask for a special discount and they are very accommodating...you can ask to skip breakfast and they give a discount...but they offer American and typical Oaxacan breakfasts including coffee or juice or tea and the inclusive price is great. They are only three blocks away from the Zocalo and very close to everything. Right now they have mostly Mexico City guests and Europeans and they are normally not too busy. Almost half price from the holiday inn.. I'm American and I loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oaxaca Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent 3 night there, it is a nice hotel close to downtown, one block from touristic walk area, close to Santo Domingo Convent and also from Zocalo.
It is not a fancy hotel but it has an excellent location.
We really had a good time there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Near transportation and important sights of Oaxaca!! The rooms were good and the beds, comfortable!!! The restaurant is delicious and the pool is ok! :) I really recommend it!!! I enjoy visiting the Botanic Garden and the Santo Domingo Church, which are one street away from the hotel :D The catheral and the Zocalo is beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nastia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We did not book this hotel, it was a change to an itinerary we were not made aware of and was not the same standard of other hotels.
Difficult to access plugs for charging as high up, restaurant breakfast service a bit poor- ignored first day. Had a choice of eggs or pancakes, fruit or fruit juice.
Very small towels.
No air con - unable to open window in bathroom as too high, window in room frosted and opened onto a corridor. Rooms very dark.
Bathroom - a bit slippy
The hotel is basic with a small outdoor pool, terrace restaurant, good location 2 minutes from zocalo. For a basic hotel - acceptable but still poor service. Some staff don't speak Spanish or English making some communication even more difficult.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lau B, Gerente at Hotel Oaxaca Real, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We regret this situation on your hotel stay, sincerely without criticism and feedback from our customers could ever improve our services for the convenience of you. We have detected the event in your itinerary, but we appreciate your communication with us and we will consider your observation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A good hotel in an excellent location only a few blocks from city centre. Helpful staff. There is a pool but I didn't try it. Other guests coming in late or leaving early was very disturbing, the walls are thin.
+ Beautiful hotel with lots of charm.
- Thin walls makes the place noisy. Restaurant (breakfast) can not be recommended.

Room Tip: Choose room as far away from reception as possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas_in_Uppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed four days. The people were very attentive and the location is perfect. It is a great hotel for the price and this is a city to explore and not to stay at the hotel, so the rooms are small but that was of no importancebecause we were out all day. Location is perfectly situated between both main plazas. I even ran into Rick Bayless outside the hotel. We had a bit of trouble with a tour and the hotel fixed it for us and even offer to pay for it. That is good service.
The city charmed us beyond our expectations so we will be back and im sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eloy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is well situated in oaxaca. Just a few minutes walk from the Zocalo. When we arrived we got a nice welcome drink. Rooms are big and clean. The rest of the hotel is also very clean. Staff is nice. Pool is rather small. We had breakfast with a big group, so we all got served the same dishes: fruit with yogurt and muesli. Next dish was bread with eggs and the bean thingy.. So it was alright. Sleep quality was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 108 in Oaxaca
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 108 in Oaxaca
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nana Vida
Hotel Nana Vida
#40 of 108 in Oaxaca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Real

Address: Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oaxaca Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel also offers you the following services: free and secured parking, restaurant with daily service from 07:00 am until 11:00 pm, pool, wireless internet in the lobby, travel agency.The rooms are among other things equipped with safe, hairdryer, mirrors, Cable TV, Phone. We are situated two blocks from Santo Domingo Cathedral, two blocks from the Zócalo (main Square), as well as very near to many Museums and Art Galleries. Our direction is Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 in the Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing