We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location to tour Oaxaca City and Valley”
other traveller has booked this property
View from the Villa del Sol of the pool and the patio of the Bird of Pardise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Villa del Sol of the pool and the patio of the Bird of Pardise.
The owner, Mary Jane, showing off the largest corn tlayuda she's ever found and eaten! Casa Murguia is set back from the street by a classic 1950's garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
View from the Villa del Sol of the pool and the patio of the Bird of Pardise.
The owner, Mary Jane, showing off the largest corn tlayuda she's ever found and eaten!
Casa Murguia is set back from the street by a classic 1950's garden.
Common area on the rooftop terrace. Great place to gather at sunset or morning.
All five bungalows enjoy their own poolside patio. This is the Villa del Sol's.
Gardens rich in native flora give privacy to each bungalow's poolside patio.
Exotic flora is a signature feature of the gardens at Casa Murguia.
The Bird of Paradise bloom all year round.
Original design elements make Casa Murguia absolutely unique.
The next 8 photos are of the Primavera bungalow. Its poolside patio.
The Primavera's patio is divided from the Villa del Sol by tall planters.
Looking at the divided patios of the Primavera and the Villa del Sol. Arcoiris entry to the right.
The next 12 photos of of the Villa del Sol. Chaise lounges, large table & 4 chairs.
The bedroom of the Villa del Sol with a kingsize bed.
The Villa del Sol's made up with two twin beds.
The spacious bathroom of the Villa del Sol features custom made terrazzo work and walk-in shower.
The Bougainvillea's patio with reclining loungers, table and chairs. Next 8 photos of this unit.
The Bougainvillea's Bedroom with a kingsize bed or two twin beds
The Bougainvillea's Bedroom looking towards the bathroom ( rght) and entrance to kitchen
The Aguacate's patio gets morning light. Next 12 photos are of this unit.
The Aguacate's bedroom looking into the living room.
The Aguacate's bedroom made up with twin beds.
Quiet pool side patios, this one is at the Bird of Paradise
Looking from the kitchen through living and dining area. Door on left to patio.
From the living room of the Bird of Paradise looking out.
The spacious, cool bedroom of the Bird of Parise
The Bird of Paradise kitchen.
Fully equipped kitchen with gas range in the Bird of Paradise.
The bathroom in the Bird of Paradise features hand-painted tiles and a shower/tub.
The Arcoiris Room has queen bed, private bathroom and only rents with another unit.
The Arcoiris room's bathroom.
The solar-heated 4 ft. deep pool at Casa Murguia makes for perfect for swimming laps or playing.
La Merced market is just 4 blocks away. Eat at La Güerita and fresh juice bar.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul N
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location to tour Oaxaca City and Valley”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of four we stayed at Casa Murguia for a week while touring Oaxaca. Location and neighbourhood is excellent for both historic city centre and driving out into Oaxaca Valley (car parking availability is big plus). Landscaping and pool are delightful. Maria Antonia provides great daily service to the apartments and Mary Jane is a fountain of knowledge about building the best possible agenda for your time in the city and region.
Recommended if you like the flexibility of self catering location within Oaxaca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location & pool
Liked least: Apartment interior is bit dated and dark.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Traveling with children can be a challenge. The Aguacate casita, a five room bungalow with a generous outdoor poolside patio gives families ( and couples ) space for everyone. I'm glad Casa Murguia worked out for you and hope you'll choose the casa again on your next trip to Oaxaca! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mstanilla
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful property”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I found Casa Murguia while looking for a vacation rental property on Trip Advisor. I was looking for a place for a total of 5 adults, 1 teen, and 1 infant. I read the other reviews and sent a message through Trip Advisor to the property owner. Mary Jane responded back very quickly and offered suggestions for what we could rent to accommodate my party. We emailed back and forth and we agreed on the dates and which rooms we would rent. We rented the Primavera Villa and the Arcoiris Room. My step-daughter, son-in-law and infant grandson stayed in the Arcoiris Room. My wife, son (14), step-son (18), and myself stayed in the Primavera Villa. Wonderful accommodations for all of us. The bedding was clean, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool was wonderful on a warm afternoon. And the location, just a couple of blocks walk to the Macedonio Alcala and the Zocalo, it can't be beat. The only recommendation I would have, and this is just personal and doesn't change anything about our stay, is that the coffee maker in the Primavera Villa is to small. It only makes 5 cups at a time. When there are 5 adults that all like coffee, this can be a pain to have to keep making pot after pot. A larger 12 cup coffee maker would be great, but that's just my family. Again this was a wonderful stay and I would go back and stay at Casa Murguia in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this insightful review. We always ask guests if everything is OK, needs to fixed or changed. I'm sorry you didn't let us know about the need for a larger coffee maker as there was, in fact, a larger one available. Oh well, next time! …… I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Casa Murguia for 7nights. What a perfect little oasis to return to after walking through this gem of a city. The apartment was very comfortable and super clean. Maria Antonia keeps the rooms and grounds in great shape. The pool was very refreshing. The gardens are lovely. A nice place to sit at the end of the day listening to all the lovely birds singing the evensong.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
I've always felt like Casa Murguia is a retreat from the exciting activities the city of Oaxaca holds. It's wonderful to explore the historic center on foot but it's also, in my opinion, a must to have a quiet place with outdoor living to relax and enjoy Oaxaca's near-perfect year round climate. Thank you for choosing my vacation rental; I hope you'll return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmctaggar...
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my ninth trip to Oaxaca and my third to this rental home, and I love staying here! This time I brought my two young adult daughters and a close family friend with me. We rented both of the large apartments at the back and always felt so happy to come home to them after a long day sight-seeing and shopping. The home is located close to everything a tourist wants to do, the kitchens are well-equipped; the swimming pool is a great treat, and the garden is beautiful. Mary Jane and Marta were both gracious and helpful. Oaxaca was as wonderful as ever. I recommend the apartments highly!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma J
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - Great Experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Casa Murguia is located right in the heart of the El Centro District of the old town of Oaxaca. Our favorite restaurant was a block away, the Zocalo (town square) was about 5 blocks and wonderful restaurants, churches, shops and markets are located in between. The Casa has four units spread around a lovely pool. The Bird of Paradise is the largest and includes a good sized eat-in kitchen, large living room (which for us accommodated an additional bed) bathroom with tub and shower and large bedroom. ( We recommend skipping the tub and using shower to be sure of enough hot water and of course avoid the water in your mouth.) Purified drinking water is provided. Our unit, because of its location, it was very quiet despite busy streets all around. The Villa del Sol unit with two bedrooms reportedly has more street noise.The four units allow for as much privacy as you prefer plus as much socializing with the other guests as you would like. There is a full-time housekeeper during the day, who is most gracious and helpful, but speaks no English. However, pantomime works. The entire place is very clean and decorated with wonderful artifacts and art works, likely from Mary Jane's previously-owned gallery. It is like an oasis in the heart of a very busy city with lovely garden plantings surrounding the pool. Internet was available and was very fast along with satellite TV (mostly Spanish stations but who has time for television in this very lively city). Pizza and Italian fare at Casa de Maria Lombardo around the corner was excellent when you need a break from Mexican offerings. On our first day another couple at Casa recommended we go to the Zocalo and look for Linda Miller and take her tour of four churches in the area. We would highly recommend this as well, early in your stay, to get oriented. 10:00 am in front of the Church in the Zocalo. She has long white hair but people in the area can also help you find her. She is an expat living in Oaxaca for 14 years and her tour is interesting and entertaining.. She can also recommend shops, restaurants and other local services. Other guests indicated satisfaction with their smaller units and there were guests there who are return customers. We would certainly stay at Casa Murguia again. The price is very reasonable compared to other venues in the city we explored. Oh, and when you first arrive, just push the doorbell on the outside gate on the left. Someone will come to let you in. Security is well maintained through the locked courtyard

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall ambiance
Liked least: Television difficult to figure out and limited english stations
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCTerry
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I would echo the comments of other contributors regarding the central location, cleanliness and nice style of the villa. It's all very nice and really rather quiet. The pool is relaxing and the rooms are comfortable-- well, the beds could maybe use an update. There filtered water for your use.

Two issues that had me debating on the number of stars to give this place...
1. Our room door lock broke half way through the stay. While the villa itself is locked-- so there are relatively few individuals with access to the interior-- there didn't seem to be much (if any) urgency to fix it. In the end, we went 2 nights without being able to lock our door. We had no problems during this time, but it seems that something like this should be a priority for the management. This could be directly related to #2...

2. The new (?) and temporary (I hope!) manager, Gabriel, was beyond clueless about pretty much everything. He was able to direct us to a good food truck 2 blocks from the apartment, but otherwise didn't seem to know a thing about the apartment, town or anything-- even though he claimed to have lived in Oaxaca for his entire life.

We asked some basic questions like "where can we buy beer" response: "I go to the mall kinda faraway cause it's cheap." Um... not helpful.

We tried touristy questions: "We've seen X, Y & Z... are there any other must do things in town or outside of town?" response-- I'm not making this up-- "Well, you know, there's stuff over there [pointing randomly], over there and over that way, you know." um... no, I didn't know, which is why I asked and I still don't know because I think you're high.

Finally, on our last night, he wanted to "go out and party" so he asked if we would let the new guests in when they arrived. We responded that we'd be happy to, if we were up and/or in the building, and oh by the way, we don't know who these people are or where their rooms are or anything. He seemed to think that it was unreasonable that we were hesitant and said that it really wasn't a big deal and didn't understand why we were reluctant. We reminded him that we were guests not workers and he just kind of put the keys on the table saying that those were the keys for the new people and left.

When they arrived, the new people had no idea where their rooms were or which keys worked for the rooms... and neither did we. It worked out just fine, but was very awkward, weird and extremely unprofessional.

On the other hand, Mary Jane is a fountain of information. She gave us tons of ideas for things to do, towns to see and other things. I would just say that if you're going, be sure to work out whatever you need with Mary Jane and try to avoid very nice, but kinda clueless Gabriel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fls35
jax beach, florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well located apartment in Centro Historico”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Stayed in the Villa del Sol bungalow at Casa Murguia for three weeks. All amenities as advertised. Wonderful folk art and rugs all over - the folk art store Mary Jane previously owned was my favorite in Oaxaca and she must have brought her favorite pieces to Casa Murguia. Loved the central location - 5 blocks to the Zocalo or 4 blocks to the great Mercado de la Merced -easier for provisions than the very busy central markets. A pleasure to return each day to the calm, soothing central patio. Mary Jane and her staff were very efficient and helpful and there was informative material in the room regarding collectivos, nearby laundry facilities, best cheese shop and bakery and phone number for a wonderful driver - Sr. Hugo. There was a good, small local eatery right next door for meals or food-to-go. Am planning to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoying the central patio
Liked least: Noise from the nearby nightclub at weekends - probably worst in Villa del Sol - bring earplugs.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We try to do our best to make a stay at Casa Murguia as best as it can be. It's good to know you are coming back and we'll aim to make your return stay as good and hopefully better than your first one.
Mary Jane Gagnier
owner / manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing