We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Panchita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Panchita
Ranked #15 of 127 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our stay at Casa Panchita was to say the least the best experience we have ever had at any B&B. The outstanding attention and care from Irma, Alejandro and Panchita was way above the norm. Alejandro drove us one evening to a restaurant after we expressed interest in trying certain Oaxacan cuisines. We were not disappointed, it was great. Their expertise of the area , Oaxacan cuisine , Oaxacan culture and history were priceless. We experienced a wonderful atmosphere with mouth watering breakfasts and a dinner that were made by the expert hands of Panchita. Our room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. We had no problems getting a good night's sleep while there. We were walking distance from the Zocalo. Casa Panchita is an oasis of peace and comfort in Oaxaca. We plan to return to Casa Panchita in the near future.

Room Tip: The garden room gave us privacy and a great porch to sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elcicuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest and most relaxing places we've stayed. We drove from Tucson and were very pleased to find that we could park our car off the street. Our host & hostess Irma and Alejandro were prefect. Excellent breakfasts of fresh fruit, home made granola, eggs to order and other options. Light suppers prepared once or twice a week. Lovely rooms and a very compatible group of guests made our three week stay perfect. We will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Casa Panchita is family-owned and run. Guests are treated like family: if you have a question, or a problem, the proprietors (Irma and Alejandro) will do their best to help you. They are very knowledgeable about folk art in the vicinity, and will help you find your way to individual artists, if you are interested. The breakfast is fresh and tasty (and there is coffee available before, and during, breakfast), and the company is delightful: breakfast is served around the dining room table, and guests--many of whom come here year after year--are friendly and welcoming of newcomers. It is also an easy (15 minute) walk to many of Oaxaca's attractions, including the Zocalo, and downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Casa Panchita is a very special B&B. It is family owned and operated and guests are catered to and treated like family at the same time. Panchita cooks her traditional, scrumptious Oaxacan recipes from whatever is the freshest available in the mercado each day. The setting is a lushly planted compound in a quiet, residential area of Oaxaca a pleasant, sightseeing walk to the centro and the zocalo. I took my granddaughter who could play safely on the grounds and visit with the animals and birds. Each room is delightfully furnished with folk art and fine taste.
Meals are family style with other interesting guests (many who return year after year) sharing thoughts, tips and making plans to take trips as a group.

Room Tip: This is a small B&B and depending on the season there may be few choices. There is one room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Oaxaca where we were fortunate to stay at Casa Panchita B&B. It is a delightful place. Particularly wonderful are the breakfasts they serve and the wonderful, welcoming nature of the proprietors, Irma and Alejandro. One could arrive not knowing a thing about Oaxaca, or what to do or where to go and they would offer you the best guidance. They run a lovely establishment with care, simplicity and expertise. I would return happily to spend some time there. It is also very well located near to the main square. Further, they might well be the best guides around for exploring the wonderful folkloric art that exists in Oaxaca. They could not have been more personable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had been planning a trip to Oaxaca from New Zealand and found Casa Panchita online. From the outset, the email arrangements for booking were prompt and courteous. It was so great to finally arrive at Casa Panchita and meet Panchita, her daughter Irma and son in law Alejandro. We felt at home right away and over a weeks stay enjoyed true Mexican family hospitality and local knowledge.
We can't fault the place or the relaxed and friendly help offered by Irma and Alejandro. Or the cooking of Panchita which has inspired Mexican style breakfasts in New Zealand since our return(although not up to Panchita's level of culinary expertise).
Irma and Alejandro have an intimate knowledge of their city, it's surrounds and in particular the artisanal artists of the area. Nothing was to much trouble and they gave us such great advice. They quickly sussed out what we were interested in suggested options we might enjoy. We followed their advice and had a simply amazing time in Oaxaca and nearby places. Alejandro arranged a driver one day, and on another, when we rented a car suggested visits to places we would have missed without that help. (Thanks for Yagul Alejandro!). Advice on eating out as also spot on.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, large and spotlessly clean. The location as perfect - walkable to the Zocolo and nice and quiet.
We feel fortunate to have met such lovely people and to have stayed in such a beautiful place. We were sad to leave. If you are going to Oaxaca try Casa Panchita - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The owners are wonderful people and the rooms are Mexican styled and cozy. It is a beautiful property located in a quieter section of Oaxaca..but right near the Organic Market Saturday market which is so wonderful.

You are able to walk all over from there. This is not on the Main Drag...but there are plenty of restaurants to walk to close by.
You'll LOVE Oaxaca..GO!

Room Tip: I loved the "studio" She has repeat customers and full on a regular basis so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blsrsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#14 of 113 in Oaxaca
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 113 in Oaxaca
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Panchita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Panchita

Property: Casa Panchita
Address: Jose Lopez Alavez 1319 | Barrio Xochimilco, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Oaxaca’s city center, Casa Panchita offers a tranquil retreat for visitors to this center of Mexican art and history. A warm, family-run guest house, Casa Panchita sits on a cobblestone street in an area of tin workers and weavers. Six individually decorated guest rooms display colorful works by artisans who have made Oaxaca a destination for lovers of art and regional cuisine. Private baths. B&B or full board available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing