We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excuisite!”
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Oaxaca
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excuisite!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

When it comes to colonial architecture, this hotel is as good as it gets. But the delights do not end there ...

Room - in keeping with the rest of the hotel, our room was as charming and generously appointed. It was cosy and very comfortable.

Location - the hotel is conveniently located in Oaxaca's centro historico, which means it is a short walk from sights, restaurants, cafes and shops.

Food - their impressive breakfast menu includes a number of delicious Mexican dishes. The chef is clearly very talented. Make sure you book for dinner as the kitchen will close if there are no bookings.

Staff and concierge - I seldom mention names in my reviews, but Antonio is simply a standout. He assisted us with complex transport requirements across Mexico and booked local trips for us, like mountain biking. He is also very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and in our case, also very patient.

Room Tip: If you will be using wi-fi a lot, choose a room that is closest to reception. The wi-fi was a bit p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    35
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
131
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 nights in Oaxaca, five at the Casa Oaxaca. Before departing on the trip I had numerous emails back and forth with Mr. A.Aquino, he was extremely helpful and kind.
He made my various dinner reservations and answered all the questions I had about his lovely town.
I mention him in particular, but, the entire staff at the hotel were fantastic.
Our room was comfortable and quiet, the linens were nice and every night a small treat was left for us.
Breakfast was served either in your room or outside in the lovely patio..in the morning it can be a bit cool so there were soft blankets to use as a wrap along with the heaters.
All the little touches were thoughtful.
.
The location was perfect, the area around the hotel was interesting and you could walk to all the sites in town.
This is not a fancy hotel but a lovely place that fits right in to setting of the town..you could not ask for more.

Room Tip: I should think all the rooms would be adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Oaxaca is a colonial city and Casa Oaxaca captures it's flavor but offers a fresh well designed hotel. This is a white adobe with a beautiful courtyard dominated by a flowering tree. Most rooms open onto the courtyard where a delicious breakfast is served. The service is excellent; the staff is helpful and welcoming and the location is quiet but walking distance to town. Cas Oaxaca also has two nearby restaurants that offer the best food in Oaxaca. The chef is local but trained in Europe. Fresh seafood from the coast; Moles the tradition of the region; squash blossoms tempured... you can not go wrong. The ambience of all Casa Oaxaca enterprises is of great design sense and quality down to their own Mescal!! Fabulous on all counts

Room Tip: The duplex by the pool is more $$ but the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

2 nights in this beautiful hotel in the colonial center of Oaxaca. The city is amazing and the hotel ideally located.
The staff is very nice, concierge service as well.

There are not many rooms, indeed the hotel is calm and quiet. There is a small garden with a nice swimming pool, very intimate.

Rooms are big and clean. Not very modern but confortable.

The restaurant is delicious and the chef very nice and very very talented. We did not do it but they offer Mezcal tasting.
breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zumex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

like at home. beautiful antique house remodeled , all white. quite rooms. ool. Breafçkfast service ina delightful patio with a very personal service from the cooks, and servers, .
Very quiet and calm. Feel very safe and homey

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband & I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier. The staff was exceptional. We were welcomed the first night with mescalini drinks on the casa. The next night the staff arranged a fiesta where they showed us how to make mochete salsa and more mescalini. All of it was complimentary. The staff arranged everything we wanted to do in Oaxaca--arranging Spanish classes for us, an amazing English speaking tour guide for Monte Alban AND we took a cooking class in the kitchen here with Chef Alejandro, which included a trip to the markets to buy food. He is one of the best chefs in Oaxaca, and it was a truly amazing experience to learn from him. The staff was so sweet--at one point I lost an earring and thought it was gone forever. I left the one I still had on the table, and at some point the cleaning staff found the missing one and put it next to the other one--I never told anyone I lost it! We had fresh flowers in our room (3 different arrangements over the course of the week). It was very restful and lovely to lay by the pool as well. Noise in the courtyard can be heard from the rooms facing it but it is dependent on how loud the other guests are. We will be coming back to beautiful Oaxaca and we never want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jillstutzbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I spent one week at Casa Oaxaca. I was able to walk to everything in the city (excursions to Monte Alban and the neighboring artist villages could be easily arranged). The room was lovely with fresh flowers and attention to detail. The drinks and meals were a highlight. The staff was friendly, attentive, and respectful of your needs. The restoration of this centuries-old private home was so well done that I photographed the spaces, artwork, and cacti as aesthetic groupings. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank queeniezep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Property: Casa Oaxaca
Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing