We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place*” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Sol Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Sol Studios
Ranked #24 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Wonderful apartments and staff. I strongly agree with all of the positive comments posted by other reviewers. *The only downside: If you need Internet access for work or school, the Wifi is slow and not always reliable (the owner needs to invest in a new router).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maltrankvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks in May of 2013. My room #4 was compact, adequate and quiet. The decor is comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen was compact but quite enough to fix your own meals. The shower is large and very nice. Great roof top area with tables, grill etc. The cleaning staff was exceptionly pleasant and competent. The location was great for a walk each evening to the very exciting socolo. It is across the street from a very good restaurant, for breakfast etc. It is 40 peso ride to the local cinepolis, or cinemex for a movie. Close to major grocery stores. Very nice restaurants in this old town neighborhoodl On fhe negative side water for the shower could be ifffy. They use a state of the art solor system and it doesn't always deliver a hot shower on demand. But works well 90% of the time. Not a problem for me. Also there was no microwave or air conditoning. Overal a great value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side might get too much sun in the summer.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I rented a single apartment in May/June 2012 for 6 weeks, which, in all honesty wasn't enough time. Veronica and her lovely staff were attentive to the needs of all the guests, providing information on Oaxaca and the surrounds and constantly making sure everyone was comfortable and feeling "at home." The free WIFI was fabulous, the views from the rooftop terrace fantastic, and the apartment building is only a five-minute walk to the supermarket. Having a kitchen in the individual apartments made it fun and enjoyable to try out new dishes and not have to spend so much at the local restaurants/comedors, which can quickly eat into one's budget.

I highly recommend anyone heading to Oaxaca for any length of time to give Al Sol a whirl. Contact Veronica early because these apartments are quite popular and tend to book up fast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The rooms are clean and well equipped. A 12 minute walk to the zocalo you couldn't ask for a better location. Wifi, book exchange, wonderful helpful owner Vero makes this the place to stay! Will be back and highly reccommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I recently stayed at Al Sol apartments for a little more than a month, and was very glad I did. The apartments are nicely decorated and comfortable, the location is great, and the staff is very helpful. The rooftop terrace is wonderful and is a nice place to meet and talk to other guests. I was fortunate to get an apartment on short notice. Some are booked a year or more in advance! It's no surprise as this really feels like home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at Al Sol for one month in November 2011. Al Sol has many studio apartments and a few 1 bedroom apartments. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that overlooked the street and a small (excellent) local restaurant.
Al Sol was a wonderful place to stay for a very good price. The apartment was fairly new and immaculately clean. The furnishings are nice and while simple, very nice. The bathrooms and plumbing were excellent.
The building is safe and secure and features an excellent rooftop patio with tables and a nice view into town and of the surrounding mountains. A great place to read, surf internet or have a couple of cocktails in the evening.
The staff is especially friendly and helpful. Veronica is wonderful and helped us find a couple of fun adventures in town that we never would have found otherwise. The cleaning lady (Luisa) is the hardest worker and most friendly person I have met in Mexico.
The people who stay here are a nice mix of young and old people from all over the world, who were all friendly and all thought Al Sol was the perfect find.
Al Sol is walking distance to a large modern supermarket and a nice mercado for vegatables, etc. Al Sol is about 10 blocks from the Zocalo (which was about 3 or 4 blocks too far sometimes) but is an inexpensive taxi ride if you have exhausted yourself touring all the museums and art galleries during the day.
There are several "menu del dia" type restaurants in a 3 block area. Veronica can help you find them. They are all delicious and unbelievably cheap.
My computer broke while I was here and Veronica assisted in finding a person who repaired it for a great price and in just a couple of days.
Overall I would highly recommend Al Sol for a great stay for a month or more in Oaxaca.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom overlooking the El Sabor de Antigua restaurant. It was perfect, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

What a wonderful experience I had staying at Al Sol. I rented an apartment there for two months while studying Spanish in Oaxaca and was very happy with it!! I met the most wonderful people there too, many of whom I can now call friends. 

The apartments are all studios with en suite bathrooms and kitchenettes. They are all unique and beautiful with high quality furnishings in the modern Mexican style. Each has a different floor plan, so take a look and find the one that's perfect for you. There is a wonderful rooftop terrace where you can enjoy the sunset views over Oaxaca, have a party, dine al fresco or swing in the hammock. There is weekly maid service and Luisa keeps all the apartments absolutely spotless. 

The apartment complex is on the south east side of the centre in a quiet neighbourhood with a market, supermarket, corner store and tortelleria close by. The Zocolo is only 15mins walk and there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well. 

But I can't discuss Al Sol properly without mentioning the landlady, Veronica. Nothing is too much trouble for Veronica; she goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable and at home. I needed a mosquito net, the next day I had one. Another guest injured her ankle, Veronica did her shopping. For 3 months. She is always happy, friendly and smiling and speaks excellent English if your grasp of Spanish isn't so good and is very patient with you when you do want to speak with her in Spanish. 

Oaxaqueños say that if you eat chapulines (fried grasshoppers) you will return to Oaxaca. Well I ate them (at one of many fiestas at Al Sol), so I guess I'm going back. And the first person I'm going to call is Veronica!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilblackduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#1 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada de Chencho
Posada de Chencho
#74 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camba
Hotel Camba
#43 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#5 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda La Noria
Hacienda La Noria
#55 of 112 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Sol Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Sol Studios

Property: Al Sol Studios
Address: 701 La Carbonera, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing